We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy - not for work - but confortable”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed far too long in this hotel and for work. I probably won't stay there again if i have to stay more than a couple of days. Nevertheless i recommend this trendy, cosy hotel. The staff is pretty good and the glass of prosecco when you check-in set the atmoshpere. Rooms are not huge and some are really small - don't stay on rooms ending by 17. Reaaaaaaaaally small. But i liked the furniture and the beds are in really good shape. The lounge are is really nice and usually get crowded in the evening. Nice location too. I didn't tasted the food but i liked the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

ARC The.Hotel is pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your next stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for ARC The Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited Ottawa from Central NY State for the first time and we had a blast!!! Stayed at the another hotel the 30th, which was nice but it paled in comparison to the ARC Hotel.

From the second we arrived, Adam and the entire staff made sure we were well looked after. They were even kind enough to have the room ready around 12:30 PM for our NYE stay. Yes it is a pricey hotel but you get what you pay for and we got what we paid for. My only regret was not staying another night.

The room was fab, the tub was AMAZING, and again the staff was fantastic!!! Not to mention they had a wedding going on NYE and still made sure we had everything we needed.

A huge thanks to Adam for making our stay special and worry free and to Shannon for booking. Unfortunately it was a bit early to get out on the canal skating but we will def be back, and if I have the extra $ I will stay here!!! There are also various promotions they run so take a peek!!

If you are looking to take your lil lady somewhere for a fun, romantic getaway, or vice versa ladies ; ) , I recommend Ottawa as a city and the ARC hotel without reservation.

Happy New Year!!!

Room Tip: If you have a little extra cheddar to burn, the King Luxury with the Roman Tub is a little slice of...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunchbox32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough and complimentary review of the ARC The.Hotel. We are thrilled that our associates and facility were able to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be your hotel of choice in xcityx and look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I got a reasonable deal through Priceline but, as is often the case with 4 star hotels, then comes the add-ons. Almost $30 for parking (with taxes) and another $20 for two doubles instead of a Queen. You pay for internet and the list goes on. I had an issue with the internet and I was directed to a tech help desk that was closed at 5:00 pm. Huh? The room was fine but you just felt that you were being nickeled and dimed at every turn. One other thing is, I thought that the front desk/lobby was the concierge's desk as it was so small. I would never pay full price for this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at ARC The.Hotel. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our valuable guests and it is evident through your comments that we did not meet them.please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed here before without encountering these problems but this time was not their best hour.

Too few staff, no meals or room service over Christmas in a hotel!!! One valet/porter/snow shoveler. Howard the desk attendant was snarky.

Bathroom mats disappeared, bath salts were not replenished, the room was very dark. The bed was like sleeping on lumpy marshmallows and the pillows should all be thrown out and replaced. At least the towels and robes were ok.

Most of the staff were helpful but there were too few of them. The hotel was nowhere near full but I understand why and we certainly would never stay there again. There are many nice hotels in the downtown area that are better.

Wine at the front desk was a nice touch but there was no follow-through on any other special boutique-hotel touches..

Room Tip: Get the unit with the larger bathroom if there is more than one person
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

The management of ARC The.Hotel would like to offer our sincere apologies that your stay was not to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on meeting the needs of our guests and can assure you that we are examining the situation very closely to determine what may have occurred and how to avoid this happening in the future. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by staying with us on your next trip to Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Generally, speaking this hotel is an excellent value for your dollar. The room was large enough for us. The place was clean, and also the front desk staff was extremely helpful. One of the minute details that was an irritant was the housekeeping staff overlooking the fact that there were no coffee cups in the room. When we arrived there was only one cup in the room for the coffee maker. After using it, the next day, they were not replaced for our next day. When I mentioned it to the front desk, the response was, I could have telephoned down for the cups.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again. There is free coffee in the lobby as well as free wi-fi.
The location is a plus, for one who wishes to explore the city of Ottawa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our guests had a less than perfect stay, we feel the comments such as yours allow us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements. Thank you for your business and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a generally pleasant hotel and the staff are friendly, efficient and responsive.

So it is unfortunate to have to give a rating of "Poor", but the noise level is impossible. The quilted window shades were probably an attempt to cut down on the street noise, but didn't do the job. The walls between rooms are also like tissue paper.

The hotel is attractive, clean, well-maintained, but housekeeping was somewhat unreliable. Generally you expect a bar of soap for the sink and another for the bath, but this wasn't the case, and the second day required a call to the front desk to get a new bar of soap. There is a Keurig coffee machine, but the coffee and cream were not replaced the next day.

These are minor grips, but the main issue, the noise, is a deal-breaker and we will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Here's a tip for a good room: go to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpstateLoyalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your candid review of ARC The.Hotel. It is always a great disappointment to hear of a guest that was not satisfied with their stay. Unfortunately, New Years Eve is one occaision where people are not considerate of others with the noise that they make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband & I spent 2 nights here, the first week of December, and we were very happy with the room/ hotel service. It's all we needed, a bed and bathroom. We were greeted with the concierge and check in was a breeze and the sparkling Champagne was a nice treat! Rooms are small but who cares when there is so much to do, you don't want to spend it in your room. The room was clean, and nicely decorated/ furnished. There is a mini fridge as well which was handy. Bed was super comfy!!! The valet was quick and we had no issues, can't complain about the parking fee of $25/ day as there is no where to park anyway since this is the business district and all around are tall buildings, just like Toronto. So this was convenient, as we did not use our vehicle all weekend. Everything is in walking distance which was great. Loved the turndown service and the chocolate treat, apples and water. We'll be back for sure and I would highly recommend Arc the Hotel if you plan on visiting Ottawa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

ARC The.Hotel is thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property and we do hope that you will return on your next trip to Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#5 of 68 in Ottawa
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $142 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing