We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Ottawa”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall ON
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Ottawa”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great rooms, wonderful staff, good downtown location. Brought my wife here for her birthday and we really enjoyed our stay. We will be back to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
ARC The.Hotel appreciates you taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to know that our location suited you and that you were well attended by our staff. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to ARC The.Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    440
    180
    85
    33
See reviews for
117
451
99
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
715 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really did not know what to expect on the busy Labor Day weekend. But the Arc Hotel really worked for us. The hotel is located in the downtown part of Ottawa, and we got kind of lost with all the one way streets. The hotel is small, looks like an office building, but don't let the cold exterior deceive you: a friendly welcome from the doorman and receptionist await. We walked in and while checking in were handed a glass of sparkling wine. (I have stayed in many luxury properties in my travels, and this has never happened.) The lobby was definitely different, showing artistic flair in the carpeting and the few furnishings. Our room on the 5th floor faced the street. Totally quiet. The room was not overly large, but everything fit nicely. The bathroom featured a large tub with a rain shower (not a separate stall shower and tub) and was well sized. Nice robes and lots of towels. The bed was very comfortable, and the room just seemed to work. Nothing was missing...although the WiFi costs ten bucks, and as I was on holiday I did not oblige...on business, this would be an extra charge. Lots of TV stations, old style TV, but worked perfectly. The housekeeper did a turn down service, impressive for the price we paid. Breakfast in the restaurant was great, although service was a tad on the slow side...they did say they were busy, and brought some complimentary cakes which was a great idea. In all, very satisfied, great value and a hotel team that clearly has their guests top of mind. I will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
ARC The.Hotel is thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property and we do hope that you will return on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Look for special offers-our room included breakfast for two, valet parking and tickets to a gallery or museum.
Easy walking distance to Parliament Buildings, the Byward market area and the National Art Gallery.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAJAToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The property is excellent and conveniently located. The service is very professional and responsive. The rating is a 4 instead of a 5 because the drink prices are high (even for Canada) and at these prices, in room WiFi should be complimentary, NOT $10 per night!!! This is very irritating, as I write this review from the lovely lobby with FREE WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flam1ngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for choosing ARC The.Hotel and for writing your valuable feedback. These comments are very important because they help us pursue continuous improvement. We strive to provide the best value to our guests and have priced our internet access at or below that our our competition. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I was in Ottawa for business and was pleased to find a good price for the ARC Hotel. The hotel is located in the business district - which not being from Ottawa, I thought made sense. Unfortunately, after 6:00pm - the business district shuts down and there isn't too much going on. The restaurant was empty and the local pubs/restaurants were a bit of a hike to get to in mid-January in Canada! The hotel was very nice, clean rooms, great service, nice toiletries. chek in and out was fast and easy. business services were free and simple to use. Very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npcommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
ARC The,Hotelis pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Staff is very friendly and available. The room was clean, coxy and stylish. Great central location. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review ARC The.Hotel. We are glad we were able to provide you with such a wonderful stay and hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My wife, 2 month old daughter, and I, planned a night in Ottawa during a recent vacation to see Parliament and take in the other sites. After reviewing hotels and reading reviews within walking distance of Parliament Hill, the Rideau Centre and Rideau Canal, we decided on ARC, The Hotel. This hotel is just a few blocks from the majors tourist areas, good shopping, and restaurants.

Traveling with a 2 month old baby comes with lots of stuff (stroller, carrier, playpen, clothes, etc). Upon arrival, the hotel valet assisted in loading our items onto a cart and then proceeded to park our car as valet parking is available for about $30. The staff at the desk were very friendly and did offer us the complimentary champagne. As some reviews stated, the room was on the small side (classic queen) for 2 adults and a baby with all of its stuff, but we managed and were quite comfortable. The room was very well appointed and the bed was quite comfortable. The only real complaint we would have was that the room had a very small window that looked down an alley between two buildings. Not the best view, but when you are staying in a downtown area surrounded by buidlings you can't expect a forest or water view from every room.

We did not use the lounge or restaurant but at a glance they seemed to be very nice and, like the entire hotel, had a nice, somewhat romantic, atmosphere.

Upon chekcout, the valet brought our car to the front so that we could pack it up, then they re-parked our car so that we could explore the city for a couple of hours until we wanted to leave.

After staying at this hotel, we would definitely recommend it to others and would certainly stay here again if we were travelling without an infant child.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation of ARC The.Hotel. We never tire of hearing the great experiences of our guests and your review was no exception. We look forward to being of service when you return to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing