We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a good hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location and a good hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at this property more times and for more years than I can remember - likely 20 years. This isn't an overly fancy hotel however it has a great central location and the rooms have been updated with modern appointments. Staff were friendly and I only have positive comments regarding the experience.

It's a very good hotel with the added benefit of offering, location, location, location. The Byward Market, Rideau Canal and Parliament Hill are all within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The Byward market has very busy night life especially on weekends and more so during the warmer even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpsrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We greatly appreciate getting such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor!

We’re so glad to hear that not only do you enjoy our staff and location, you have more many years! Your loyalty is more than appreciated. We did renovate a large portion of the hotel about a year ago so it’s wonderful that you like the changes. And you’re certainly right, one of the hotels biggest assets in the location! There is so much going on in the Byward Market from shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions that guests will always be able to find something to do.

Again, we’d like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and we look forward to your next stay with us in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    339
    122
    30
    18
See reviews for
207
225
62
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. The overall appearance of the hotel was tired and old. Our room was a reasonable size but the furnishings and carpet were worn and shabby. The bathroom needed updating. I could have just about tolerated all this, but what ruined our stay was how noisy this place was. Other guests would come in late at night, laugh and yell out in the corridor at all hours. Our door had a big crack down the side of it, so was ineffective at blocking out the noise. We stuffed towels into the crack and this helped a little. The heater/air conditioner also emitted a foul, garlic smell when switched on. The windows were sealed so we couldn't open them for some fresh air. Seriously, DO NOT stay at this hotel!! There have to be others in the area that are more updated, cleaner and QUIETER!!

Room Tip: If you MUST stay in this dump, try and get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. Thank you for providing your feedback to TripAdvisor.

Our rooms and common areas have recently been renovated to the new Courtyard by Marriott standard and we are waiting to begin the second phase of renovations for the hallways. If guests have issues with something throughout their stay we always encourage them to let the front desk know so that we can do our best to remedy it. Also, our housekeepers as a part of their responsibilities report to management daily if anything needs replacing/ repairing.

Noise is sometimes hard to control mostly when guests are not being respectful to the others in the hotel, but we do have security in the evenings to do rounds on the floor. Also our hotel has a strict no noise policy so if a noise complaint is reported our security agent is sent to the floor immediately.

We would like to take the time to address your comments regarding the windows that do not open, as well. Many hotels do not have rooms with windows that open and the hotels opt for the individual heating/cooling units. This is done for guest safety reasons. At the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa our HVAC system does also have a ventilation setting that allows fresh outside air to circulate within the room.

I invite to contact us so we can further discuss your stay and so that we can verify the room occupied and the issues listed. By e-mail: info@courtyardmarriottottawa.ca or via phone 613 241 1000.

-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall I like this hotel, because its right down town on the byword market. For great restaurants and an interesting place to visit, you can't beat it. Overall the rooms are very nice and well appointed, staff is very courteous and friendly. In general if you want this location book well in advance, its often sold out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We appreciate you review of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write it!

Ottawa’s Byward Market is a great place with over 130 restaurants. The hotel is right in the heart of the market so guest can walk to their attractions and restaurants.

We did recently renovate the guest rooms and common areas. We’re pleased you enjoy the rooms.

Thank you again for the review. We hope to host you again in the coming months.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I spent 3 nights here for a conference and while there is nothing wrong with this hotel, I also didn't experience anything that distinguished it, and I'm not inclined to return, as it felt quite impersonal - this wasn't such an issue for the one night when I didn't have to pay premium rates, but the high rates just didn't feel justified.

Pros:
Very clean
Room was fine - not big, but not tiny (except the bathtub); King sized bed; sink separate from the rest of the bathtub.
Wireless internet is included in the room - this was appreciated.
Location was convenient to the Convention Centre, Rideau Centre, Parliament Hill, etc., and to lost of restaurants
Fridge in the room.

Cons:
No room service - which would be fine except for the price I had to pay, and, had I been with my family, would have been a bigger deal.
Very small bathtub, even for a hotel.
Location at night might be concerning for some if they are going out - I wasn't out much after my conference, so I wasn't too worried.
I can't really describe it - but the service was very impersonal - nothing to complain about, but it was just rather flat.

Other:
I didn't get to the pool, so I can't comment.
If you are staying over the weekend, you have to sign a form about what you can/can't do on Friday or Saturday night. I know this is to protect the guests, and that was appreciated, but it is a bit off-putting, and didn't inspire me to bring my family back next time.

Overall, if I have no other choice, I would go to the Marriott, but I wouldn't chose it first in the future.

Room Tip: 318 was quiet if that's what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCGKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We’d like to thank you for providing us your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location! Since we are located in the Byward Market, you have access to plenty of restaurants, as well as tourist and business attractions such as the Parliament Buildings and Convention Centre. It’s nice to know that you found our rooms to be very clean and enjoyed some of our amenities, such as complimentary WiFi and a fridge in your room.

Unfortunately, as we are not a full service hotel, we do not have room service available however we do have a Bistro To Go service where guests can call ahead to our restaurant and make an order “to go”. We then call the guest when it is ready for pickup. We apologize if you found our hotel policy sheet to be off-putting as that is not its intention. We have found that when we empower guests by letting them know things such as our “quiet hours”, they are more likely to let us know if ever other guests are creating excessive noise. It is also designed to be preventative, as it lets our guests know that we are a 100% smoke free hotel, therefor deterring guests from smoking in our rooms and leaving an unpleasant odour behind for the next guest. We strongly believe in offering our guests the quality sleep and clean rooms they expect and this helps us to do so.

We do hope to have the chance to host you again so you can see what the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa truly has to offer!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This isn't a fancy hotel but you have everything you need and nothing to complain about. Honestly, that's all I ask. I made food use of the pool (no bathrobes, btw) and forgot my key in the pool area (not sure how I did that!). I was thus locked out of both the pool area and my room. I called and they were up right away, even though there were 50 people in the lobby waiting to check in. The lady was charming and said kind words to the effect that I wasn't the first or the last to do that. On a side note, there is a taxi stand right outside the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlaineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We enjoyed reading your view and thank you for it. We appreciate all guest’s feedback and comments.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the pool thoroughly. It’s great for guests because it allows them to relax during their stay here. We take our customer service seriously and try to respond to guest request in a timely matter. Often people do lose, misplace or forget keys so making new ones is not an issue once we verify that we are giving guests thekeys to the proper room.

There is a 24 hour taxi stand outside the hotel on Dalhousie St. It’s a great added convenience for any guests requiring taxi service.

Once again thank you for your feedback!

- Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were there the week following the labor day weekend. I worked all days and wife enjoyed the stay when I was at work. Very close to Byward Market and Ottawa City Center, ideal for tourists. She was able to walk to many landmark places, all situated around the area. Nights can get bit rough if you walk alone but I joined my wife and we had a great time.

Hotel was nice but they charged extra for breakfast for my wife. We also had to pay for parking, I guess their central location makes them getaway too. We thought both these were very unfair.

The restaurant had little to choose from. We found many great eateries nearby.

The hotel is a bit expensive. My empoloyer paid the bill. I would not pay on my Dollar.

Room Tip: Ask the girl the direction to your room before you leave the chek in desk. Or else you may walk all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PA430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor!

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location does allow for both business and tourist guests to make the best of their time in Ottawa. Whether you are touring the city or are looking for a great place to eat after work; you will find it all within walking distance of the hotel! The Byward Market is a busy area due to all the restaurants, shops, pubs and bars, but still remains safe due to the volume of people around and the Ottawa Police who make sure to keep a presence in the area.

Marriott has several brands which each have a different set of standards and offerings. Unfortunately, breakfast is not included at Courtyard brand hotels; however we do have a Bistro which offers quick and easy, but tasty, meals on-site. There are also many other great restaurants in the area, so feel free to ask us for a recommendation! Our parking is $19/night tax included and is equal or less expensive to other hotels in the area. We also offer unlimited in/out privileges which is something that is not offered by some of the other area hotels. For those who are looking to travel on a moderate budget, there are several ways one can secure a lower rate. You can advance purchase your room, which will offer you savings, or if you are flexible with your travel dates, periods of low occupancy will offer you a lower rate compared to periods of high occupancy. We also offer discounts to AAA/CAA members, Seniors and government employees among others. We’re always glad to help our guest look at options to get the best value from their money.

Again, we’d like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope to see you again soon!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian135
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good for both business and tourism. The hotel is on the (somewhat sketchy) edge of the Byward Market - great location for visiting Parliament, National Arts Centre, and other tourist locations. However, can get rowdy at night. I always felt safe as a woman alone. Nice rooms (top floor - two queen beds, with tons of pillows), and spacious. Excellent desk for working, with lots of plugs for electronics, and free wi-fi. Pool is big for a hotel pool, with a separate toddler pool and small hot tub. 24 hour Dunn's across the street, as well as convenience store, schwarma and pizza joints, 5 minutes to more upscale Byward Market Restaurants, and 5 minutes to the Rideau Centre.

Room Tip: Quietest on top floor - which is fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We’d like to thank you for giving us such great feedback on TripAdvisor!

You’re absolutely right; our hotel is great for those travelling on business or pleasure! Located in the heart of the Byward, we’re within walking distance of the Parliament Buildings, Congress Centre, National Art Gallery, over 100 restaurants and pubs and more! The Byward Market is a very vibrant location, day or night, while still being a safe environment for groups or individuals. For those who may be concerned about noise from the activities going on, we suggest requesting a courtyard facing room.

We’re glad you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. Our rooms were upgraded about a year ago to make them not only stylish and comfortable, but also very functional for those who need to do work in their room. The pool is great area to relax, exercise or have some fun!

We’re glad you had such a good stay with us and we look forward to hosting your next trip to the Nation’s Capital!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing