We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fuddy Duddies”
Review of Albert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert House Inn
Ranked #5 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old Fuddy Duddies”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife booked Albert House Inn king size bed with jacuzzi tub for our anniversary. Imagine my surprise to hear the phone ringing at 11:35 PM to be to told to "Tone it down in there" as there had been complaints about the noise from other guests. I inquired "The hot tub?" To which he responded "Yes".

The location is great. Breakfast fabulous. But don't book the luxurious room expecting to enjoy it. Book the standard room.

Room Tip: Book Standard Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertinn, Owner at Albert House Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear "Lloydminster Cowboy",

We are sorry you felt that your anniversary celebration was somewhat curtailed by our asking you to "tone it down". The previous two nights that you enjoyed your jacuzzi were not a problem but the last evening, we did receive a complaint from a guest as the television was very loud and could be heard in the hallway and a nearby room. Perhaps over the sound of the jacuzzi you did not realize the volume of the television.

We certainly want all of our guests to enjoy their stay as much as possible and no matter what room is occupied, we do respond to, what we believe to be, any justifiable noise complaint. As you know this is a older (heritage) property and is not as sound proof as a modern hotel.

Thank you for all your comments, we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
69
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Clean, friendly staff and owners. Very responsive to our needs. Great location and wonderful breakfast. Nice to have coffee and tea available in the evening. Was easy walk to the downtown area and close to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A nice older inn. Great location. Nice rooms. Fantastic Breakfast. Nice walk or bike to downtown. Bicycle storage available. We were there two nights and would recommend this inn to anyone going to Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a nice property with cosy rooms and a 'house' atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and can provide you with a lot of information about sightseeing and transport. It is well located to a short walk to the center of Ottawa and almost all buses stop opposite. Breakfast is very tasty. Although it was very cold when I visited, the heating was excellent. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIKEF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a pleasant visit to the Albert House Inn in April. We found the service warm and personal.

It was a great touch to have a selection of newspapers - Ottawa Citizen, New York Times, Toronto Star, Globe & Mail - to read over breakfast. Breakfast was also very well done: several courses and very well made. It's exactly what you need when you're in Ottawa!

The Inn also has some great touches such as providing complimentary umbreallas right by the front door. Also, my wife was "under the weather" during our stay and the staff were very thoughtful and considerate (they cleaned our room first so she could rest undisturbed) - much appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed only for 2 nights , and it was great because the owners are very nice and helpful. The location is very good, you can walk if you want to the main attractions in town. The breakfast was home made style, and the hotel very cozy, specially the fireplace in the main room , where you can drink a wine or a tea in front of the fire.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaBlumenau_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is the best Bed and Breakfast I ever stayed. The owners, Kathy and John, are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very confortable and clean. The location is great, close to rstaurants, drugstores and to many bus stops. I really loved my staying.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House Inn

Property: Albert House Inn
Address: 478 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a designated heritage property in the heart of downtown Ottawa with comfortable guest rooms, modern amenities, outstanding personal service and fabulous cooked to order breakfasts. We are a short walk to business and government agencies, Parliament, the National Archives Library, War Museum, Museum of Civilization, the Rideau Canal and lots of shopping, dining and entertainment. On site paid parking is available, but public transit is only steps away. Welcoming guests for over twenty eight years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Albert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert House Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing