We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Best place in town”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Staying at ARC is like being among family. Friendly service and a great group of folks at the desk. Unequivocally, Emilio and staff are first class service agents, taking care of my every need. Emilio is so cool that when I offered him a tip after checkout, he flatly refused feeling he hadn't done anything special to deserve it. Also worthy of note: the location is perfect and the dining is exquisite. I can't wait until my next stay at ARC The Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your courteous response! We are very deligthed to hear that your stay at ARC The.Hotel was undeniabley sensational and that your experience from start to finish was wonderful.

We look forward to welcomign you back next tiime you are in Ottawa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    445
    181
    85
    33
See reviews for
119
456
100
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First stay there after multiples visits in town. Discretly located on Slater street a short walk from a lot of Ottawa attractions. Bilingual personnel do a great job right from the front desk. You'll clearly feel the "boutique hotel" atmosphere. The restaurant (Arc lounge) deserve a visit.
The room was perfectly equipped and maintained, the bed very confortable.
The week end rate, including parking and breakfast, was really a bargain considering the quality and the location.
Certainly our first choice on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful response!

We hope to welcome you back to ARC The.Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the first time May 29 - 31. Was really impressed by pretty much everything about the hotel. It's located downtown, close to the business district. There is a Starbucks that is open on Saturdays located about a block from the hotel (the Ottawa business district is a ghost town on weekends - even starbucks are often closed weekends).

The hotel is nicely decorated - clean lines and modern. The rooms are well appointed and the beds extremely comfortable. Rooms have a Keurig coffeemaker (nice) and even better, real milk and cream in the mini-fridge. Small thing, but appreciated. Rooms are quite compact, but well laid out, so they don't feel small.

Bathroom is a step up from most hotels - good quality soap/shampoo, good showers, decent waterpressure. Comes equiped with a scale and hairdryer.

Staff really made the difference - was greeted politely, but without smarm, by all staff. The turndown service was excellent - wrapped chocolate on your pillow, fresh bottle of water and an apple on the nightstand. Coffee station gets refreshed and the bathroom freshened up. Really makes a difference.

Offered a glass of sparkling wine upon check in - also a nice touch.

I'd definitely stay here again assuming the prices remain competitive.

Room Tip: choose a 'street view' room, rather than the ones overlooking the parking garage at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review!

At ARC The.Hotel, we do stand true to our "boutique feel" and emulate this experience from check-in to check-out. From the complimentary sparkling wine at check-in to the turndown service at the end of the day, we welcome all gusets as if they are family.

We look forward to welcoming you again to ARC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you want to get to many in town attractions- you should consider this hotel.Modern, clean, and inviting.Bedroom spacious, and well appointed. Fresh water @ bedside with chocolates and perhaps a piece of fruit @ turn down.
Very large bathroom. One unsafe thing to mention: is the huge deep bathtub for 2. It was tiled on the outside where I scraped my leg getting in, and so deep that without any handle to reach for, or safety strips on the bottom of the tub- it is impossible for someone who is unable to kneel( those folks with prosthetic knees, or the elderly) to get out of the tub. A real hazard, if you are traveling alone. The front desk was notified.
Also, no free breakfast, or parking, with inflated costs.
Otherwise, a pleasant choice for downtown Ottawa

Room Tip: Since the hotel id mid-town- a room facing the entrance of the building next door has a pleasant gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBandWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked Arc The Hotel for our wedding guests. It was downtown and close to our venue and quite affordable for our various guests coming from out of town for the weekend. The hotel was priced better per night than area hotels like The Marriott, Delta or Lord Elgin.

We booked the executive suite for ourselves and it provided a lot of room for my bride to get her and her wedding party hair & make up done. The bed was super comfortable and like a cloud to sleep on. We also had a nice touch of champagne and treats left for us when we returned from the wedding at 2am!

Check in with the valet parking was very easy, as well as check out. Front staff were amazing, polite and helpful with all our guests requests.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable, elegant boutique stay in downtown Ottawa. And even more so, if you are interested in group rates.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hueyott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so delighted to hear that you chose ARC The.Hotel for your guests to stay at for your wedding weekend.

Very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary sparkling wine and truffles when you returned to your room after your wedding.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotels in central Ottawa were completely booked when I needed a room. Somebody recommended the ARC Hotel, which proved to be on par with and in some ways even better than the hotels where I normally stay. The location of this boutique hotel is great for business meetings downtown, and it has been quite attractively renovated. I was upgraded to a junior suite, which was of a nice size with a very comfortable king size bed. Some of my friends, who also stayed at the hotel, however, complained about the size of their "ordinary" rooms. The bathroom was quite compact with too little counter space, and there were no drawers in the room for your shirts and clothing - only some open shelves. Also the suits had to be hung in the open, which looks messy. There was a very large flat screen television, a work desk as well as a comfortable sofa and easy chair arrangement in the room. The mini bar was, however, empty, and the advertised sparkly wine welcome did not materialize. The hotel has a restaurant/lounge a few stairs up from the reception level and a small health centre in the basement. Not inexpensive, by any means; but all in all it was a pleasant surprise to stay at the ARC.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 506, which is a corner-unit junior suite with not much of a view and with some shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagerBeaver_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located quite centrally in the city, The Arc is a nice hotel. The rooms are modern and I upgraded(at the front desk) to a suite. The suite was very nice with a giant bathtub. I didn't eat there and did stay 3 nights. They only offer valet parking and internet was included. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean.

Room Tip: I booked via Hotel's tonight and got the best rate on that same day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#21 of 67 in Ottawa
1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing