We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel :) ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Thorold
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel :) ”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We went here for 3 nights. They work hard to make sure their customers are happy and I love that they lock up their front doors at night to assist in security as it's in the Byward Market. Great location, cleans rooms and friendly staff! I will definitely be back in the spring :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you giving us such a great review on TripAdvisor!

We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our rooms to be clean! We also have a great location that offers guests a lot of restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions all within a few blocks. It is a busy area, both day and night, and while it is a safe area, we lock out doors at night for added security for our guests. We’re glad you appreciate our efforts.

We want to thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the spring!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    365
    125
    30
    19
See reviews for
221
242
64
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the excellent location, close to attractions. Within walking distance are Parliament Hill, Byward Market, Laurier House, Notre Dame Basilica, National Gallery of Canada, to name a few. The front desk receptionist was courteous. Wifi was available as we brought our iPad to communicate with our folks back home. The room was clean. We are pleased with what we got. Will recommend and will come stay again when visiting Ottawa.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penelope F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa!

We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location helped you make the best of your time in Ottawa! There is so much to see and do all within a short walk. Our staff is always willing to offer recommendations and directions and we’re happy that you always found them to be friendly during your interactions. Cleanliness is also an important part of a hotel so we’re glad we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our complimentary Wi-fi as well.

Again, we want to thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to host your next visit to the Nation’s Capital!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been there many times and I will keep returning. Marriott in general has not let me down and this is another example of great value and Feeling at home when I get there. Byway Market is also nearby so you can get great Food, as well as fast food right across the street.

Room Tip: The food place inside there is overpriced for what you get, but there are great choices within walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serious_Neatfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
There is truly no bigger compliment to a hotel than a guest that keeps coming back! We want to sincerely thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travelers! We’re so happy to hear that you always enjoy staying with us and feel at home. Our location is one of the best in Ottawa for everything from shopping to restaurants and entertainment.

Again, we want to thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Loved this hotel...
Good service..check
Lovely rooms..check
Little niceties, like fresh fruit in lobby for guests..check
Location to Byward Market and delicious Eateries..double check
Makes for great getaway..triple check.
Thank you COURTYARD by MARRIOTT
OTTAWA DOWNTOWN.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Get the Courtyard outlook.. Quiet and pretty to gaze down upon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It’s very kind of you to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor and we’d like you to know how much it’s appreciated!

We’re very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We always want our guests to be greeted by friendly staff and check into clean rooms so we’re happy to hear we delivered. And we’re glad you enjoyed our snack and refreshment stand! After exploring the many shops, farmer’s market and more in the Byward Market, it’s a great stop for a little energy boost!

Again, we want to thank you for giving us your feedback and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prather, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff at this hotel was absolutely wonderful. Friendly and informative, always a smile on their faces. It really made the trip. The location was also ideal, you could walk around, with many choices for meals and drinks.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quiet, but you need to keep your curtains closed, since you are looking into oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor! Our staff work hard to give each guest personalized attention and we’re happy to hear that the service they provided helped make your trip even better! Being located in the historic Byward Market offers our guests a variety of things to see and do all within walking distance. Our staff is very knowledgeable about the area and always willing to give you’re their recommendations.

Again, we want to thank you for your kind words and sharing your thoughts with other travelers and we hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip to Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Ottawa, sightseeing, and chose this hotel for its near-perfect location. Apart from the Aviation Museum, which we visited on our way out of town by car, everything we wanted to see was within about 20 minutes walk, and anyway, what better way of seeing such a beautiful city, than on foot. Not only that, but the Byward Market, with cafes and restaurants to suit all tastes, is right on your doorstep.

I was slightly nervous about navigating to the hotel in a strange car in a strange city, but as it turned out I couldn't have chosen better. As we came over the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge from Gatineau, I was delighted to see Dalhousie Street signposted to the right, and within minutes we were checking in at the hotel reception. The car we disposed of in the underground car park for $20 per day. We were offered a choice of rooms and took one on the ground floor looking inwards to the courtyard. It was fine. I used the hotel laundry, and the clothes were returned the same day.

My only reservation concerned the breakfast arrangements, which is why I have not given a top rating. They were provided by an in-house Starbucks. On the first morning I chose a cooked breakfast but it was not to my taste; I couldn't finish it, and thereafter I stuck to cold stuff. My wife preferred that anyway, and I have to admit the service provided was very good. However, left to my own devices I would have gone outside the hotel for something more to my taste - and probably cheaper as well!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts with others on TripAdvisor!

We’re glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our central location. There is so much to see and do all within a short walk! And for those who will be using their vehicle to see other parts of the city, we do offer unlimited in/out privileges with our parking. We hope you enjoyed the Star Wars exhibit at the Aviation Museum! With so many restaurants in such close proximity, we have designed our Bistro to those looking for something quick and easy or to go. For guests looking to go outside of the hotel, we highly recommend speaking to our front desk staff as they are always happy to share their favourite restaurants with you!

Again, we’re glad you had a good stay and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve ourselves. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I came to Ottawa for a mini honeymoon and booked a package through Ottawa Tourism (best deal!). I mentioned to the hotel that it was our honeymoon, and requested one of their quieter rooms. Not only did we get a free room upgrade, they also had a fruit and cheese tray with chilled sparkling water waiting for us! What a nice surprise!

The hotel itself was fairly standard, nothing special, and it did tend to be a bit noisy (we could hear kids running and squealing in the hallways in the morning), but the location was the reason we chose it. We were just steps away from everything the Byward Market area had to offer! Restaurants, entertainment, pubs, bars, attractions, everything was within a short walk.

The only real complaint we had was that we were told upon check-in that parking was "$20 during our stay, with in and out privileges". Upon checkout when they went to charge us $60, we found out that the staff member had meant $20 per DAY, but had failed to actually tell us it was per day, so we were surprised by that extra $40 charge.

Overall, the location was the highlight. Other hotels in downtown Ottawa seemed to have nothing happening in the neighborhoods after business hours, so if you plan to dine out and maybe go to some pubs, then you'll definitely want to be here!

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the inside of the building facing the courtyard are quieter than the street-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v_island_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Congratulations on your recent marriage! We are always truly honoured when guests choose to stay with us to celebrate special occasions and we always try to do a little something extra to make it memorable. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I understand you did however have a couple of issues and I’d like to address them. We take our guests’ comfort very seriously, and while we do regular patrols of the floors to ensure everything is ok, we invite our guests to contact us if they are being bothered by other guests so that we can correct the situation. I also sincerely apologize that there was miscommunication about the cost of our parking. Our parking is $20 per night, which is very competitive to the area, and we also offer unlimited in/out privileges, although many guests find they don’t need their vehicles during their stay as you have a farmer’s market, restaurants, tourists attractions and much more all within a short walk. Our location is certainly one of the best in Ottawa and we’re glad it helped u make the best of your time here!

We’d like to thank you for giving us your feedback so we may improve ourselves and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again, perhaps for your anniversary!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
1,402 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,084 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing