We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty, loud, cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
niagara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dirty, loud, cheap”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed in cleaner quieter rooms for the price I paid! The tub was dirty, I had to clean it myself! the bathroom sink wasn't even caulked or glued to the counter and every time I turned the water on or off the entire sink came out of the counter, things like lampshades and thermostat were destroyed but still hanging. The place smelled stale, the room was dark, the walls were filthyI could hear everything and everyone in the rooms next to mine and in the hallways. There were sketchy people sitting in their car blaring music in the parking lot, I didn't feel safe staying there by myself and rarely slept. Didn't even bother to venture to the free breakfast after seeing the condition of that place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless your desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    75
    32
    44
See reviews for
38
65
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
491 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about this place when I booked online seeing the no of negative comments about it but it turned out to be a false alarm. The behavior of the staff were more than excellent, the rooms huge with good bathrooms and adequate toiletries. The rooms were meticulously maintained. It's very near to most of the touristic sites and a walk will cover them all. The breakfast was decent but it was a vegetarian affair. The safety features regarding unwanted people roaming about the property is absolutely baseless, they were all hotel staff and I have not heard of a single incident of indecency. if you are afraid of all black people, then perhaps you should live in Greenland.
Please consider the fact that you are booking the cheapest hotel in Ottawa and you can't expect Fairmont style.

Room Tip: Take Room 15 or 16, they are inside and although you lack the view, the rooms are more than adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
427 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Staying in downtown and Just Want A Place To stay, Consider This Hotel. It Is An Easy Walk To Downtown And The Parliament Buildings As Well As The University Of Ottawa. It Does Not Pretend To Be Anything Other Than An old Style Motel, But Good Staff And Functional Rooms You Are Good To Go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingsinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Hotel was undergoing renovations. The Breakfast was not that great. Muffins, danishes and croissants etc were crusty. You are much better off paying the extra and go to a comfort inn. The Wifi was unreliabe It kept on dropping out. Don't take your teenage daughters there. I only stayed one night thankfully!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaro1554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Yes it's the standard cheap hotel...stale smell and not very clean, only coffee no tea. These things are almost expected for the price they offer. HOWEVER, what I find unacceptable is when the snow plow truck decided to clear the parking lot right outside our door at 2am..sounded like the hotel was being demolished for over a half hour...and when brought up to the manager the next morning, there was no apology or anything!

Room Tip: If you can afford an extra 20 dollars...go to the days inn a few blocks closer to downtown...great c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is one of the cheapest in downtown Ottawa. It's convenient and close to numerous attractions like Parliament Hill and By-Market (15 min walk). The rooms are clean, but it's true that they have a motel smell (i was fine with it but others may not). The hotel is also under renovation, so it is not advisable to remain in the room between 9-5PM. The rooms were clean, and the toilets were excellent. My only complain is the pillows, which I find too flat. Other than that, it's a good place for a short trip to Ottawa. Complimentary breakfast was the standard stuff (waffles, bread, cereal).

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the main road. It's noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The outside of the building did not look great. At least the front desk staff was very professional and helpful. I stayed on the 2nd floor facing Rideau Street. The traffic noise was very loud. The room was very tiny; the carpet was fifty. Almost everything went wrong with this hotel. Not much thing to cheer it, then I had discovered the bathroom had a new renovation recently. The complimentary breakfast was above 2 stars. At least it offered a hot waffle machine, muffins and croissants with orange juice. Most of the tourist attractions located in Downtown area. It was my main reason to choose this hotel to save money for Downtown parking, the daily parking maximum could be range from $15-20. From this hotel to Downtown Ottawa there was a 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loong97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss Hotel
Swiss Hotel
#30 of 67 in Ottawa
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
699 reviews
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 475 Rideau St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Downtown Ottawa The Econo Lodge(R) Downtown is in a prime location minutes from the University of Ottawa and close to many national capital attractions including Parliament Hill, the Royal Canadian Mint, the National Arts Centre and the National Gallery of Canada. The nearby Rideau Canal is perfect for canoeing, kayaking, skating in winter or simply strolling along the shore. Some of the area's best shopping facilities are nearby, including Rideau Centre mall, ByWard Market and the Sparks Street Mall. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. All spacious guest rooms at the Econo Lodge hotel are air-conditioned and have cable television. Some rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and whirlpool bathtubs. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests of this Ottawa hotel enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, free coffee, free local calls, free parking and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Econolodge Hotel Downtown
Econo Lodge Ottawa
Ottawa Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing