We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location but beware of the Night traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Terrific Location but beware of the Night traffic noise”
Reviewed August 26, 2006

The hotel is just next to Byward Market and within walking distance of downtown, Rideau Canal, Parliament, and the Museum of Civilization. Self parking is relatively cheap ($10 /day) with in and out privileges. Beware of the one way streets in the downtown area and restricted lanes. While the area is not residential, we felt safe enough to go out at night as there are many people dining and clubbing in the area.

The room was nice with comfortable beds. The bathroom could use a new coat of paint and recaulking as there was mold and mildew around the soap dish. The in-room wireless network worked well.

However, we got a room facing Dalhousie St. which is travelled by cruisers on weeknights including Tuesday to Thursday. The motorcyclists intentionally rev their bikes when passing by the hotel. While other reviewers have made the same comment, it would behoove management to put sound proof windows on rooms facing the two streets.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    362
    125
    30
    19
See reviews for
218
239
64
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

stayed here for about 4 nights in mid august - great location - right in the market near all the bars and restaurants - best to ask for a room on dalhousie or else a courtyard room as the other side of the hotel overlooks some late bars etc - rooms were fine - clean etc - air con a bit loud - really only slept there so can't comment on the food/service - but staff were friendly when called upon - definately a place to stay if you are going to be exploring/partying etc

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — loud air con, and the windows didn't open in my room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of July. Perfect location right in the byward market. Close to all the attractions . Rooms fairly large (by comparison with european hotels) and very clean. Comfy bed and convenient parking (now 9.5 CAD / day). (indoor and outdoor). Staff all very helpful
Didn't find it noisy at all - would definitely recommend.
Admittedly it doesn't have a lot of character - pretty impersonal in fact ; but you don't stay in these type of places for character - just ideal central location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — lack of character
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kubilay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

Friendly hotel in a great location but the bars across the street were noisy in our 3rd floor room. Avoid these rooms during patio season, unless you are a nighthawk.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancesWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2006

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for two nights and loved it. You cannot find a better location. It is right in the heart of the Byward Market. No need to drive anywhere as everything is right at your doorstep. Parking is well worth the $8.25/day. We parked right inside and it is heated.It was perfect as there was a huge snow storm while we were there.
We asked for an early check in and we were in our room before noon. The rooms are very nice and clean and the king size bed is comfortable.
Not one complaint about this hotel and we would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weenerx65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

The hotel is what you would expect of a 2.5-3 star. It was definitiely liveable and everything was nice and in good repair. If you are expecting Westin/Sheraton, you may be disappointed. If you are expecting Holiday Inn, Best Western, then you should be just fine.

The location can't really be beat. It is right smack in the middle of the Byward market, Ottawa's restaurant and bar area. This could be an issue if you don't like noise and you are on the bar-street side and it is the weekend in the summer. Noise until 3am depending on where you are. On other sides of the hotel and in other seasons you may be ok. I'm sure I got their priceline room.

I would recommend this hotel for what it is. If you want something better, pay five times as much and stay at the Westin or the Chateau Laurier.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bertbarndoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

I stayed with my wife and 2 year old son in the Courtyard for a 3 night stay in Ottawa. First impressions weren't great as the outside of the hotel is quite ugly. The inside decor especially the carpets and the duvet could also do with a revamp. Even though it's geared towards business travellers we really enjoyed the stay. The location is excellent for walking around the sites in Ottawa or shopping in the nearby Rideau centre. Being on the edge of the Byward market is great for restaurants and we had no problem in our room with noise from bars. Great buffet breakfast in the morning set us up for the day. The hotel staff also proved very helpful in helping to send on something we forgot to another hotel we were staying in. Btw check visperks canadian website for 20% discount of the regular room rate

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gallaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
1,396 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,081 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing