We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough night's sleep.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Tough night's sleep.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel on a Friday night in August. Small lobby area with friendly check-in, complimentary champagne upon check-in. For the first time in my life, I’d used Priceline to make a reservation given that I ended up with a “boutique hotel” with so many different room types, I was mentally prepared to get the smallest room, worst view, and probably a smoking room despite my strong preference for non-smoking. Well, two of those three were true. Despite being on the 7th floor (room 714) and non-smoking, the room was very small (smaller than I’ve had in Asia), the view was literally of a brick wall next door with no chance to see anything. It was a connecting room, but noise from the (occupied) room next to me was not an issue.

Bathroom was small but not too small, it was fine. Waterpik showerhead (the kind you can buy for $40 at Home Depot), good water pressure, and it was clean. Towels seemed brand new and were great. No real complaints here, but don’t expect luxury. Toiletries were nice, although for some reason I only had one bar of soap (for both the sink and the shower).

Room itself was nicely appointed and in pretty good shape. Nice décor, lamps, I found it bright enough even if I needed to work. Bed was a Queen and extremely comfortable, I was impressed. The biggest problem I had here was with the noise from the hallways. Even with the AC fan on providing some white noise, the constant doors opening/closing plus occasional people talking made for a very difficult night’s sleep. It was my first time in a hotel room where there is no obstruction/wall/partition between the bed and the door. So when in bed you have nothing blocking the sound, which was something I hadn’t thought of but it made a big difference.

I’d recommend this hotel to those looking for a clean room in a central location in Ottawa, and I’d suggest booking one of the larger room types. If you’re expecting a luxury hotel, you may be disappointed depending on your expectations. For families, it would depend how big your room is, but with so many connecting rooms and noise from the hallways, you’re likely not going to feel very comfortable in this hotel with young kids, especially if they’re loud. For business, the desk was nice and it was fine, but again… I wasn’t able to sleep through the night and wouldn’t have wanted to have to wake up for an early morning meeting on that night’s sleep.

I’m accepting of the room I got for the price I paid, but I wouldn’t put this in the same category as many of the Montreal boutique hotels, nor does it have many of the amenities of a larger 4-star chain hotel, nor does the building give off any sense of history or unique Ottawa appeal. It’s nice, the people were nice… I just wouldn’t go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTLSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your detailed remarks. Your comments help us increase our learning and give us the opportunity to review our standards and levels of service. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    425
    173
    82
    32
See reviews for
111
440
94
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pleasant, subdued decor. Comfy bed. Didn't love the pillows but had my own. Breakfast was included and was tasty but the service we got was unimpressive. Had to ask twice for butter and jam. Free parking is nice but, as it's valet, be prepared to tip.

I'd definitely go back for comfort and location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Walkingsneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
ARC The.Hotel would like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. We make every effort to ensure our guest’s experiences are superb. We sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I actually really like this hotel,the staff is friendly but not overly friendly wich for me is a good thing
the rooms are nice and comfortable and i like that it has a young atmosphere .One thing i do have to say i was surprised about was the carpeting in my room.....it is very stained i do not know what happened in this room but when you are going to rent a room you should maybe clean the carpets....Besides that everything was nice ,the elevators are a bit slow but overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontogirl6910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on ARC The.Hotel. All reviews are taken into consideration by management to identify areas of improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My son's fiancee booked this Hotel for the bride & groom and also visitors from out of town. We were very impressed with the accomodations and the great service. My mother in law and the bride's grandmother and grandfather stayed here for two extra nights. They were very impressed with the service and also the rooms. The bride's grandparents have been staying in Hotels when they travel and they mentioned that it was the best Hotel they stayed at by far.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough and complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are thrilled that our associates and facility were able to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Ottawa and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

With conflicting reviews, and few options, we booked The Arc Hotel for a 4 night stay. We usually do a fair amount of research on a city before arriving, in this instance I did not have the opportunity and thought the hotel would certainly have information in the room, or at least the front desk would be able to help. That did not happen. There was no material in the room and when I asked at the front desk, they sent me to the information booth 2 blocks away. Our window faced a brick wall. The beds were really comfortable. Nothing that really made the hotel stand out, except for Emilio who helped us find a rental car to get to a wedding, when there were none left in the city. He really saved the day. We might stay there again....maybe not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your comments and vital feedback. We are always striving to do our best for our guests and your experience will ensure we do just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is nicely situated a short walk from Parliament Hill. It is a good value and very well appointed. The rooms are small but nice and clean. The staff are excellent and helpful. Besides a little hiccup on check-in everything was smooth. When it started raining as we were to walk to a restaurant for dinner they offered us umbrellas for our outing. Definitely worth returning to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of ARC The.Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to hear that you would return on your next trip to Ottawa. We will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
185 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
702 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
958 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
The Metcalfe Hotel
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing