We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, even for a staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great location, even for a staycation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked via Marriott.com. Opted for this given the event I was attending made it safer that I walked rather than drive or bike, and needed the night towards gold status promo. Biked there from work, where they actually put away my bike safely so no worries for bikers here.

This is a typical Courtyard, large room, with sofa king bed, large bathroom (i got an handicapped bathroom, so extra big). A free bag of toiletries was provided (as well as extra 500 points for not taking the 10$ breakfast voucher and free WiFi...gold status peks). Courtyard view was obstructed by pool edicule.

The pool itself is decent sized, the jacuzzi is hot but on the smaller size and ackwards to get into. The gym is in an enclosed glass structure and is minimally equipped (2 treadmills, 2 elliptical, 1 bike, some dumbbells).

Plenty of dining options as you are smack dab in the Market. I left my bike after check out and returned at the end of the afternoon to retrieve it. Excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. We appreciate the time you too to post on TripAdvisor.

We’re glad you made a responsible choice during your event. Our location is very central to the attractions and restaurants making it convenient for guests. Our rooms, hallways and public areas were recently renovated. We are glad you enjoyed the rooms. We are currently finalizing the final renovations by painting the exterior of the building.

Our hotel does presently have promotional offers for Elite guests upon check-in to thank Marriott members for their continued travels with Marriott. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this perk.

We are pleased to hear that the front desk was able to assist you with your bike storage and otherwise. Customer service is an important factor to any guests stay and we want our guests to enjoy themselves.

Again thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you at the hotel in the future.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    341
    124
    30
    18
See reviews for
209
226
62
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband is a big fan of Marriott hotels so we booked at the Courtyard in Byward Market for our weekend in Ottawa. It is extremely convenient for dining and sight seeing. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We were upgraded due to my husband's status and also given an extra treat.

The problems with the hotel were: children running in the hall and yelling. People having extended loud conversations in the hall. (We were not close to the elevators either.) There are only 4 parking spaces for checking in and you can't get into the parking lot until you have a room key. Today it was a problem when we returned to the hotel and had to wait in our car until one of the 4 spots opened up and the car in front of us could pull in. Then we could drive into the parking area. Then the parking lot only had two spots left when we got there. There were still 4 cars in the check in area. If we had been 30 minites later, we might not have gotten a parking space. The only restrooms we could find on the lobby level stay locked, so you have to get a key from the front desk and walk to the other end of the hotel to the restrooms. Then take the key back. Inconvenient!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Muvsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in some regards. Our on-site parking is limited; however we have a system in place whereby cars parked on-site are issued a parking stub, allowing us to track the number of vehicles on-site. This also ensures that guests who have already registered for on-site parking will have it for their entire stay. The people who were checking-in at the time you returned to the hotel would be directed to our off-site parking located a 2 minute walk from the hotel. You would not have lost your spot. In regards to the public washrooms, due to the high traffic area in which we are located, we locked our washrooms in order to keep them clean and safe and for our guests’ use only. I understand that this can be an inconvenience however it is done in the best interest of our guests.

We’re happy to hear that there were some positive aspects to your stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as they strive to deliver excellent customer service to each of our guests. We also truly believe that there is no greater compliment than a loyal guest, so we always try to recognize them, whether complimentary upgrades, snacks, etc… Our location is also one of the best in Ottawa so we’re glad it allowed you to make the best of your time in Ottawa

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor and we hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip to Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stopped for business in July, which is the ideal time in the market. Stayed for 2 weeks and had no complaints. Great service, big rooms, and nice lobby/restaurant amenities. Great location and locals made for an enjoyable stay. The rooms have been updated and kept clean. Internet service is speedy and easy to use. I had the family come down for the weekend and they enjoyed their stay as well. I would definitely go back for the service and location.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor street side if you are a light sleeper, it can be a bit noisy with the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisM409425410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We appreciate the time that it took to post your review on Trip Advisor!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable two weeks with us at the hotel. We have an ideal location for travellers because we are close to restaurants, stores, and attractions. We hope you had the chance to explore the area and experience Ottawa.

The hotel does have several amenities for our guests to take advantage of such as our pool. We did also recently renovate the guest rooms, lobby, lounge, meeting spaces and hallways. We are now finalizing the renovations by painting the exterior of the building. Along with all the visible changes we did also upgrade our internet to ensure speed and efficiency for guests.

Customer service is important factor to any stay and we are glad your family and yourself recognized our efforts and that you had a pleasant time.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The amenities are acceptable but nothing special, the room is clean but nothing special, but the hotel is located in the Ottawa Byward Market, steps from food, entertainment and convenient to almost everything. About 10-15min walk to Parliament Hill. Also, you can get a room facing into the courtyard if you want things to be a little quieter

It may not be perfect, but it's pretty darn good and I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Firstly, we’d like to thank you for the review. We’re happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay.

We are incredibly close to attractions, restaurants and more. Our location is definitely advantageous for our guests that enjoy exploring Ottawa.

We are happy to hear that we will be seeing you in the future! Thank you again for the feedback.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for my birthday as a way of getting out on the town and not worrying about the drive home. We chose the Courtyard because of its location, basically the only hotel in the market, and within walking distance to the best spots in town.

Didn't realize the parking was 20.00, pricey, but no complaints, the garage was secure and ample parking available, however, parking could be found free on the street if lucky after hours. The welcome was warm, the layout and upkeep of the lobby/courtyard/dining area is nice. The rooms were updated as well, spacious for a downtown hotel. Found the price to be a bit steep, most likely justified based on its location above all else. The hotel staff wasnt too friendly when we arrived back at the hotel after closing hours, but that makes sense due to the fact they need to ensure they're not letting in the wrong crowd late at night.

The 9pm quiet hours are kind of early for a downtown hotel, and it was a bit strange how they emphasized this above all else when checking in, making us sign forms and whatnot. The beds were a bit unimpressive, but slept soundly as rooms and windows were pretty soundproof.The only other complaint was the short, shaved hair found in a few places around the bathroom and vanity.

in any case, it was a nice hotel, but we've had much better experiences in hotels for much less money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for you posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to hear that you had an overall positive experience. Our location does allow for guests to park their vehicles for their stay since we are close to many attractions. Guests can walk the market area, visit local attractions and experience downtown without needing their vehicles. However, as you stated parking is an additional charge since we are a downtown property. The additional charge is stated on the hotel’s website and is priced competitively with hotels and parking lots in the vicinity.

Renovations in the public area and guest rooms were finalized to update the hotel to the new Courtyard concept. We are glad that you enjoyed the new look. Both customer service and hotel cleanliness is important to us at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa. Hence, we strongly urge guests to contact the front desk with any comments or questions though out their stay so that we may ensure that our guests have an excellent visit.

We apologize if you found our hotel policy sheet to be off-putting. This is not our intention. We have implemented this new procedure to help empower guests by informing them of various protocols, such as our “quiet hours”, since it is more likely guests will let us know if others are excessively noisy. It is also used as a preventative, since it states we are a 100% smoke free hotel, which can deter guests from smoking in our rooms and leaving an unpleasant odour behind for others.

Thank you again for the review. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future and make your next stay a great one!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I travel on business to Ottawa often and always try to stay at the Downtown Courtyard on Dalhousie Street. It is well situated close to Byward market with many choices of restuarants only steps away. Parliment Hill is a comfortable stroll and the canal is within easy walking distance and beautiful year around. Toi top it all off, the staff is very cheerful, helpful and courteous and above all professional. I stay in hotels more than 80+ times in a year, almost excclusively Marriott and I recommentd this hotel to all of my colleagues, friends and anyone who asks for a recommedation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuWayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor!

The hotel is close to many attractions and restaurants as you stated. In fact there are over 130 restaurants within walking distance. Also, there are several paths along the river and canal which is great for guests looking to walk, jog, or bike which provides a beautiful view of the city.

The staff wants all our guests to have enjoyable stays and so we do our best to help our guests with their questions and requests.

We are always happy to have repeat guests such as yourself and we hope to see you in the future.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a single mom with three small children, it is always a breath of fresh air when you are greeted with the most professional service. Friendly throughout our stay; always helpful when we inquired about sites to see for our age group; and, my girls always looked forward to seeing their point contact each time we returned from an outing... the connection made at the Courtyard by Marriott was very wonderful to see. They were happy and excited about everything we did and saw during our stay, and the staff made us feel like this was our home away from home! Thank you again from all of us here... we look forward to returning and making it an annual tradition. "The G Girls"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. We are pleased to hear that you and you children enjoyed your time at the hotel!

Customer service is very important to us and we are thrilled that your girls enjoyed talking to the staff. We encourage guests to come see us at the front desk with inquiries they may have throughout their stay such as restaurant recommendations, questions about attractions, directions and more! We enjoy meeting new guests and being able to assist them to make their stays enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing