We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean but dated”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through hotels.com. We stayed from sunday june 30th until thursday july 4th. When first driving up, the hotel isnt anything to be desired. It looks more like a high rise apartment in a sketchy part of Ottawa more than anything else. Walking in though, the lobby is clean and bright. The staff greet you. There are 2 elevators and a separate one for the pool area. Our room reminded us of a 1 bedroom apartment. The view isnt anything to be desired, if you want to sit out on your balcony. The room is clean and had the amenities needed. The room could be updated, the wallpaper and carpet age it. The hotel is certainly designed for those who are in Ottawa for long stays. The hotel is quiet which was nice--we certainly didnt hear anything once we got back in Canada Day night. The rooms have air conditioning.

What we didnt like was trying to use the pool and hot tub, with all the children screaming. The adult only swimming hours are at a rather inconvenient time--6-7pm at night. As this is the time most people are out to dinner or dealing with their kids. It would have been nice to have the pool open later than 10pm--since its unsupervised, i wouldnt think it matter. There were a couple nights after walking around all day, it would have been nice to have the option to soak.
The hotel restaurant is not open on sundays. They were open for breakfast, although the menus in the rooms dont tell you that. We found out in an advertisement in the elevator on the way to the pool. The breakfast wasnt anything special and average price as everywhere else,but the service was good.
The hotel is borderline sketchy part of Ottawa. However a 10 minute walk and you are in the tourist district. You can walk to the Musuem of Nature,good places to eat and of course Parliment Hill.

The parking is horrible. It's also 23 dollars a night.When driving up, you are advised to go around the block, once you have the tag and then go around back to the parking garage. There are 2 options "T" and "P". If you dont turn right as soon as you get in, you are lead into the "T" section, where you have been told your tag wont be recongnized. We drive a small car, and good thing too, because anyone trying to find a parking spot down there--good luck with a bigger vechicle. The lower you go, the more narrow it becomes. There are no signs telling you how to get back out, and you must drive slow and with great caution up and down the ramps. It appears to be safe though, as we didnt use our car for the entire 4 days we were there, and everything was how we left it.

It was nice for the price and i certainly wouldnt rule out staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magical_thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    325
    113
    47
    25
See reviews for
283
143
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past ten years; the most recent visit being over Canada Day weekend. As always, I appreciate the ideal location, being able to cook or do takeout, and the balcony. Although it was busy, the halls were quiet .It is not inexpensive, but I was willing to pay for its proximity to literally everything on my list. Yes, it needs a bit of an update, but overall I was well satisfied. The area I found lacking was front desk reception. This is a serious weak link, in my opinion. Only one staff member, Julia, actually made eye contact and greeted me - the hotel mission statement mentions "enthusiastic" and "friendly" - that needs to be stressed, as that did not come across to me. With a small lobby and the elevators right there, it would be nice to be welcomed as "guests" - small gestures go a long way.When I requested directions, an umbrella, a newspaper - the responses were consistently curt and hohum. Apart from that, it was a positive experience and I hope to stay there again; hopefully there will be that improvement and that would give it an extra star from me. Tip: Fettucine's around the corner on Elgin Street has delicious Italian takeout, including tiramisu - dinner for two under $20.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize that you were not satisfied with our Front Desk staff. We will retrain Front Desk clerks as the service you received was not up to our standards. We hope that you will return again to receive the service that you deserve.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
551 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The location is great. It is smacked in the middle of restaurants and a few stores.

The hotel itself is old, non renovated and gosh I'm out of words to describe. It is not pristine cleaned but it is fairly cleaned. This hotel doesn't even provide card keys but actual hard keys. The decord is from 80'.

They do have a small pool, kid area and patio. Also the rooms have a kitchenette with full size fridge, microwave and sink. Also a balcony which was nice, so thank you.

This the rooms were renovated with modern amenities this could be a great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's close proximity to the City's main attractions. You will be happy to hear that we are undergoing renovations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the walk-out balcony throughout your stay with us.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location for touring downtown Ottawa. Cost is reasonable, but parking is additional. Great places to eat within walking distance, if you don't want to cook in your full kitchen. Grocery store nearby if you want to take advantage of your fridge and stove.
Check in and out goes smoothly, but you may get stuck in the driveway since there is just room for one way traffic, so you'll have to wait for cars in front of you to move first. Not a big deal if people are courteous and just unload and park their cars rather than bringing their luggage up to their room first.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be ideally located for touring downtown Ottawa.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've stayed a long time at this place. For more than six months back in 2010 and recently for just a couple of days. As always the rooms are quite large, we got a two bedroom apartment for 100 CAD a night. The staff is nice and everybody are helpful. Rooms are clean and has a small kitchen equipped with all the necessary utensils, pots, pans and a dishwasher. The AC works fine so the room temperature is nice and cool in the summer.
They have a fitness room, a pool, and a patio with a small playground for the kids. Come Wednesdays they bring out the grill for the guests to use freely to barbecue.
Hotel is located just off Elgin st with a lot of nice restaurants and it's a 10 min walk to Rideau Centre and 10 minutes the other way to Museum of Nature. The only bad thing is the fact that they charge $20 for the indoor parking.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a family, get a room on the south side facing the patio and playground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. It is great to hear that this is your second stay with us. We are happy to hear that the Two Bedroom Suite met all of your families' needs. We love families, and it is great to hear that yours enjoyed the outdoor patio and playground.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been checking out hotel accommodations that include kitchens in Ottawa and have come upon one that gets decent marks: the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. Located centrally - Cooper Street - in the heart of the downtown, the suites are large and include a living room with workspace, dining area, well-stocked kitchen and bedroom. While the decor is on the tired side, the place is clean and comfortable. The bed was slightly uncomfortable (soft and older) and could use a mattress upgrade. Our room had a small balcony and the air conditioning worked well, though a tad on the noisy side. For $115 -- including taxes -- you can't go wrong. The Mayflower Restaurant is two doors down and offers great breakfasts and there are many, many other eating establishments along Elgin Street - only a block away. Tip: for parking (overnight, too!), use Ottawa's City Hall. It's only a couple of blocks away and is very inexpensive compared to the rate they charge at the hotel. I parked at City Hall for $12 for two nights, vs. $20+ at the hotel. Again, not a fancy establishment but a solid and clean accommodation if you want lots of space and the opportunity to cook some of your own meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanwOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are happy to hear that you found our accommodations to be clean and comfortable. It is great that you were able to utilize the spaciousness of our suites, including the fully equipped kitchen.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our room rate was $111 plus tax.
It was a suite with lots of space. A kitchenette fully stocked with necessary dishes, utensils, pots pans, full size refrigerator, microwave. Living room had a flat screen TV. Bedroom was quiet and insulated from other rooms. Bath was modern.
Wifi is free, as are local calls.
They have a pool and sauna.
Location was ideal. It is downtown with very good public transportation at its doorstep. Major shopping district is within walking distance.
Dozens of restaurants, both upscale and fast food are aligned along the street next to the hotel. Best restaurant was Elgin Street Diner.
Room was prepared and cleaned daily without flaw.
This hotel deserves the highest ratings available. Although it was just my wife and I staying there, it would be an ideal opportunity for a family stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the privacy of the separate bedroom and the fully equipped kitchen in your suite. It is great that you enjoyed our location.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
0.8 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartier Place Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartier Place Suite Hotel

Property: Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Address: 180 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2L5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#29 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartier Place Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Cartier Place Suite Hotel was honoured with the 2016 Service Excellence Award from major online travel websites. The hotel has also a 3 Green Key eco-rating. Proud to be family owned and operated, the hotel is a short walk to Parliament Hill, the Ottawa Convention Center, the ByWard Market and City Hall. You will find our pet friendly accommodations in a quiet downtown neighborhood, located one block from the historic Rideau Canal and the trendy boutique area of Elgin Street. Always a favorite among families and business travelers alike; the hotel offers 250 spacious one and two bedroom suites, including VIP suites with Jacuzzi, Business Suites and Penthouse Hospitality Suite with a roof top patio and beautiful city views. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms, combined living/dining area with a private balcony. Deluxe meeting and banquet facilities feature floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook our gardens. Guests may also enjoy the games room, children's playroom and the only downtown hotel with a private outdoor garden patio complete with playground and shuffleboard court. The indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, exercise room and the friendly atmosphere all contribute to a memorable stay. Whatever the reasons for your stay, there's flexibility and a willingness to meet your needs at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. Whoever you are and wherever you come from, as soon as you step in the door, you will know you are welcome. Suite dreams await you... here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cartier Place Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Place Hotel Ottawa
Cartier Place Suite Ottawa
Hotel Cartier Place Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing