We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok boutique hotel”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok boutique hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Although I've been to Ottawa several times, this was my first stay at this hotel. I chose to try this hotel because of the price, that fact that it was categorized as a boutique hotel and its close proximity to the marathon start line. First off, the location is excellent: travel by bus (97) to and from the airport was convenient and easy, Byward Market, Parliament, Rideau Centre, everything was in 10-15 min walking distance. The room was also quite nice (especially for the price; lower than the average boutique hotel): the bed was extremely comfortable, the turn down and cleaning service without any issues. We were on the second floor in the corner facing an office building and parking lot (which was fine with us). Perhaps because of the size of the room, noise from the hall (for instance, other hotel customers leaving their rooms and chatting) was way too easy to hear - luckily, we had pretty quiet (running?) neighbours). The bathroom is way too small and the sink was impractical - water accumulated around the faucets.

Staff was generally fine except for the confusion that we had when we checked in about the free wireless Internet that was were supposed to receive because we were members of "I Prefer": I had to ask for it specifically (even though I had booked through the I Prefer site), then call them once we were in the room because they forgot to give it to us - at which point they told us that our membership wasn't active? We went down soon after to doublecheck that we had not been charged, and at that point, another staff handled our concerns efficiently.

We ate lunch at the restaurant - the food was good but not really worth the money, in my opinion. $17 for an omelette and side salad? Room-service prices were along the same lines.With all the dining options nearby, I am not sure how they justify these prices for lunch.

Check-out was uncomplicated and friendly.

The hotel was good for the price. I would not go back if they were to charge more ($200+)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garp1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your comments and vital feedback. We are always striving to do our best for our guests and your experience will ensure we do just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    447
    181
    85
    34
See reviews for
119
457
100
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

I spent three nights at ARC on a business trip. From the moment I walked in I felt welcome and comfortable. The staff was always ready to help. One evening I stopped at the front desk to mention that the remote for my TV wasn't working. Then I headed to the bar for a drink, and the remote had been replaced by the time I got back to my room.

The decor is cool and modern, though understated. My room was a reasonable size for an urban hotel. The window looked out on a blank brick wall across an alley. I didn't mind, but considering the hotel's location I doubt that many rooms have a good view.

The location is convenient for public transit and many downtown offices and government buildings. The restaurants and nightlife at Byward are a little farther but still within walking distance. There's a fitness center in the basement with the usual assortment of machines, although one them wasn't working during my stay. If the weather is good, there are also some good places to run nearby.

Overall I was happy with my stay and will certainly consider ARC the next time I visit Ottawa.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here over the Victoria Day long weekend. The price is a great value for the location. The room was small, but very clean. The hotel had all the amenities you would need.

The staff was fantastic- and very accommodating. We forgot to take off the Do Not Disturb sign on our door when we left for the day- and the staff had the place cleaned for us when we remembered at 8pm that night.

The bed is very comfortable. We got a great rest.

We will definitely be back when in Ottawa next.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
The management of ARC The.Hotel appreciates you taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. We sincerely hope on your next trip to Ottawa you will choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Arc Hotel for 3 nights. We're there for a business trip. Upon arrival, the reception was pretty fast and they appeared very helpful and friendly. They welcomed us with a glass of Champaigne, however there was only one person taking care of valet parking and in concierge area. Therefore we had unload and carry all the luggages by ourselves with no help available. We're told that parking is in an indoor gate secured area but later we found out that is in a very tiny lot right in back of the hotel that vehicles are Crammed into each other.
Our room was in the 2nd floor facing the street right next to an office and a meeting room with lots of noises both day and night. During day time, meetings were taking place and a big table located in hallway for refreshments which creating noises from early morning. As well, the noise from street particularly garbage trucks kept making us up from 6 am. Unfortunately due to being over booked, they couldn't accommodate us with another room.
The room we had was nice, clean (except carpet needed change) with comfy bed. Honestly no complaint about room itself, however both days we didn't have housekeeping service till late in the evening and we had talk to the reception about it.
Breakfast was good and there's a lounge serving till 10:30 pm. Location was great, walking distance to all attraction and downtown restaurants.
Overall good experience but next time I'd probably look for other options in the same price range.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on ARC The.Hotel. All reviews are taken into consideration by our management team to identify areas of improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back when you return to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Arc The Hotel offers sleek minimal chic decor along with friendly service. Location is ideal for visiting tourist attractions like the Parliament Buildings, Museum of Civilization, War Museum and National Arts Centre, all walking distance.

The Arc Lounge offers a better level of cuisine than most hotels with some delightful brunch offerings, in particular the eggs benny. I am a coffee snob so I walked to Bridgestone, an Ottawa chain of coffeeshops, for my morning coffee.

Some nice touches in the attractive rooms include a nightly turndown with chocolates, a bottle of water and the hotel's signature green apple in a mesh bag.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saturday27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
ARC The.Hotel would like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. We make every effort to ensure our guest’s experiences are superb. We sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Enjoyed a great night out in downtown Ottawa at ARC the.hotel.

The hotel location is perfect for access to many downtown Ottawa landmarks (Parliament Hill, Rideau Center, Rideau Canal and Byward Market to name a few).

Enjoyed a fantastic meal in the ARC lounge! The lamb is awesome!

Room was clean and the bed is SO comfortable.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thediscostu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
ARC The.Hotel is pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was in town from NYC for a sophisticated seven-person bachelorette evening and stayed at The ARC. The evening started in the private social/library room of the hotel where we had a private server who brought us delicious cocktails and delectable appetizers (duck rolls, pulled venison burgers, sushi, and steak tartare on crisps). The social/library room is sexy, clean, quiet and modern. Later in the evening when I walked into my room, the radio was playing a Zen spa-like tune and a bottle of bubbly was being chilled on my desk! The bed was incredibly comfortable and everything was clean and modern. I even wanted to steal the soap out of the bathroom because it had such a wonderful scent! Turndown service was lovely with a green apple and a chocolate waiting for me. In the morning when I called down for my car, it was out front waiting for me in no time. All around a wonderful place to stay! Try it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
ARC The.Hotel is thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property and we do hope that you will return on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#21 of 67 in Ottawa
1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing