We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ByWard Blue Inn(Ottawa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa(Ottawa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swiss Hotel(Ottawa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveler rating
375
384
130
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
384
130
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbyward marketgreat locationyork streetwithin walking distanceparliament hillinside roombeaver tailottawa downtownrideau canalfront desk staffmarket areahotel is locatedshort walknational galleryrestaurants and barsquiet roomunderground parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 940 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here with family during Winterlude. The rooms were clean, spacious (only thing lacking was a safe for valuables when out of room) and soundproof (even with youngsters on a hockey tourney running around). The location was central enough that we could walk with our small child to the Rideau Canal for skating & other Winterlude attractions, without too many complaints about the distance on little legs. The Bistro serves breakfast (and Starbucks coffee) until 11 am with lots of healthy choices for small or large appetites, then closes for a while before they offer lunch. The pool area was good & clean, although there isn't really anywhere to change; be prepared to change in your room before and after. The common areas and lounge were spacious, modern and comfortable with free wifi and computers/printers available for guests. The staff were excellent and professional. We had no luck on our own getting a resto res. for our group of 12 on a Sat. Night in the Market. However, the front desk (a young Asian lady, whose name I regretfully do not have) came to our rescue & was able to book us into a fabulous resto called Sopra, where we enjoyed great Italian & continental food and outstanding service. The hotel obviously has an agreement of sorts with many of the resto's in the area (they gave us 10% off coupons for Sopra), but the quality & service was top rate. Would defo stay in this hotel again when next in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for your positive review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Our location makes us an ideal choice for both families and business travelers alike. Being within walking distance to the major attractions and restaurants allows all our guests to make the most of their trips to Ottawa.

The hotel does have a pool/fitness area with a change room in the one end, this way our guests are able to change in the pool area. The pool is open from 5 am – 11 pm so that our guests can enjoy it. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our menu options for breakfast. We also serve dinner options from 5 pm – 11 pm on weekends or 5pm – 10 pm on weekdays.

We have several discounts available with a variety of restaurants and our staff is available 24 hours to provide recommendations for our guests. We are happy to know that we have met your service expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent if you want to do the touristy/Byward Market thing in Ottawa. It's walking distance from most sites - and if you want to check out the bars, restaurants, clubs in Byward - the hotel is just a stumble away at the end of the night.

The hotel itself looks a little older but is clean. The rooms were apparently renovated recently. They are pretty basic, the room we stayed in was on the top floor and we found it a little cramped. I'm not a fan of the sink being separate from the shower/toilet - as another reviewer noted this is a little inconvenient when traveling with friends. This wouldn't be an issue if you're traveling solo or with your significant other. The bathtub/shower/toilet area is pretty cramped as well. Unfortunately our room didn't have a view - you may want to ask for a room with a view of the market if this is important to you. I did sleep VERY well here - the mattress was comfy.

Overall, the room was clean and provided for all our basic needs. Staff were polite and helpful. We didn't have any meals on site but there are lots of nice restaurants very close by. No major complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkle232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

We appreciate your review! Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

Our location is in the heart of the market and very convenient for our guests as you mentioned. Within the area there are over 130 restaurants and many attractions. We did recently upgrade our hotel which included painting the exterior, updating our hallways, renovating our rooms and more. Additionally, we just finished changing all our mattresses and pillows so our guests can have the most comfortable sleep. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our bathrooms are designed with the vanity separate so that it always for someone to use the sink/mirror area while another showers. We understand, however, that for some people this is not ideal.

Thank you again for the feedback. We hope to see you soon!
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This Hotel is ideally located. Perfect for walking around Byward Market , Rideau canal and Parliament . Staff is friendly. Rooms are clean and our room was very big. $20 for parking but they allowed us to leave our car well before check in and stay well passed check out. free Wifi in rooms which is greatly appreciated. Hear the noise from the hallway and street but not overly so.
My only complaint is that the toilette and tub/shower are in one room and the sink is in another. not convenient when travelling with friends and coworkers. Also in the bathroom there are shelves or counters to rest toiletries on or change of clothing (ther was room to add one or the other in our bathroom)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay as it helps us to improve!

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location helped you make the best of your time in the city. We’re close to so many attractions! We’re always happy to try to accommodate special requests, such as leaving your vehicle in our parking lot past check-out. We do have a noise policy in effect so we encourage guests to notify us if there is any excessive noise. That being said, some areas of the hotel are quieter than others due to their location so for those wishing a quieter environment, we welcome them to make the request when they reserve or when they check in and we will do our best to accommodate.

Again, I want to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and we hope to see you again soon in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was only here for a night, but was very pleased with the hotel. Ingrid at the Reception was very friendly and welcoming and got me checked in quickly when I arrived around 1pm.

Pros:
- clean room
- lots of extra towels
- great range of toiletries eg. Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner
- location right in the Byward market
- friendly staff

Cons:
- couldn't get the room above 22 degrees (I was there during an cold spell, so this is understandable), old A/C system
- no duvet on the beds, just sheets and a blanket in the closet

Overall, I was very happy to find this place and it was perfect for a quick stay in Ottawa.

Room Tip: I had an interior facing room and it was dead silent - couldn't hear the construction going on the other side of the street!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Firstly, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback.

We’re happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to sharing your comments with Ingrid. We take customer service and cleanliness to heart at the hotel and we are happy to know that we excelled in both areas.

Our location is unmatched to date and provides easy access to restaurants and attractions which I hope you were able to take advantage of during your stay.

We are sorry to hear that you were having issues with the room temperature. However, we do encourage our guests to contact the front desk with any issues during their stays, so that we may rectify them as soon as possible.

Thank you again kindly for the review.
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I like this hotel. I have for about a dozen years or so. It is centrally located and usually pretty reasonably priced. If you are a Marriott Rewards customer, chances are you can get a room without the (ridiculous) $20 parking fee for the garage that was supposedly "renovated" about a year and half ago, but darned if I can see what the changes actually were.

I have two frustrations with this hotel. First, as a Reward member, you used to get 500 points or a free breakfast. Now, you get either 100 points, a breakfast discount, or a free appetizer. Secondly, we asked for a rollaway bed, which we were not guaranteed. That's fine, I get that. When I asked about it at check in (we came prepared with our own air mattress just in case), I was told that the hotel could give us a mattress to put on the floor but that they could not give us a cot/bed on wheels or something quasi-unintelligible because of, well, I'm not sure I actually understood the reason. I guess my problem is this: how can you give the option of a rollaway, if there is no rollaway? The person who used the mattress was very accepting of the situation, but what happens when you have travelled hundreds or thousands of miles and are told that one in your party has to, essentially, sleep on the floor because the hotel can't/won't provide the actual "rollaway" that is supposedly available on the Marriott website? Granted, we booked just one room to save money, but this experience left be with a bad feeling about a hotel that has historically been a very solid choice. Just beware before you pick the rollaway option: someone will wind up sleeping on the floor.

Room Tip: Pick an inside room. There will be no view, but it will be quiet. If you want a view, spend a few extra bucks and book the Westin. And, see above about the alleged rollaways.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandycuse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as it helps us to improve our service for future guests!

Our parking charge of $20 is very competitive for the area as we area on the average equal to or up to $20 less than other area hotels. We also offer unlimited in/out privileges which is something not offered by all downtown properties. Unless included in a package, this price is for all of our guests, including Marriott Rewards members. I apologize if there was a misunderstanding about the work done to our parking area two summers area. The renovation was to the ramp leading to our lower level parking. It was completely redone and there were no other changes to our parking.

In regards to our welcome gift, we do change the benefit periodically and the gift varies for each Elite status. We apologize that you don’t feel this gift is adequate; however, this is not a standard and is something the hotel chooses to do voluntarily as a little bonus for staying with us. Unfortunately, our rooms with two queen size beds are not permitted to have a cot or rollaway bed. This is due to fire regulations and was not a decision made by the hotel. We must comply with this fire regulation for the safety of our guests as due to the size of our rooms the fire department has deemed that the cot will hinder an emergency evacuation by blocking the path to a safe exit. When booking through our website, the room details for a room with two queen beds does state that the room is unable to accommodate a cot. As an alternative when another bed is absolutely necessary, we are able to put a mattress on the floor as this does not block your path in the same way the metal frame to a cot would. We do apologize that this is perhaps not the ideal solution, but unfortunately, it is the best we are able to do and still comply with fire safety. A room with a king sized bed is able to accommodate a cot without any issue.

Again, I’d like to thank you for posting your review and I apologize for any misinformation that may have occurred when reserving or during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host your next visit to Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews