We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; cozy”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location; cozy”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

ARC The Hotel was lovely to stay at when we visited for New Year's Eve. The location was really excellent. As someone who doesn't like to walk all day, the hotel was a comfortable distance from all of Ottawa's major attractions.

The rooms were average sized, and the bathrooms were small. The hallways are dark. Everything has a modern design and the beds were comfortable.

The service staff were great, and got us everything we needed promptly. Turn down service was lovely to come back to after a day of sight seeing with water and apples on the night stand, chocolate on the pillows and music playing.

We dined one night in their lounge and the food was great. If you go, you must try the churros with whisky-dulce-de-leche dip! Room service items are on the expensive side.

The parking is very expensive at $25 a day - but not much more expensive than nearby lots. The lack of free wifi is why this hotel is getting 4 instead of 5 stars from me. $10 a night per device is absolutely ludicrous.

Overall, we had a lovely stay and will definitely be considering coming back to ARC The Hotel for future trips to Ottawa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SyrMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The management of ARC The.Hotel would like to thank you for your gracious review of our property. We look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    438
    178
    82
    32
See reviews for
114
449
97
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Summary: It was a very clean place with helpful staff and comfy beds. However, There were many additional charges that didn't make it such a great value and the rooms were extremely smaller than advertised. I would suggest staying here if you do not have a car, aren't staying in the room longer than to sleep, and if you want a hotel that is close to the city.

Room Size: The tiny size of our room was astonishing. It was a small freshmen dorm sized room, taken up mostly by the desk and queen sized bed. In fact, there was only 3 feet to the wall on the side of the queen bed and about 4 feet past the foot of the bed until the desk. The pictures of the "guest rooms" on the website are false advertising in my opinion, especially since no piece of furniture could have fit in our room, as they show. I was very disappointed about that.

Noise: The doors are not very good at keeping out sound. Luckily, no one was staying in the rooms on either side of ours, but numerous times our guests would walk into or out of their room, and it was as if we were sleeping in the hall it was so loud. We we waken during the night and morning numerous times to guests getting into rooms far away, but it was still very loud.

Bed Comfort: The pillows were plush and very comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable and the linens were of very high quality. The comfort of the bed was probably my favorite part of staying at the hotel.

Lobby: There is just one computer for use, but it was very open and cozy. The concierge was never standing at the booth, but it seems to be a very odd place for a concierge. Since it was our first time in Ottawa, I was very disappointed to never see the concierge once during the three days we stayed at the hotel. The staff at the welcome desk was very helpful, kind and answered all of our questions.

Location: Great location for traveling. We weren't in our rooms very much and walked around the city during most of the trip. If you plan on doing the same, I would recommend to stay here. It is within great walking distance of the main part of the city and isn't in a scary area to walk in.

Additional fees: I was very surprised to find out that the valet cost as additional $30 dollars a night (plus a $5 tip each time we dropped off and asked for the car) and that the wi-fi cost an additional $10 a day. Since we drove, we had to use the valet, but we opted out of the wi-fi. Basically, we paid an additional $70 dollars to stay there and could have paid $100, if we opted to get wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skinnylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on ARC The.Hotel. All reviews are taken into consideration by management to identify areas of improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,B.C
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Arc is in a great location if you are a tourist wanting to visit Ottawa's major attractions. You can walk to Parliament Hill, the National Gallery and the Mint as well as to the downtown shopping district. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.
The hotel has a modern look and feel but on closer inspection you notice the lack of maintenance and upkeep.
The room was of average size, well appointed and quite comfortable. Luckily it faced a narrow alley which prevented any kind of view but kept the street noise to a minimum.
The service was attentive and efficient. The welcoming glass of bubbly was a pleasant surprise, the morning coffee bar in the lobby was nice, the fresh apple at bedtime was lovely.
The in-room Internet and parking charges are excessive. They do however offer free wi-fi in the lobby.
What made our stay unpleasant was the noise level of the air conditioning unit. It made sleep nearly impossible. I can only imagine what it would have been like if the room faced the busy street.
So take the good with the bad. Perhaps your room will be quieter and you'll have a better experience than we did.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the side of the building. No view but less street noise. Beware of LOUD A/C uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peekassoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased to have had you as our guest and hope to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My first impression is that the hotel has seen better days. Word furniture, nicks in the rugs and walls, leave the feeling that I'm in an old hotel, not a new and funky boutique.

Liked the room. The small size is fine for me. However, I requested a quiet room and got one facing the street. I woke up to the sound of a snowplow backing up. Doesn't feel like their check in people read the requests from online reservations.

Finally, as someone arriving from out of town for a first time visit, it would be nice to be greeted by someone friendly and welcoming. The check in person I got didn't seem to like his job or people in general. He said the right things but there was no feeling that he was in any way genuine. Cold, curt and functional is how I would describe my check in.

I'm not sure if I'll stay here again. Perhaps with lowered expectations and a room away from the street I'll be fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ22258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and look forward to the opportunity to have you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed far too long in this hotel and for work. I probably won't stay there again if i have to stay more than a couple of days. Nevertheless i recommend this trendy, cosy hotel. The staff is pretty good and the glass of prosecco when you check-in set the atmoshpere. Rooms are not huge and some are really small - don't stay on rooms ending by 17. Reaaaaaaaaally small. But i liked the furniture and the beds are in really good shape. The lounge are is really nice and usually get crowded in the evening. Nice location too. I didn't tasted the food but i liked the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
ARC The.Hotel is pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited Ottawa from Central NY State for the first time and we had a blast!!! Stayed at the another hotel the 30th, which was nice but it paled in comparison to the ARC Hotel.

From the second we arrived, Adam and the entire staff made sure we were well looked after. They were even kind enough to have the room ready around 12:30 PM for our NYE stay. Yes it is a pricey hotel but you get what you pay for and we got what we paid for. My only regret was not staying another night.

The room was fab, the tub was AMAZING, and again the staff was fantastic!!! Not to mention they had a wedding going on NYE and still made sure we had everything we needed.

A huge thanks to Adam for making our stay special and worry free and to Shannon for booking. Unfortunately it was a bit early to get out on the canal skating but we will def be back, and if I have the extra $ I will stay here!!! There are also various promotions they run so take a peek!!

If you are looking to take your lil lady somewhere for a fun, romantic getaway, or vice versa ladies ; ) , I recommend Ottawa as a city and the ARC hotel without reservation.

Happy New Year!!!

Room Tip: If you have a little extra cheddar to burn, the King Luxury with the Roman Tub is a little slice of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunchbox32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough and complimentary review of the ARC The.Hotel. We are thrilled that our associates and facility were able to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be your hotel of choice in xcityx and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I got a reasonable deal through Priceline but, as is often the case with 4 star hotels, then comes the add-ons. Almost $30 for parking (with taxes) and another $20 for two doubles instead of a Queen. You pay for internet and the list goes on. I had an issue with the internet and I was directed to a tech help desk that was closed at 5:00 pm. Huh? The room was fine but you just felt that you were being nickeled and dimed at every turn. One other thing is, I thought that the front desk/lobby was the concierge's desk as it was so small. I would never pay full price for this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at ARC The.Hotel. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our valuable guests and it is evident through your comments that we did not meet them.please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
227 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
196 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Metcalfe Hotel
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
1,036 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing