We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not what we expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had heard so much about this hotel, however, it was not quite what we expected. Of course, we do realize that the hotel was originally built in 1917, and that in and of itself is a huge part of the allure, and the lobby areas and main areas of the hotel were just absolutely stunning, however, our room was not as updated as one would expect for such a landmark hotel. Although our view was just gorgeous overlooking the canal and the parliament buildings and we were just a short walking distance from the market area, we found the room a little run down for the money we paid. Nevertheless, still a beautiful hotel, however we would probably not choose to stay there again. Also, for the money we were paying, we thought we would have had free WIFI, but sadly, that was not the case.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good view, because the hotel is so centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your comments.

We encourage you to consider joining our President’s Club. Membership is free and provides a host of benefits, including
complimentary Wi-Fi.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,711 of 3,122 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I were having our 24th Wedding Anniversary and I must say that we were not at all impressed with our accommodations!! It was a complete disappointment!! Also...the bed was not comfortable which just made the experience worse!! The location is what you are paying for....believe me!!! Also the historical element was there but I felt like we were reliving it with the decor and comfort level. PLUS we did not have a view of anything but the other side of the Chateau!! We will not be going again especially not for our 25th!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank onceayearOttawa_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Jane,

I regret that certain aspects of your stay in our Castle have been disappointing to you; please rest assured your experiences are certainly not typical of the high level of service we strive to provide to all of our guests.

I invite you to contact me at 613-241-1414, so that we may discuss the challenges you encountered during the course of your visit.

I should also mention that we are embarking on the 2nd phase of our guestroom renovations. We do hope you will return to visit us again as we are confident that you will be impressed with the improvements.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Let me begin this by saying that the only other reviews I have posted have been positive reviews to negate the bad reviews that some other over-critical patrons leave.

We stayed at the Chateau Laurier over the August long weekend. We arrived a bit early and went to check in and were told that our room wasn't ready - no problem, it was us who were early! They took down our phone number, put a rush on our room and we were told that we would be called once the room was ready. We went over to the Rideau Centre to do some shopping while we waited and around 2:45, headed back to the hotel seeing as check in was 3:00. We relaxed in the lobby for a bit until 3:00 and never received a call to let us know the room was ready. About 3:10, we went back to the desk to inquire about our room. The woman at the front desk informed us it wasn't ready and that check in was 3:00. At this point it was past 3:00, our room should have been ready. We had made dinner reservations based on our check in time and told her as much. She offered us keys to the health club to get ready. We firmly stated that we would like our room. She then continued to argue with us that check in wasn't until 3:00 so our room was not ready. She also told us it was a busy weekend due to a couple of weddings and it being a long weekend - while I understand these events were happening, you were aware of them and the hotel should have been staffed accordingly. We were aware of the check in time and by this time, it was 20 minutes past that! We ended up having to take another room which was on a lower floor (which was not the preference as stated in our president's club preferences).. We finally got to our room about 3:30 and had to immediately rush to get ready to make our reservation in the Market. Upon returning after dinner, we went to use the fridge in the room to cool some beverages we had picked up while out and found that we were not able to use the fridge due to the fact that they were currently in the process of switching them over to mini bars. A minor inconvenience, but still annoying. Seeing as the fridge was not usable, we went to go get ice from the machine and found it to be broken. Again, not a huge deal, but annoying as they was not even a sign advising people of this. Also, be wary of the room bottled water - open one of those guys and it'll cost you a steep $9.00! We were able to get free Wi-Fi as we are President's Club members, but other than that, you are going to pay a fee for it (which at this point in our tech savvy world, it should be freely offered, especially by a hotel of this calibre).

We both found the room to be an average hotel room, granted that the rest of the hotel was beautiful. The hotel is in a great location to walk around downtown Ottawa and see things such as Parliament and Sparks Street, however, if I were to visit again (we go to Ottawa quite often as we are from the surrounding area), I believe I would be staying at another central hotel where I didn't feel like I was only paying for the name and not the service. We have stayed at other hotels which are in the area and close in comparison, and would much rather stay there again (for reference, we stayed at this other hotel during Winterlude when it was also very busy and found them to be incredibly competent and on top of things despite the busy weekend).

I would however, like to offer a shout out to the valet Gordon. He was incredibly friendly and helpful and even offered some tips on what to visit in the area on that particular weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Macdone,

We regret that your stay with us was disappointing and assure you that your experience is certainly not typical of the high level of standard that we strive to provide to all of our guests. We hope we have the opportunity to show you true Fairmont hospitality in the future.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently stayed here for two nights on our trip to Canada. It is a magnificent building and a very comfortable place to stay. Ottawa is a lovely city and we enjoyed our brief stay there.
The hotel had everything we needed including free in room internet access (for President's club members) very comfortable beds/pillows, clean rooms, very friendly/helpful staff and a wonderful atmosphere. The history behind all of the Fairmont hotels in Canada is fascinating and well documented. The decor is just beautiful.
We dined in the Wilfred Restaurant with the rest of out tour group and received excellent service from all of the staff who all seem to enjoy working there.
Breakfasts were buffet style and very good as well.
Our overall experience was one that we won't forget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveg050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Steveg050,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fairmont Château Laurier. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our food and beverage team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed for one night with 2 yorkshires. It was simpler than I thought to bring the dogs in. Its $25 per dog. the room was fine but needed a little caulk in the shower, it was tired; the carpet was crapy but I understand that if its reserved for travelers with dogs then its ok. At this price a night though I would have prefer a nice room on ceramic! We had room service and again at the price and at a Fairmont I was expecting better, I saw nicer room service meals elsewhere. Its very nicely located. It is a few feet walking to a nice neighborhood with lots of restaurants and terraces. Its close to Rideau Mall. Easy not free self park you bring your coupon to the front desk and you get a pass to get in and out as you wish, very convenient. You can get a free complementary coffee in the morning at the restaurant downstairs. Walking distance to the bike-walking path along the water with a nice view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Nancy,

We are indeed fortunate to have the premier location in the heart of the city. Thank you for sharing your comment with others.
we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your 2 yorkshires back to Ottawa and Fairmont Château Laurier in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Wow live like royalty family
It was a quick stay with no regrets. The decor it's so rich and authentic. My son was treated like a little prince. The location nearby everything and the view speechless. I do recommend this hotel and for sure I will be back.
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Martine,

It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed your visit to our Nation’s Capital!

We strive to turn moments into memories for our guests and it is always with great pleasure when we hear we have been successful. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ottawa and Fairmont Château Laurier in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My 4th time to Ottawa and my 4th time at this hotel. Staff very friendly, grounds impeccable, and close to everything you would want. Downtown, Parliament Building, markets, museums. Hotel restaurants were adequate but great compared to anything else I have found in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Antonio,

We are delighted that your stay with us was a memorable one.

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
417 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#10 of 68 in Ottawa
2,191 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#11 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $182 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing