We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - bad Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pros: Great room, nice kitchen, great location, clean, personnel very courteous in general.

Cons: super bad internet wifi, hot tub and pool not so clean, no restaurant to offer continental or regular breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your valuable comment. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the services provided by the staff and we thank you for your feedback. We are looking into our wireless service and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Ottawa,

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 806 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

A perfect location at an affordable price for central Ottawa. The suites are a great opportunity to relax and enjoy the space if you have been staying hotels throughout Canada. Eateries abound close by or you can cook a meal in your unit. Clean and friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank farpavilions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites and friendly service,as well as our location.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had a great 3 night stay here with my boyfriend. It was right downtown about a 7 minute walk to Parliment Hill. There were lots of nice resturants and all-night diners right next door. We had a balcony and apart from some of the construction noise, it was generally quiet.

My boyfriend loved the indoor swimming pool and sauna in the hotel and I loved that our room was ready hours before check-in and we didn't get charged any additional fees!

Room Tip: Because this was a suite and to cut down on the amount of eatting out, buy some food and eat in. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph86121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, as well as our swimming pool and sauna.
We are also happy to hear that we were able to accomadate your early check-in request.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

As two couples staying for the weekend, we had thought that the two bedroom suite would be a good solution for us....the location in downtown Ottawa is really great, right next to the Elgin street evening scene, a short walk to the Parliament, and the Museum, and the Market (let's say, sort of short walk)...There is a Living Room, Small but useful kitchen, one bathroom to share, plenty of towels to go around. Bedrooms contain a queen bed in one, and two twins in the other. Furnishings are not spectacular but perfectly acceptable....And on a short stay such as ours there was a bit ot housekeeping cleanup......Our suite looked out the rear of the property so it was nice and quiet.....And, the staff was really quite helpful and friendly....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmigoBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great price. Clean, comfortable, spacious. Suites allow you to cook your own food, work, entertain guests. Price is very reasonable. Friendly, helpful staff. I've stayed there on several occasions and have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Older hotel in downtown Ottawa. It feels very much like an apartment building that was converted into a hotel. My "single room" consisted of a living room with kitchen, two bedrooms, and a separate bath room. The rooms are quite clean but the furniture, fixtures etc are quite simple, not to say cheap, and rather worn looking. I do think that for families this hotel is a very good choice, because of the roominess and kitchen facilities. And certainly, it's clean and functional. The desk staff is friendly and helpful. The attached restaurant is inexpensive but not terribly nice. This hotel is an ok choice for families on a budget, doesn't really cut it as a business class hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzwanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The front desk staff were friendly and efficient and gave us a sense of welcome including the family pet. Many hotels that advertize themselves as pet friendly are less than so it was awelcome change.

Room Tip: the two bedroom units are a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muddled50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,506 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#13 of 68 in Ottawa
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartier Place Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartier Place Suite Hotel

Address: 180 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2L5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#29 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $89 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartier Place Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Cartier Place Suite Hotel was honoured with the 2016 Service Excellence Award from major online travel websites. The hotel has also a 3 Green Key eco-rating. Proud to be family owned and operated, the hotel is a short walk to Parliament Hill, the Ottawa Convention Center, the ByWard Market and City Hall. You will find our pet friendly accommodations in a quiet downtown neighborhood, located one block from the historic Rideau Canal and the trendy boutique area of Elgin Street. Always a favorite among families and business travelers alike; the hotel offers 250 spacious one and two bedroom suites, including VIP suites with Jacuzzi, Business Suites and Penthouse Hospitality Suite with a roof top patio and beautiful city views. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms, combined living/dining area with a private balcony. Deluxe meeting and banquet facilities feature floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook our gardens. Guests may also enjoy the games room, children's playroom and the only downtown hotel with a private outdoor garden patio complete with playground and shuffleboard court. The indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, exercise room and the friendly atmosphere all contribute to a memorable stay. Whatever the reasons for your stay, there's flexibility and a willingness to meet your needs at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. Whoever you are and wherever you come from, as soon as you step in the door, you will know you are welcome. Suite dreams await you... here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cartier Place Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Place Hotel Ottawa
Cartier Place Suite Ottawa
Hotel Cartier Place Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing