We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks are deceiving” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Hill Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beacon Hill Motel
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was in Ottawa on the May long weekend, without reservations. I was traveling with a family member who remembered the good old days of motels on Montreal Road, and getting a great price for what we now expect from a typical Comfort Inn.

Beacon Hill looked not too bad from the road. It is painted up country cottage cute in white with red trim, so from the outside, it looked like it could be passable.

Unfortunately, not. We got the key to an available room to check it out, and it was bad. Old carpeting and furnishings. Small cramped room with one double bed and one single, at 90 degrees to each other to fit them both in. The bed linens were old and shabby. I did pull one bed apart to check for bed bugs and didn't see any, but the "white" sheets were yellowed with age.

The bathroom was very tiny and cramped with dingy towels, and old fixtures.

The place is pretty pathetic. Needless to say, we didn't stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyoftheCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
razza n, General Manager at Beacon Hill Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Since 2009 our rooms have not had carpets, and since then all bathrooms were fully renovated in 2011.

Our staff is able to make any request happen if for some reason our establishment is not up to your satisfaction. Your comminication is vital and please management encourages our customers to speak with the staff upon arrival into your room. Additional services such as more toiletries, iron, hair dryer, kettle and anything regarding our great city of Ottawa our staff will help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
20
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have stayed at motels in Toronto and was my first time staying at one in Ottawa and I have to say to all the people who left complaints about this motel being scary and dirty or what not, try staying at one in Toronto!! This motel was perfect for the price. It was very clean and the staff were accomodating and very nice. I have no complaints about this motel. I would suggest it to anyone who is looking for a cheap stop off during thier trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just back from a trip to Canada in September. Myself my husband plus mother and father-in-law stayed here as we had been travelling all day and 4 other hotels were full. So, it was last minute, late night stop.

Good things first: the room was as clean as it could be under the circumstances.

Bad now: It looked like the furniture was out of a skip
Bare wires showing
Crawlies coming out of the overflow and plug hole in sink
No doors on cupboards and drawers in kitchen area
Bedside lamps not working

Worst of all - when we returned after a meal out the door to our room just swung open. No lock!

I sat up all night in bed with my clothes on as I couldn't rest with the thought that anybody could walk in. I consoled myself with the thought that it was just like being in a weird tent.

The two guys running the motel are really nice and helpful but be forewarned, cheap is not always acceptable.

I don't like to give bad reviews but feel people should know what we experienced.

Room Tip: See this place in daylight. Check there is a lock on the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for one night at this motel and because it was July 1st, they charged us $100. I'm assuming that on regular days, it's cheaper. When we entered the room, we weren't too pleased about the asthetics of the place. Everything was clean, but the hardwood floor was popping out in areas, the bathroom was due for a renovation, and the beds sat on pieces of wood, which didn't seem all that stable. I can't say that I would go hete again considering the amount of money I paid. I would only consider staying if the cost was around $40 or $50 for a night. I'd look somewhere else though no matter what the cost if the visit was to be more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

I was in Ottawa on business and usually stay downtown but this time my budget has been cut so I looked up Beacon Hill and I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very cleaned and at the end of the day that's all I cared about. I wanted a clean bed and a shower and I got both!! I like the front desk guy, he was very curtious and helpful with knowledge of the city. I will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

The staff.....impecable.
The rooms........clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet.
Location.....incredibly conveniant. (Just drive straight down the street to reach downtown and Parliament Hill)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndii007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Room was renovated and clean had a microwave and fridge with a sink. A great find, especially, if getting in early hours of the morning as I did. Although, not the laurier or elgin but also not the price or with the restrictions on check in times. Had I known it was this nice my trip before this one would have stayed here and went to the meeting there instead of rushing around trying to find something downtown.Bathroom was nice plush towels and not a speck of dirt had been missed.anywhere I had my college daughter with me she was impressed with the network as was I great for the business person also college kids often have online classes or projects that must be turned in so steady net with no drops and good bandwidth is a must. I was extremely impressed for the price . Front desk was amazingly pleasant and helpful. Hours of service were convenient for the extended trip traveler which has many a time left me staying in lesser accommodations due to my odd arrival times.traveling back and forth. .I was impressed enough to leave a tip in the room for whomever cleans the rooms as it was spotless and one when i dropped off the key in future i will not be hunting through bed and breakfast places etc trying to convince them to hold a room past 6 until my train bus or plane gets in .They had a computer available as well as printing and fax services..Although, it did not have a restaurant there were several close by including right next door. Other essential needs were close by including a bank right next door. Daughter loved the chair and wanted to sleep in even though she detests pink it must have been some chair ,never seen that before could not pry her out of it, she thought it was so soft and comfy her words...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank symbioticsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#51 of 67 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
9.5 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
4.3 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#30 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
6.6 mi away
Adam's Airport Inn
Adam's Airport Inn
#36 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Motel

Property: Beacon Hill Motel
Address: 1668 Montreal Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 6N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beacon Hill Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet and comfortable! Family run business newly renovated rooms all equipped with microwaves, small fridges, cable TV, free local calling AND WIRELESS INTERNET. OPEN 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Beacon Hill Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing