We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Older hotel but nicely renovated. Super central location for easy walking to sites. Staff was friendly with customers and towards each other. Relaxing lounge areas and pool.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tintin584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to review your last stay at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and that our staff continues to offer a great service to our guests.

We are very proud of our recent renovations and we are happy that you took time to relax in our brand new bistro! The lounge is spacious and is the perfect spot for our guests to come together for a beverage or food.

Again I would like to thank you for your great words. We hope to see you again soon in the nation’s capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 925 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

My Colleague and I stayed at the Courtyard on Monday, 21/11/11. The room was recently redone, clean, spacious and quiet.
The Agent at the guest was quick to make sure we had 2 beds in our room. Excellent service. Really an amazing hotel at a very reasonable price!
For those who don't mind exterior parking, you can opt for the public parking next door and save about 6$.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

The Courtyard Marriott Ottawa team would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your last stay with us! Our team is always excited to get comments from our guests because it allows us to imrpove the service we offer.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and to know that our employees continue to deliver exceptional service. It was a pleasure for us to share your comments with the departments involved in making your stay enjoyable!

Thanks again for your great comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I had stayed at this location before; and I knew that they had undergone a recent renovation so I was looking forward to seeing the improvements. And, I wasn't disappointed! One thing this hotel has always had 'going for it' was its location. Now, it could also boast modern, clean bright rooms as well as a very nice lobby and bar area.
The staff we encountered upon check in and check out were very friendly and efficient.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who expects a comfy stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

We would like to thank you for sharing your great comments with other travellers! Our team is always happy to know that our guests enjoyed their stay and the service they received.

The renovations were completed in april and we are happy that our guests can finally enjoy our newly renovated rooms and common areas. The vibrant location of the hotel and the new modern look makes the Courtyard Marriott a great choice while staying in Ottawa. We are excited to share your comments with the different departements involved in making your stay flawless.

We hope to have the chance to host you again soon in Ottawa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Having stayed at the property many times over the years, I was pleased to see that the hotel has recevied an upgrade. While the much improved furnishings are welcomed, nothing could be done to deal with the size of the actual rooms. For myself this is not an issue as I don't require a lot of space though for anyone with small children this could be an issue.

The location is excellent for anyone wishing to be in the Market area. If you can find an attractive price, this is a good hotel choice. Many, many restaurant and pub options to choose from.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for an inside room facing the courtyard rather than the street. As this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpsrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.

We are very proud of our new look and we are happy you enjoyed your room! The Byward Market is a thriving, bustling community, day or night, from the farmers market to the wonderful variety of restaurants. Requests can be made for our Courtyard view rooms however, these are available on a first come, first serve basis. Our Guest Service Agents always do their best to accommodate such requests.

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I had stayed at the Courtyard some years ago and it was showing it's age. I knew they had been renovating so this was my first stay following this and I was not disappointed.

The new lobby area and lounge looks good, the front desk is rather small but the new lounge area is very nice looking with a TV, fireplace and more room to sit and relax with friends with a drink. Beyond that the rooms were also renovated and looks very nice- the one downside however is that my bathroom was not renovated, only the room. And the hallway/elevator also did not seem to have been renovated. It doesn't really change anything but instead of having a hotel that feel brand spanking new- you have a hotel that feels divided with new looking sleeping areas but old looking bathrooms/hallways. For amenities, I am unaware if parking or internet are free but I know breakfast costs 15$ for the buffet.

If you are staying here, try to get a room with an EVEN number, I believe those are all the inside rooms in the courtyard- the odd numbered rooms can mean you are next to the street and it's a loud busy area depending on the time of year.

Location wise, can't be beat, you are in the Byward market so have tons of restaurants/bars and attractions within a short walk. The city is very clean, feels very safe and is a great place to visit.


That said, you can't go wrong staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside the courtyard (even numbered rooms)- it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.

Our hotel did undergo a major renovation last year. Our priority was to update the rooms and common area first. Be assured that the hallways will also be updated in the near futur. The hotel does offer free internet and the parking fee is 19$ from sunday to thursday and 15$ for fridays and saturdays. Unfortunately, the Courtyard Marriott Hotel's do not offer buffet breakfast anymore, but our new Bistro concept will fufill all your breakfast needs!

The Byward Market is a thriving, bustling community, day or night, from the farmers market to the wonderful variety of restaurants. Requests can be made for our Courtyard view rooms however, these are available on a first come, first serve basis. Our Guest Service Agents always do their best to accommodate such requests.

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

we impressed the Californians.. desk help was great, as was the breakfast server. our rooms were comfortable, quiet and included a free 9museum pass. A great deal and very comfortable. Our best meal was at Play..... Very yummy and fun....

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcmullens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Ottawa area and that the service you received was up to your standards! Your comments are a great example of the customer service our staff works hard to provide our guests on a daily basis.

The Byward Market is a thriving, bustling community where tourists have the opportunity to buy local produce from farmers or dine in one of the many restaurants. We are glad you tried Play and enjoyed it!

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Last time I reviewed them they were under renovations. Looks like they are now done. I guess they are doing some touch ups. Either way, wonderful service. Super friendly. Great walking distance to basically anything in Ottawa. Government, restaurants, museums.

All the rooms are updated and moderm. Would stay again definately.

Last time I stayed I noted there was an issue with the internet and that even my employees were having issues on different dates and such. The internet appears stable as of my last stay. Perhaps they upgraded their system during the renovation.

Just wanted to make sure I gave the property it's due credit. Regardless of that, they have always been super nice and great to deal with.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,123 reviews
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#10 of 68 in Ottawa
2,191 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $127 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a superb location in the heart of the city centre at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown. Our exceptional hotel in Ottawa, Canada's ByWard Market District is within walking distance of popular restaurants, shops, downtown businesses and Parliament Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing