We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some hiccups, but overall really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Overall, the vast majority of staff I interacted with were excellent. Committed to customer service and genuinely caring. The check-in person was "meh" and seems to have missed the notes that the reservation agent entered. However, after giving feedback to the hotel, I had immediate and attentive service, and a commitment by the hotel to follow up on any issues.

ROOM

Good – large, looks like decently new furniture – I assumed I got a renovated room and was pleased after so many bad reviews on tripadvisor and also personally from colleagues who have stayed here. Keurig coffee maker in room very nice touch. (had some issues with working it, but they are dealing with that.) Bathroom: (there were two in this deluxe room) it appeared the fittings were all new, but the grout and other finishes looked to be not updated. Another ick, but not a cleaning issue; a renovation issue. There was also a chip in the coffee table veneer that I saw as soon as I came in – it’s pretty glaring.

Cleaning – mostly really good. A couple things that happen in many hotels (though not 4 star)

Noise – Overall it was great/quiet and I'd asked for a quiet room. There was one conversation that I heard in detail, like the person was in bed with me. I’ve stayed in some hotels with thin walls but this was ridiculous.

They also gave cherry candies for being here with a group at a meeting – I’ve had them before from a hotel in Toronto and they are delicious.

Summary – beautiful, inspiring, relaxing hotel to stay in with some hiccups but were immediately addressed. =

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank annniagara_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

It was a pleasure speaking with you about your stay yesterday.

We truly appreciate your feedback and you are correct we have taken special note of your suggestions.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other on Trip Advisory.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Deneen Perrin
Director, Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,991)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Laurier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,790 - 1,796 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We loved our 3 night stay at Fairmont. Everything was A+ except parking charges. We felt valet parking at $36+/day was forced as we could do $26+/day with self parking. Location of the hotel was the best in Ottawa.The deluxe room was spacious enough and had direct Canadian Parliament view. Wilfried restaurant was very good cuisine and service wise. The hotel was well maintained and the staff was very friendly. Concierge was impeccable and front desk was always happy to help in showing around. Salted water pool was the one we want to revisit on our next stay at Fairmont.

On internet: it is paid service, however, if you apply for Fairmont membership, it becomes free on your first stay. We are also planning on staying at Mont-Tremblant, QC Fairmont hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bravissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

I was delighted to hear that we made the grade for your recent stay with us here at Fairmont Chateau Laurier.

If you have never been to our Fairmont Tremblant property, rest assured you will be equally pleased.

Thank you for your time in posting your comments regarding your stay with us.

Your truly,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at this property many times we love everything about it!!! Always stay at the Fairmont Gold level and at the executive suite is beautiful. The lounge for the Gold members is great there is breakfast,afternoon snacks and drinks and the staff is very friendly, you are treated like royalty. We have tried the corner suite but didn't like the decor as it was a bit on the older side but the suite was very spacious, however we prefer the executive suite it's got more of a modern touch to it. We highly recommend this hotel and we will keep going back there time after time, it's in a very convenient location, also if you are looking for a great place to eat try 18 Restaurant it's truly exceptional especially the Black Cod it's amazing!!!

Room Tip: Book at the Gold level and pay the extra for the executive suite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoy your time at the Fairmont Château Laurier time and time again. I will be sure to share your comments with our Fairmont Gold Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We enjoyed Thanksgiving weekend at the Chateau Laurier. The room was comfortable, the restaurant superb, and service just wonderful. We enjoyed the proximity to the National Gallery, Parliament, and the many pubs nearby. The piano music in the lounge made the evening special.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a double size room. It was extremely comfortable with a great view of Parliament.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTomPhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Dr. Phelan,

Thank you so much for your comments and great tips for guests.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with others.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A beautiful historic hotel that is well maintained and has great service. A lot of the time it can be expensive but we just stayed for a long weekend there during the popular Winterlude festival and we were able to get a rate that was just as cheap as any Days Inn or Holiday Inn. What a different experience?

The hotel is close to everything for us. Along the Rideau Canal, near the Parliament buildings, a few minute walk from the great Byward Market. A block away from a shopping mall and pedestrian street.

All this convenience and a staff that is always there to serve you. Also they have a pretty great fitness centre and pool.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joejw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind post on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we were on family day weekend and wanted to spoil our family by staying at this awesome looking and great location hotel. Staff were great our entire visit. Very helpful. all the common areas in the hotel were spotless. once we got in our room and it had a musty smell, we a bit disappointed. It is a 100 year old building so we overlooked that. we had to retreive something that fell behind the nightstand and that is where we saw a large amount of dust all around the old outdated carpets. the cleaners must not have vacuumed the floor against that wall for years. it was terrible. We love Ottawa and will be visiting again but may try another one of the great location hotels instead of this one next time. there are many to choose from

Room Tip: double beds are short for a normal 6 foot tall person. make sure you get a Queen
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments.

We have very stringent housekeeping policies, so I was concerned to read about your comment regarding dust behind the nightstand. Rest assured, I have brought this to the attention of our Director of Housekeeping and we will be looking into this further.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Once again thank you for your time.

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was so impressed with the entire Fairmont "experience"!! Right from honouring our special requests for an early check in, having very courteous staff at the front desk, restaurant and every where in between. Our room was fabulous!! It was spacious, grand and the view of Parliament was stunning! My only real comment to Fairmont that they may want to consider is not charging for internet service or use of the Business Centre. It seemed a bit trivial in the overall cost and not really in keeping with todays market. Just a suggestion.

Room Tip: Room 212 had a fantastic view of Parliament. It was however a bit of a hike from the elevators
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Joan,

I am always delighted to read such glowing reviews of our castle.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your time.

Sincerely

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $201 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing