We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel, yet great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our family of 4 ended up staying in Ottawa for a day. We booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to the Parliament Hill and a reasonable price ($105 with AMA discount). Everything was at a low-scale, except the brakefast. Breakfast was reasonable and staff were very friendly! There were stores in a walking distance (3-5 min.), so you can also buy your own food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside the court, not close to the road, because you will hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian_Albertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Friendly staff, and a decent continental breakfast in the morning. Rooms are tired and in need of a renovation. But for an overnight stay, and 80 dollar price tag, it did the trick....

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank ktown_traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This place is 100 a night. No frills very basic old worn out room.
The bathmat was filthy, the soaps and shampoos are of the lowest quality.
The towels are paper thin and the house keeping don't clean properly.
All the furniture is old and worn out.
The hot water wasn't working.
The ice machine was broken.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dollpartss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Check in was smooth with very friendly front desk attendant. We got our room, it was on the 2nd floor and we had to lug all our stuff up a gross stairwell to the 2nd floor. We entered our room and it smelled of someone trying to mask horrible body odour smell with incense. My kids and I could not tolerate it, we called the front desk and told them about the smell. They sent someone and got us into a different room ,which smelled less than the first room. Im standing in it right now wondering if it is worth the extra cash to leave or not, as im on a budget, but this room is still gross. Sticky spots on the carpet, old nasty comforters, and flies in the room, not to mention, our rooms door doesnt open and close properly. For $100 a night, i expect something more than a homeless shelter. I dont know if i can get comfortable in this room. I will never stay here again, i'd sooner sleep in my truck. I think im checking out right now. This motel is nasty.

Room Tip: Bring a Kevlar Body Suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff_P1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night. Located close to all attractions. Non-smoking room with 2 queen comfortable beds, very clean bathroom, fridge in the room, wi-fi . Continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My friend and I went to ottawa to visit some friends and thought this would be a good place to stay because of its cheap price and location, What a mistake!
Where do i even begin.. Motel next to a shelter, there were ants in the bathroom and the bed sheets were dirty.The guy at the front desk didnt even welcome us, nor did any of the other staff seem inviting.

We came home late one night at around 1am or 2am, we got dropped off in the parking lot, and as we were walking to our room, we relised there was about 10 guys just hanging out outside one room, with the door open. Im not sure what this guys were doing, but once in the room, I could still hear them outside, and I did not feel safe at all since we had one little lock between our rooms and outside!!

We were woken on our last morning at 9am to a knock at the door, it turned out to be the maid saying she needed to clean the room. Since it was our last day I told her that we were getting ready to leave for the 11am check out time and she seemed very annoyed that we wouldn't let her in. After a minute of explaining, no your not cleaning it right now, she just turned around and walked away. OMG how rude!

The location, yes very close to where you want to be in Ottawa, is on the bad side of the city and right next to a shelter. I would never ever return, nor would I even let any friends come to this motel. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER, and this hotel is the number one reasons i never stay at a hotel under 3 stars now. I hope this review stops even one person not staying at this motel!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelingbug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for four nights on our first ever visit to Ottawa. We didn't rent a car, but had no trouble getting to and from our chosen destinations. It was a short walk from Parliament, Rideau Centre Mall, National Gallery, etc... The hotel wasn't on the most attractive of blocks, but a 2 or 3 minute walk took us out of that.

The room suited our purpose. It was old, but clean and had no evidence of bed bugs. The staff were friendly and held onto our bags on the first day until check-in so we could explore. They were also very accomodating with our other requests.

The continental breakfast was fine. Nothing spectacular, but there was some variety.

Overall this hotel is exactly as the slogan says... "Spend a night, not a fortune." Don't expect luxury, but it's a good place to crash after a long day of exploring and/or shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maritimer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#34 of 68 in Ottawa
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#13 of 68 in Ottawa
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
579 reviews
1 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Beacon Hill Motel
Beacon Hill Motel
#58 of 68 in Ottawa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 475 Rideau St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $59 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Downtown Ottawa The Econo Lodge(R) Downtown is in a prime location minutes from the University of Ottawa and close to many national capital attractions including Parliament Hill, the Royal Canadian Mint, the National Arts Centre and the National Gallery of Canada. The nearby Rideau Canal is perfect for canoeing, kayaking, skating in winter or simply strolling along the shore. Some of the area's best shopping facilities are nearby, including Rideau Centre mall, ByWard Market and the Sparks Street Mall. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. All spacious guest rooms at the Econo Lodge hotel are air-conditioned and have cable television. Some rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and whirlpool bathtubs. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests of this Ottawa hotel enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, free coffee, free local calls, free parking and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Econolodge Hotel Downtown
Econo Lodge Ottawa
Ottawa Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing