We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I went to the Chateau for Brunch with friends this year. Wilfrids is the dining room that is wonderful, and where we wanted to eat, but due to great demand the ballroom was opened as an extension to this. We decided to opt for that, and must compliment the hotel on an excellent meal, presentation and service. It was not inexpensive, so the expectations were high! Being in a large room did not take anything away from the experience, and the buffet was set up in an adjoining room so the display was easy to see and access. Every member of staff was smiling and helpful; makes a difference!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacealways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    778
    352
    161
    99
See reviews for
611
979
113
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a trip to Mexico had to head straight to Ottawa for work. Saving grace was that i was booked at Fairmont Chateau Laurier. Arrived at 9:30 pm headed up to Gold Floor and check in was a snap as always. Room ready, preferences on file, and a welcome back. Small gift in room as a President Club Member which is free to join as well as my gym gear ready and waiting for me. The small things like free wifi, complimentary water by the bed, great breakfast in the lounge, comfy beds and nice bath products make this my home away form home. Best value for dollar and choice out there!

Room Tip: spend the extra for the Gold Floor- the free wifi, breakfast and evening snakcs all off set the cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I feel a real sense of pride staying at this hotel. Almost 100 years old Chateau Laurier is argueably Canada's most famous hotel and for good reason. For one it is the first, before Frontenac, Royal York, Lake Louise. The location is second to none, parliament hill to the left, war memorial across the street, byward market to the right and major's hill park to the back as well as almost every other Ottawa attraction within walking distance. The hotel itself resembles a grand castle and is gorgeous on the outside. The inside in the lobby and the halls are just as beautiful. The decor was imported from France. The driving force behind the hotel Charles Hayes actually went down with and drowned in the titanic sinking bringing supplies to the hotel. The clock behind the lobby was brought from the titanic. Our meals were mostly positive as well. For lunch we ate at Wilfred's. You expect the best burgers to be from sports bars, but one of the best I ever had was the Chateau Burger served here. We also enjoyed the room service, they brought a portable table with a nice table cloth, flowers, water and buns and serviettes as no charge extras. The only bad experience we had at the hotel was at Zoe's Lounge for a light dinner. The waiter was unattentive and boarder line rude. The meal took I'd say 30-45 minutes to be served, waiter made no apologies, never checked once to see how our meal was or if we needed refills. I would overlook all of this if the food was worth it, but both of my plates were cold, and besides the cheese my wife said it was the worst french onion soup she's had. Forgetting that one glitch, Laurier also saved grace for us, boosting our battery in 5 minutes the morning of check out. Everyone should check out this true Canadian historic hotel, and be proud it's ours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend an evening downtown without haveing to travel back to the burbs. Once again my choice of the Chateau Laurier was great. It is my hotel of choice in Ottawa. We had a very comfortable room and the price for the room was very reasonable considering the cost of the other hotels around that area. We would go back again in a heartbeat. The breakfast was great at Wilfred's as well. Great selection and price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I very much enjoyed the grandeur of this classic hotel. Very convenient for the business traveler. Easy walk to everything.My room was spacious and well appointed. Restaurant and bar staff were attentive. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite large and some rooms are quite far from the elevator so if you've got any mob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmWoods1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of everything. Professional staff, clean large rooms and historically very familiar feel as we have stayed in the Fairmont Hotels before. Rooms could be updated in the sense the wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the bathroom, caulking should be touched up. Other than that all good for us. We had a large room, king bed that was extremely comfortable too. Our room would not cool down, but that could have been occupant user issue.

Can be a bit loud if you have loud neighours with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room with King
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A day, a lunch, a superb dinner for two, a walk around Parliament Hill, a few steps to the market for a tipple, and a wonderful night's sleep just start to explain the experience of Ottawa's famed Chateau Laurier. An absolute pleasure every visit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
196 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,055 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Property: Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing