We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you like being claustrophobic”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked the cosy Queen. Cosy wasn't the right word for it. The room they first put us in was so small that the two of us kept tripping over each other. The closet was good for hanging one item. One person could barely move in the tiny bathroom. We were booked in for 4 nights & there was no way that we would have survived that long in this room. We did get moved to another room which was larger but the walls were so thin that you could hear what was going on elsewhere. There is no ramp in the front so we had to drag our suitcases up the stairs. No one showed up until we were already at the top. Some of the staff were very helpful but some were quite the opposite.

Room Tip: Don't book the cosy Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KConthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Your feedback is welcome at ARC The.Hotel. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so that we can take the appropriate steps to correct them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

I liked my stay here for just one night but I am not sure I would stay longer. Staff was very friendly but the building feels a bit "squeezed in." The rooms are small but nice and comfortable. No good view - the gym is fine but limited number of cardio machines. The food was excellent in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Free wireless in the lobby but not in the rooms.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank wilmafred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The staff was very friendly and this is a good value for a downtown location. Hint: At the time of our booking they were giving free parking with AAA/CAA membership which is normally almost $30 per day at downtown hotels. Also sign up as an iprefer member before you book and get a free glass of wine at happy hour and free internet. You must book directly on their website for these perks.

I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will be sure to share your comments with my guest services team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed overnight for business meeting. Room was compact but excellent layout. Very comfortable bed. Big bathroom. Quiet corner of floor (Rm. 504). Pleasant, friendly staff. Room service was very efficient and thoughtful. Note: No view out the window.

Only complaint, nightlight near room entrance was hardwired in, very yellow and very bright. Had to throw a shirt over it to dim it.

Had the smoked salmon in room -- very healthy portion of fish and nicely served. Omlette the next day in the lounge was hot, flavourful and accompanied with toast and hash browns was a good-sized breakfast.

Room Tip: Low and high numbers are further away from the elevator -- e.g., 501-505 quiet, 506-512 nearer to el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amblesidedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad you chose to stay at ARC The.Hotel, and are very happy you had such a nice experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I enjoyed the rooms. They are stylish, comfortable, and cozy. Some are small, but some are average size for the most part. The beds are very comfortable! The room service at this hotel is fantastic. Food is high quality and right portions, priced right for its category. My only concern / issue was the service standards: Front desk agents, they are hit or miss. Find the night crew very attentive and friendly. Completely the opposite with the day crew. Also the housekeeping staff are very eager to clean. Very hard to sleep with the loud talking early cleaning crew. Notifying front desk only results in later check out at your expense, which you would imagine isnt a problem if you can utilize your room in a Quiet, private manner. But when your calling to extend because the hotel staff are keeping you awake... hmm. Not much courtesy or compassion at that level, even if you're a frequent loyal guest. Afterwords, At one point housekeeper walked right into our room while we were trying to sleep, with Do Not Disturb sign on door. I felt safe enough the night before to leave door deadbolt unlocked. My mistake... Contacted management, Front desk manager not able to do anything, or offer anything. Contacted GM through all communication means still with no response. Too bad, I really enjoyed it here, even stayed a few nights after this incident because I enjoyed the rooms that much, and the preferred guest amenitity, but I dont feel I will return as a result of lack of follow-up and consideration in this matter.

Room Tip: Higher rooms, less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your detailed remarks. Your comments help us increase our learning and give us the opportunity to review our standards and levels of service. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not worth the money. The room was so small I really couldn't believe the price we paid to stay there.

We just weren't digging the overall vibe.

Nothing bad to say about service however I also don't have anything positive to say either. Nothing stood out for us.

We travel several times a year and usually stay at boutique hotels. This is not a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KapBoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. As General Manager, your comments are invaluable to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

our family recently enjoyed another lovely night at the beautiful arc hotel. having also stayed in another hotel on the same trip, i thought i'd pop in to add another review for this great place.

we stayed in a junior suite - which is so bright, spacious and stylish perfect for our family with a pull-out couch, i especially enjoyed on this stay 2 things:

how nice and QUIET this hotel is - the one way street we faced was never noisy - even during the workday (though it's situated on a busy downtown street) - we all really loved that - it was a peaceful oasis on our busy trip.

AND we loved our bed - so exceptionally comfy!

we all love the style and feel of ARC!
thanks for another great visit. we'll be back!

Room Tip: the junior suites that face north west are both bright and large! not really any great views (to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun-fun-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
418 reviews
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,496 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $121 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing