We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveler rating
243
356
135
56
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
356
135
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenseparate bedroomparliament hillwithin walking distanceunderground parkingrideau canalelgin stbyward marketdowntown ottawabit datedown mealslocation is excellentindoor poolhot tubminute walknational arts centresmall kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 817 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Got 2 bed apartment for grandparents, parents and a baby. Easy walking distance to the Winterlude events, it was a very cold weekend so it was a bonus to be able to go back tot he hotel and warm up/ rest before heading out again. Several good restaurants near by. Free parking on street at weekends, the parking onsite was around $21 a night, but end of the road there was a parking lot for around $10. Condition was good, kitchen was basic and really for simple meals only. Some previous negative comments about service/condition of apartment, we thought it was all very good for a driving weekend family holiday. Only negative was the swimming pool was a bit dirty and one of the elevators was not working so checkout time was very busy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anotherjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Our hotel is kid friendly; therefore, we are happy to hear that the Two Bedroom Suite was able to accommodate you and your family during your stay with us. We apologize that one of our elevators was out of service during this time. We are happy to announce that our elevator has since been fully renovated.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at the Cartier Place, really enjoyed our stay! The suite was large enough got the 5 of us,2 adults and 3 teens - although a bit dated it was very clean. Having a full kitchen was a bonus, 2 of our kids have food allergies, so being able to to prepare all meals in our room was nice. First time we've stayed within walking distance of downtown and made the most of it, we were there during Winterlude, so lots to see and do. The parking is expensive for sure, but finding street parking in the area is very difficult, the underground has very steep ramps which bottomed out our van and very low ceilings, you will not get in there with any kind of rooftop carrier! One elevator was out of commission, so had to wait a few times to get up or down, but no big deal really.Friendly helpful staff, we'd go back for sure! Oh, nice comfy beds were a bonus!

Room Tip: The 01 rooms are quiet, with no next door neighbours or elevator shafts.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Our hotel loves families, and it is good to hear that the fully equipped kitchen came in handy in preparing meals for your family.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were sent here by an airline after a flight cancellation. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms. These are full suites with a full kitchen, living room and a separate bedroom. The rooms are dates and could use freshening up and a modern touch but that being said the rooms are certainly more than adequate. The beds are comfortable and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The kitchens are well equipped with stove, microwave and dishes so I would recommend this to anyone looking to cut their expenses or expecting a prolonged stay.

The property is clean and has friendly and knowledgeable staff. The check in process was quick and painless. There is a restaurant located in the lobby Cafe Mezzaluna which serves excellent pasta.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GottaGoSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. It is unfortunate that you experienced a flight cancellation; however, we are happy to hear that you found our accommodations spacious and comfortable. It is great that that you found the staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I just stayed here for 6 weeks for work and definitely got to see all sides of the hotel. The biggest sell is the location. You can easily walk to Elgin st, Bank st, Parliament, Rideau Centre, and The Byward Market from here. Anything else is easily accessible by taxis (always waiting outside) or busses (major hub 5 min walk away). The other major pro is the kitchen in the rooms. Although nothing fancy, you get a full-sized fridge, oven, 4-burner stove, microwave, and all dishes and cookware. Very nice to be able to cook your own meals there (especially since there isn't room service!)

The cons are the tired rooms. The usual old wallpaper, ugly artwork, tacky comforter, etc. The housekeeping was not consistent, but a simple phone call to front desk can change that. Most of the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. If you have any complaints or requests just make sure you go to the front desk and firmly ask for the change.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the laundry room! (I think room 3 on the even numbered floors, so 203, 403, 603, etc)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_leigh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. The hotel is conveniently located to all of the main attractions, and it is great that this was a convenience to you. We are happy to hear that you were able to utilize the fully-equipped kitchen in your suite.
You will be happy to hear that our suites are undergoing renovations. It is great that the Front Desk staff was helpful and addressed any requests that you had.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. The hotel hits my major points for a hotel: safe, clean, quiet, great bed and excellent location.

I had a queen suite (separate bedroom) with a kitchen, bathroom, dining area and living room. The staff were very friendly and informative, the suite was serviced everyday and the wi-fi is free. I also received a very good price for the suite. All in all, very good value for money.

Coffee and tea are replenished every day, the kitchen has all you need to make a meal and the hotel has a pool and hottub. The location is superb. Shops, restaurants and other sevices are a minute away on Elgin Street and the majority of Ottawa's major sites are a 10 minute walk away. Though I had bought tickets for Ottawa's transit system, I only used transit twice as the weather was fine and the walks easily done and enjoyable. If you require the transit system the nearest bus stop is a minute away on Elgin Street.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel and intend to use them again when next in Ottawa.

Room Tip: has smoking rooms available
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London Bound Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be safe, clean, and quiet during your stay with us. It is great that you found the staff to be friendly and informative. The hotel is within close proximity to all of the major attractions, and it is great that you found this convenient during your stay with us.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews