We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service lags behind other Canadian Fairmonts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
431 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Service lags behind other Canadian Fairmonts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. As far as we can see, the hotel wasn't that busy. In fact, the Gold Floor seemed to be unoccupied for two of those nights, as evidenced by the shut down of the Gold Floor Lounge.

Compared to Victoria Empress, Vancouver Fairmont Airport, Calgary Palliser, Banff Springs, and Chateau Lake Louise, this hotel appeared understaffed. To begin with, the front entrance had no bellmen, and we had to carry our heavy luggage through heavy revolving doors ( the front door had a sign saying " use revolving doors") which has a small window of time to exit before the door slams on your behind. Check in clerk did not have the poise and efficiency of those that we recently encountered at Banff and Lake Louise .

As Fairmont President's Club member, we were given a renovated room which has lived up to our expectation. It is very roomy compared with the Fairmont rooms at others we have stayed, with the exception of Vancouver Airport. The furniture, bathroom were all nicely done in the old world theme. The only flaw is the small old TV , which must be an oversight as it did not get replaced by an LCD like the other Fairmonts. Hallways and elevator area all very grand, as is the lobby area. Oh, there's another design flaw: the coffee maker is just a tad too tall, one has to push down on it to slide the tray back into place. I was disappointed with housekeeping in that they forgot to replenish my tea on Days 2 and 3. Despite asking them on day 2, they still managed to forget again on day3. Another sign of carelessness was the inconsistent number of small towels. Usually at Fairmont we get three, but here one day it's three, the other days two.

This is a nice hotel, once all the rooms are renovated ( we look out into scaffolding during our stay ) I am happy with my stay, but need to point out areas that can be improved.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    756
    343
    155
    91
See reviews for
592
942
109
699
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

We returned to the Chateau after a disapointing stay in 2008 and I'm happy to say things have improved. The hotel looked better maintained and although it was an unusually busy Monday night, after a long holiday season, the staff were great. We had dinner at Wilfreds where the food and service were excellent and a romantic view of the Christmas lights outside to match. When we mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary, the bartender at Zoes brought us a plate of celebatory truffles. It was a visit that we will remember for all good reasons.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsIfOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

I recently stayed at Chateau Laurier with my husband who was on business; the room was prebooked, so I cannot comment on value for price. However, our room on the 3rd floor was adequate. The bedding and towels were spotless, carpet and bathroom floor seemed clean, and although the overall size of the room and bathroom was somewhat compact, it was enough for the time we spent there. After check out, we left bags for several hours, and while I waited for the last hour in the lobby while my husband attended a final meeting, there was certainly plenty of comfortable sitting space. Although we personally would not have chosen this hotel, it was not disappointing; it is a grand old spot, and offers a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piratepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

My wife and I with our young toddler were looking forward to the start to our week vacation at the Chateau Laurier in Ottawa. But upon our 1am arrival the front desk staff told us we had no reservation. Half an hour later I was told that I had a 2 night reservation for the previous night forward. I could get a room that night but not for the following evening; that I was being charged a no show and better start looking for a new hotel. I hoped to access my e-mail online to look at the reservation form but was told that I would be charged $15 for online access - if you can believe it. Then I was rudely told I better start looking for another hotel for the next night as there was no way I was getting a room. Turned out my reso was correct after all! Onwards management and general management service was dismissive and / or non-existent.

But on a positive note...
Maids were super nice and gave us a full 5 stars service!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dc40traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

nothing special, decor is very elegant in the common areas but that's it. close to everything but so are the other hotels in Ottawa. would have rather stayed at a more modern boutique hotel. service wasn't anything spectacular, as I would have expected, got better and more personal service at the Hampton inn in new york. the breakfast buffet wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEYLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Full disclosure - I had my wedding in the Chateau Laurier earlier this year and so I may have an unfair bias in rating this hotell! For those of you who are considering getting married here, I will say that they did an excellent job with the wedding and I really can't say enough good things about the staff and the job that they did overall.

The Chateau is the most historic of Ottawa hotels and it excludes a charm and ambience from a bygone era. It is a bit old, there are rumors of it being haunted, and there are some spots that could use some renovation, but for me this very much adds to the character of the place. This place represents old world charm - there is good and bad that comes with it (don't stay here if you prefer a modern accommodations), but for me, I love its grandeur and ambition.

Most importantly, the restaurant associated with the Chateau - Wilfred's - is one of my favorites in the city. As someone who now resides in New York City and who has been lucky enough to have had meals from all over the world, I can say that Wilfred's would stand out as a great restaurant anywhere.

Admittedly, if I don't come to Ottawa with a business expense account and/or my wife doesn't travel with me, I would probably choose to stay at one of the many excellent suites hotels that Ottawa has to offer - but for a romantic getaway (or when work is footing the bill), the Chateau Laurier will always be my first choice.




As a former Ottawa resident, I've recently been travelling back to Ottawa on business (and occasionally to see friends/attend weddings) and have been staying at many of the hotels downtown.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

My room was old and dirty. I had to keep my shoes on b/c the carpet looked very dirty. The room itself looked over used and very old. The TV was so old and small that I don't think you could give it away for free. The cost is high and frankly it is not measuring up with todays standard of what is needed for the modern traveler and their needs. The room had an odor that I couldn't figure out.

The parking is awful and very dark, the stairwell to get into the hotel is all cracked and you have to watch our or you will trip with dress shoes on. You would hardly see any staff around the lobby, security wise it is not that safe, anyone can waltz in and roam around the halls of the hotel, no one will stop you.

I am not impressed and will not book a room there for myself or any of my colleagues in the future. I will let my work place know not to put up females in this hotel, there is very little physical security noticed and going to the parking lot was scary.

This hotel must have been something in its day but today it is a tired run down building with hunted memories of the past.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concerncustomer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Property: Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing