We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lot of restaurants around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 nightonr business. Taxi is about $33 from the airport. Parking could be expensive.

It is near downtown with a lot of restaurant close by. Don't try the one across the street called Palais Imperial. It was dirty and the food was not that good.

It is an older hotel. You can tell by the hallway carpet and furniture, but the room was clean. I got an inside room, so did not experience the noise problem from other reviewers.

Check in was quick and the staff was friendly. There was no free breakfast like most of the other hotels. That's why I seldom stay at the courtyards. It adds another $10 for your stay. The gym was smal lwith only a few machines. Internet was OK.

Room Tip: Get inside room for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Your review is appreciated! Thank you for your feedback.

There is parking available at the hotel for a charge of $20/day. However, several guests choose to take the taxi to our hotel since we are very centrally located. We are glad that you enjoyed the area. There are many restaurants in the area. If ever guests require recommendations we encourage them to come see the front desk.

The entire building has been recently renovated to the new Courtyard design and concept. The rooms, hallways, lobby and the Bistro were all a part of the renovations. The internet is a fiber optic connection with a WiFi code that is given to our guests. This is a complimentary amenity. However, if you are ever experiencing speed or connectivity issues please contact the front desk so that we may resolve this issue.

Thank you again for the review. If you wish to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel with your concerns.
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 925 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located in the Byward Market, but the street noise can make it nearly impossible to sleep. The building across Dalhousie Avenue is under construction, and noisy supply vehicles were unloading immediately beside the hotel rooms this morning (Oct. 3rd) at 5:30 am. Front desk staff are indifferent and unwilling to help in any way. Do yourself a favour and stay at another of the various hotels situated only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnviroGeoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate the time you took to post your feedback.

We are saddened to hear that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. Being a downtown property has its advantages and drawbacks. One of which can be noise. We do our best to try and accommodate our guests to ensure they have a good night’s rest. However, there are certain external factors that are beyond our control which is why upon making a reservation guests can request interior facing rooms.

On the other hand we are pleased to know you found the location to be convenient for your stay!

Again thank you for your feedback!
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the lobby and was greeted by Granoj Niamthong, we knew we made the right choice in choosing the Marriott Courtyard in Ottawa. Check in was very efficient. Not only was the location ideal for walking to see all the sights, it's close proximity to Byward Market made it very convenient to go back to the hotel to rest up before heading out for dinner. There are so many restaurants located within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. After reading previous reviews about the noise levels ,we requested an interior room when we made our reservations. Our room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the coffee machine in the room as well as the apples and cold water dispenser in the lobby. The hotel itself is older but very well maintained with large seating area in the lobby and restaurant area. During our 2 night stay, Granoj was there to answer any questions, reset our wifi password, held our bags after checkout and genuinely made sure that we were enjoying our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel and would surely stay here again when we visit Ottawa.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback!

We are thrilled to hear you had enjoyed your stay and found Oranuj helpful, efficient and friendly. Customer service is very important to us and we are glad Oranuj exemplified this.

Our location is fantastic and allows our guests to be within walking distance to a multitude of restaurants and attractions. We’re happy to hear that you took advantage of this and experienced the local area. The hotel has been recently updated to reflect the new Courtyard style. This renovation did include the lobby, Bistro and lounge area.

Once again thank you kindly for the review. I look forward to sharing your comments with Oranuj.
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in a ground floor room. There was a Main Street outside so that it seemed like all noise - traffic, conversations, street cleaners were at the bottom of the bed. Room was sparse and tired. No breakfast buffet simply a plastic drink of juice and fruit. Information provided by staff re restaurants was completely wrong. We are both nearly 70 and had no help with luggage at all. Very disappointing. No value for money. The hotel's only saving grace was it's location in the restaurant area (and within walking distance of Parliament Hill) but this made the noise even worse in the early hours of the morning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Tulloch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Firstly, I would like to thank you for you review and feedback.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. Being located in the heart of the market does mean we have a fantastic location. However, on certain nights of the week the noise volume can increase.

We did recently renovate to the new Courtyard style. All the rooms, hallways, and public areas have been redesigned to the new Courtyard design. Each room comes standard with a 3 piece credenza, fridge, TV, office chair and couch chair amongst other things.

The Bistro has an a-la- carte breakfast menu available daily for an additional charge. There is a variety of options ranging from eggs, pancakes, and granola. We apologize that the street noise did affect your stay. Should you join us in the future you may request an inside facing room and we will do our best to accommodate it.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will join us in the future so that we may ensure you have a great stay.
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Because this hotel is in the busy and interesting Byward Market, it's also noisy in the exterior rooms. So ask for an interior room.

The gym has only a few machines...only one bike.

The bathrooms are small.

The staff are helpful and the rooms are well cleaned.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience that the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa!

We are the only hotel located within the historic Byward Market and this offers our guests over 100 restaurants, a farmer’s market and boutique shops all within a short walk. As this is a vibrant area, both day and night, room which face our inner courtyard are not affected by the goings-on in the Market. Due to space limitations, we do not have a full gym but do have a few machines as well as some free weights for guests to maintain a basic routine. We’re happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms to be clean. We understand that customer service and cleanliness are two of the most important aspects to a hotel so we’re glad we delivered!

Again, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great Location in Byward Market. THIS IS WHERE YOU WANT TO BE.

Quiet, Nice Setup at the Courtyard's now-a-days. Clean room. Hard Bed. Bad Pillows.

Quiet AC. Tons of room and nice staff. They will rent you an umbrella for a $25 CAD deposit.

Perfect location for a little but of fun and business. Ottawa has an extremely compact downtown area and capital mall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phidizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We’re happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our central location. Byward Market offers a lot of things to see and do whether here for pleasure or business. Our staff is very knowledgeable about the area and is always willing to make a recommendation if needed. We’re glad you liked our rooms as they were all recently renovated. Our mattresses are classified as “firm” as this is what we found most people preferred, however, we understand that it’s not for everyone, which is why we also have mattress toppers that can be requested. Next time you stay with us, simply request one from the front desk and we’ll be happy to make your bed a little softer for you! We do have umbrellas, as well as cell phone chargers and universal adapters, which guests can borrow at no charge. We simply ask for a deposit to ensure they are returned for the next guest.

We’d like to thank you for posting a review of your stay for other travelers and we hope to see you again soon in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I booked this hotel based on locality to my meeting for work. Stumbled upon this hotel after a meeting location switch and was happy for it! Right in the hub of the Market and ten minute walk to Parliament Hill and my meeting. I loved the proximity to everything.This was my first time in Ottawa so had an afternoon of sightseeing, and did it all on foot with how central this hotel is.
I read the reviews so asked for an inside room. Granted my window looked out over the wall/window into the pool, but really, I was not in Ottawa to look out my window! I had quiet neighbors, which was great as I do agree the walls are a little thin.
Check in and out staff were friendly and efficient. Loved the ice water, cookies and fruit. No one had to tell me I could have them, pretty obvious they were for guests!!
I also loved the room coffee maker and coffee. Cafe had cream for guests and I appreciated that!
Stayed three nights and would chose this hotel again for location, location, location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alltanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Firstly, we would like to thank you kindly for the review and we appreciate your feedback!

We are glad to hear that you had a positive experience during your time at our hotel and your first trip to Ottawa. As you mentioned we do have an excellent location! We’re thrilled that you were able to experience the restaurants and attractions during your stay with us since we are within walking distance to over 130.

When receiving guest requests for room locations we do our best to accommodate them, granted that the inside rooms do not have the same view but typically are quieter.

Customer service is important to us which is why we want all our guests to feel welcome. We are happy you found the staff friendly and efficient! The refreshment stand by the check in area is there for our guests as an added perk after a long days travel or work. We are pleased that you helped yourself.

Thank you kindly for the review we look forward to seeing you in the future.
-Monica Schoeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,123 reviews
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#10 of 68 in Ottawa
2,191 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 68 in Ottawa
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $127 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a superb location in the heart of the city centre at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown. Our exceptional hotel in Ottawa, Canada's ByWard Market District is within walking distance of popular restaurants, shops, downtown businesses and Parliament Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing