We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this hotel great. Room had plenty of space fridge, microwave and coffee maker, was clean with lovely soft bed and ex air con. Reception staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Breakfast was average but overall cost it really didn't matter. Car parking was free and we walked into town in 15 mins so would def stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I booked this room months ago based on price and proximity to the downtown shopping. We arrived to find a motel that appears to cater to the less fortunate. It looked like a scene from the hood! Kids running around all over the place kicking balls at the room windows. A couple of ethnic boys sitting on a bench outside the room next door to us smoking a joint. It appeared to have its own local hooker living there as well. The final straw was seeing the local gang leader pull up in his Mercedes suv pimpmobile and strut around the place talking to his homees and setting the stage for the evening's party.

The room we had was a disgrace. Paint was peeling and hanging down from the ceiling in the bathroom. Beds that have seen better days. Electrical pluggins that didnt work. Flourescent lighting that didnt work. Questionable locks.

I worked as a truck driver years ago and stayed in places that I thought were bad. This one ranks at the top! If you have a young family, dont stay here. I'm still not sure if it was a gunshot I heard or a single firework being shot off. We didnt stay the extra four days we booked and took flight from there the next morning after not sleeping all night.

Stayed: June 2013
3  Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Econolodge is not a great place to go, especially if you have children. it is located in a very sketchy neighbourhood of downtown Ottawa. We had a very bad experience and ended up leaving two nights earlier and relocating to a different hotel.
The staff was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. We arrived our first night and there was four of us but we didn't have enough towels for all of us so we went to the front desk and the lady said oh, well they're in the laundry we will bring some more in. she then came and said they aren't done so here are some hand towels. we asked if she could come back when they are done and she said no. The next day we had no maid service, so our wet damp towels laid on the floor all day. we then asked for new towels that night for the following day and mentioned no one had been in our room, and the one maid argued with us to the boss and said she did come and that we were lying.
The room smells and the tub was disgusting.
The one night we were there, there was a public altercation outside our bedroom door which was located right next to the street which included four woman three male and a bunch of men on motorcycles. they were screaming, throwing items at each other and we watched the men chase the woman past our door through the parking lot. We put the deadbolt on our door and began packing that night. We told them the next day that it was very unsafe and that we were not pleased with our stay and asked to leave. The breakfast was not good at all either.
I will not be returning to this location.
we did however relocate to the Hampton Hotel and it was wonderful. the staff was great the complimentary breakfast was delicious, they had a nice hot tub and pool, accomodations, they change their comforters everyday, room was awesome and it was close to downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Truly, this Motel is not that bad. Yes, the breakfast is not exactly gourmet, but for the amount of money that you save, you can go somewhere else. It is close to everything downtown and you have free parking, you save again. It. Has clean rooms, coffee makers, microwave, and refrigerator.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ute A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful although the breakfast was terrible and the room was smelling. We changed to another room that was brand new but the renovations were not done yet and so the door was not painted, etc. I would not suggest that to a friend. Maybe when the renovations are done.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goreticardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Me and my boyfriend were here for 6 nights.
The Breackfast is amazing (Waffles, jams, muffins, tea/coffee, cereals, juices...).
Everything was clean and the receptionnist is very friendly and really want to help you.
The prices are very good!
Strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Go upstairs if you can, and on the back court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed in cleaner quieter rooms for the price I paid! The tub was dirty, I had to clean it myself! the bathroom sink wasn't even caulked or glued to the counter and every time I turned the water on or off the entire sink came out of the counter, things like lampshades and thermostat were destroyed but still hanging. The place smelled stale, the room was dark, the walls were filthyI could hear everything and everyone in the rooms next to mine and in the hallways. There were sketchy people sitting in their car blaring music in the parking lot, I didn't feel safe staying there by myself and rarely slept. Didn't even bother to venture to the free breakfast after seeing the condition of that place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless your desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank e t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#48 of 68 in Ottawa
559 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#32 of 68 in Ottawa
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#13 of 68 in Ottawa
792 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beacon Hill Motel
Beacon Hill Motel
#59 of 68 in Ottawa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 475 Rideau St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $64 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Downtown Ottawa The Econo Lodge(R) Downtown is in a prime location minutes from the University of Ottawa and close to many national capital attractions including Parliament Hill, the Royal Canadian Mint, the National Arts Centre and the National Gallery of Canada. The nearby Rideau Canal is perfect for canoeing, kayaking, skating in winter or simply strolling along the shore. Some of the area's best shopping facilities are nearby, including Rideau Centre mall, ByWard Market and the Sparks Street Mall. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. All spacious guest rooms at the Econo Lodge hotel are air-conditioned and have cable television. Some rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and whirlpool bathtubs. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests of this Ottawa hotel enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, free coffee, free local calls, free parking and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Econolodge Hotel Downtown
Econo Lodge Ottawa
Ottawa Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing