We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“noisy”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

my room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and the window was right on a busy street. Between people falling out the bars in the street, the bars having their skips of bottles emptied into trucks and the morning traffic it wasn't a great night. the staff were very nice but the noisy street can't be changed. Back to the Novotel for me.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your visit with us. It is the comments and reviews from our guests like yourself that helps us improve upon our product and service.
I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and ask that you please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory stay you had in our hotel.
Being located in the heart of the Byward Market, Ottawa’s tourist district, always has its challenges and you experienced it while visiting the hotel. The Byward Market is a thriving, bustling community where tourists have the opportunity to buy local produce from farmers or dine in one of the many restaurants located within a short walk of the hotel. It is what makes our location so unique in Ottawa.
I would really like to discuss your stay with you in person and to be able to apologize in person. If you would be so inclined to do so, please contact me at the following phone number (613-369-5001) or email address denise@courtyardmarriottottawa.ca.
Again, thank you for providing your feedback and please accept my apologies on behalf of my team and the brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    365
    125
    30
    19
See reviews for
221
242
64
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

This hotel is a motel with the word Marriott slapped on it. First off the price in unreasonable for what you are getting and secondly the rooms look like they have been there for 50 years but with makeup covering it's disaster. The staff look unhappy to even be in the building. The management is unseen except when you are having breakfast and you see them coming in to get food and leave without so much as a hello to get to know their guests. IF YOU WANT TO BE NEAR THE MARKET there are tons of hotels in the downtown area that you can get to the market in a 2 minute walk. Basically its a run down motel and Marriott should consider dropping their label for the sake of their image.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestOpinionToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketin at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your visit with us. It is the comments and reviews from our guests like yourself that helps us improve upon our product and service.
I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and ask that you please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory stay you had in our hotel. There really is no excuse for the lack of presence with Management and this will be addressed with immediately.
I would really like to discuss your stay with you in person and to be able to apologize in person. If you would be so inclined to do so, please contact me at the following phone number (613-359-5001) or email address denise@courtyardmarriottottawa.ca.
Again, thank you for providing your feedback and please accept my apologies on behalf of my team and the brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This was our 3rd stay at the Courtyard Marriott. Right around the corner from Byward Market's open air shops and restaurants so no need to continually take the car out. Rooms are clean and modern with comfortable beds. Staff is very welcoming and we love the fresh fruit and cookies that are always present. The hotel is also within a 5 minute walk to the Rideau Centre--180 shops. There's good value at this Courtyard and our hotel of choice when we visit Ottawa!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa.
Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in January for a smaller group conference held in the building. I'd like to write this review as a thank you to each of the staff members who were working while our group was in the hotel. Check in: smooth as silk, with fresh fruit and cookies awaiting your arrival. Room: very quiet, considering it was on the first floor, very clean, relaxing decor and lots of nice little surprises. Very cozy extra blanket in bottom drawer of dresser, toiletries were lovely, decaf coffee and a cool one cupper in the single room that makes the equivalent of a large TH coffee. The bed was so comfortable with loads of pillows and crisp sheets. Ironing board, etc. all there and worked well. Pool: WALK IN WARM folks!! Beautiful shallow area if you have little children and a deeper area for adults. Lovely whirlpool, glassed in exercise room, each machine with it's own tv screen, and weight room. Towels galore and nice seating around the pool. Restaurant & bar: looked lovely with two beautiful fireplaces - Keg, Lone Star, Japanese are a stone's throw (across the street) and loads of other choices in the market area. Our breakfast and lunch for our conference were each very good, combining healthy, tasty food and beautiful presentation. I'm suffering withdrawal from the lovely cranberry shortbread we had each afternoon... Everything about this hotel was super, but the greatest asset this hotel has - its staff. What a sincere and helpful group of people they were from the desk staff, to David et al serving our lunch, to Anna cleaning our rooms to a sparkle. Vegetarians and those with allergies met with the chef, and their food was delivered right to them sealed in cellophane to avoid any problems. A needle and thread, a comb, directions around the city, and phone messages during the day delivered with a smile. Free internet is available in a quiet location and there is internet in the rooms as well. The location of this hotel is great for tourists - may be a 5-10 minute walk to parliament buildings. Market Organics store on York Street just up from the hotel - some interesting things in this store! I think this hotel deserves 5s across the board based on my experience there. Next time I'll bring my kids! :) Thanks for a relaxing stay, Mariott Staff!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neigele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa.
Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
Courtyard by Marriott prides itself on delivering "refreshing service" and it certainly sounds like you received this on all aspects of your stay as well as during your meetings. All of the staff you have mentioned in your posting have been thanked for providing such outstanding service during your stay.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

The hotel is very convenient and close to restaurants and amusements for after work. The only drawback is the speed of the wireless connection to the internet at times. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have seen.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskerville17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa.
Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
We are currently investigating the speed of our wireless internet service as it does tend to fluctuate during the day depending on how many guests are accessing it. Additionaly, when some guests are downloading large files it can slow down our system considerably. Please be sure to contact front desk should this occur on your next stay and they will see if there is anything that can be done.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My spouse and I stayed there for nearly a week at the beginning of November,2009 (business+leisure trip). The rating I gave it might be slightly exaggerated as we we able to book the place through Priceline and ended up paying 40% of the regular price.
So, the good points include LOCATION, cleanliness, helpful staff and a cozy exercise room.
If I were to complain, the only thing would be the size of the rooms. If you stay for a day or two, this should not be a problem, but for an extended stay I'd rather pick either an better room or a different place.

Overall, good experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaciejZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa.
Getting a great deal online and enjoying the hotel that you get is always a plus!
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, ON
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband and I are usually faithful to the Marriott chain but stayed in a competitor hotel last time and regretted it. We now know better after reverting back this past weekend. Usually we stay in the Fairfield Inn in Belleville as we have reason to stay there quite often and just love it. As well we have tried other chains in that city and have been sorry that we did as the value for the dollar just couldn't be compared.

I would recommend ANY Marriott hotel as we are now convinced that their standard service is excellence. The room here was huge with a super comfortable bed, nice big flat screen tv and free wireless internet. What more could we expect for booking the online advance special at $125.00/night? The previous reviewer complained about noisy patrons but this is the chance you take when you travel is it not? Almost every time we stay at a hotel there is a noisy group of some sort (usually a kids' sports team). In my opinion it's just something you have to deal with - ESPECIALLY on the weekends.

The only drawback is that there wasn't a complimentary breakfast bar like in our favourite Belleville hotel but the free coffee was fresh and appreciated. They also offered fresh fruit at the check-in counter staffed by friendly folks. One other small thing was that we had to pay $18.00 to park but had a choice of above ground or garage which was nice. We chose underground as it was snowing and there were plenty of spots to choose from. The last hotel we stayed at downtown (Novotel) only offered underground parking and the ceilings were so low that we had to crawl along at a snail's pace for fear of losing the roof rack.

One other positive thing was that this hotel slipped our bill under the door for express check-out and it was actually CORRECT! So many bad experiences fighting over the bill at other hotels... this was a pleasureable stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyJoeBrampton_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa.
Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
Each of the Marriott brands provides a different level of service. For example, in Belleville you would have stayed at the Fairfield Inn which does provide a continental breakfast. Or if you stay in a Residence Inn, you would get a complimentary hot buffet breakfast.
I would recommend that the next time you are traveling to the Ottawa area, that you take a look at our Stay for Breakfast rate which does includes complimentary buffet breakfast for two.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
1,401 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,084 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing