We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness & Home”
Review of Albert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert House Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happiness & Home”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Perfect location! Beautiful rooms, lovely, friendly, genuine service. Actually felt a lot like b & b's in England. Big enough to be private, small enough to feel homelike. We met friends there and made new ones! Steps from a pretty little park and a few short blocks from all that downtown Ottawa has to offer! Truly a magical experience. I would never stay anywhere else in Ottawa again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taraleecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
69
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great stay in Albert House Inn in Toronto. Charming, cozy, carefully decorated. You feel as if staying in an old, but well preserved house. Service is wonderful. Breakfast is great, home made. I would indicate it to my friends. Besides, it is a good break from regular same looking type hotels. And the price is good, compared to others in the area.

Room Tip: I would say it is not a hotel for small children, but ideal for romantic couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naraclf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at the Albert House part of the Canada Day weekend. I had stayed here several years ago, loved it then & decided to come back. I was happy on my first visit & even happier on my second!!
Customer Service is everything to the lovely owners & their staff. They treated me like I was a guest in their own home. I felt special & welcome. My room was clean & nicely arranged with some personal touches that you would expect in a lovely old inn.

Breakfast was cooked to order in the Dining Room by some delightful College students. Again, they were personable & a lot of fun. There were several breakfast choices as well & nicely cooked.

One of the nicest rooms in this Inn is the Parlor or Common Room at the front of the house. After a long day of walking around Ottawa, it is possible to gather in this room to talk to other guests or just relax with a good book. One of the ladies will offer you tea, hot chocolate, whatever you want--again a nice personal touch.

Albert House is located in a good area about a t0-15 minute walk to Parliament Hill, a little further to the Rideau Centre & another few minutes to the Byward Market.

To summarize, I had a great experience at Albert House. I will make this my home now whenever I am in Ottawa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We, along with friends from England stayed at Albert House Inn for three nights.
The rooms were quiet and very comfortable and the breakfasts outstanding.
But the highlight of our stay was the friendly staff. This hotel appears to be run exclusively by a group of young women who would do anything to make our visit enjoyable. One even backed my car out of the parking lot onto a busy road!
If you're looking for a high quality hotel in central Ottawa, with a more personal touch this is for you.

Room Tip: Make time to enjoy their delicious breakfsts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspe Coast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

For Trip Advisor

My wife and I always look forward to coming to Ottawa, to our favourite B&B, The Albert House Inn. The staff, mostly students, are welcoming, efficient, and courteous. They are also strong, because they carry our bags in for us up the steps at the front!

They serve a marvellous large breakfast, which we like. When I suggested I needed non-fat milk, the owner went right out and bought some to make our breakfasts more pleasurable. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the atmosphere in the old heritage house is — just as you would imagine — like your own home. The location is close to Library and Archives Canada, and a slightly longer walk to the Houses Of Parliament.

I Heartily Recommend This B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malibunovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I came to Ottawa for a course and to sit for an important exam while trying to shake a nasty chest cold. The people at Albert House were tremendously hospitable, thoughtful, and actually cared about me while staying there. Offering hot tea regularly, good hearty breakfasts, and a genuine friendliness turned a potentially awful experience into a pleasant one. Thanks to all, will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamziKawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Manager asked me not come back again because she did not like my girlfriend's attire. Accepted my money of 160 dollars and then asked me not to come back. Because I was disvaluing her place. She treated me as if I was scum. That no way to treat a customer. If she has a dress code she should let me know on her website. The rooms were very small for the price. looked bigger on the net.

Room Tip: Take the room with a Jacuzzi it is okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertinn, Owner at Albert House Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
As the owner of the Inn, I would like to respond to this review. It was I and not my Manager who suggested Mr. F. stay elsewhere on his next visit to Ottawa.

There are girlfriends and then there are girlfriends. . . . . I say no more.

Catherine Delroy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.5 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House Inn

Property: Albert House Inn
Address: 478 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a designated heritage property in the heart of downtown Ottawa with comfortable guest rooms, modern amenities, outstanding personal service and fabulous cooked to order breakfasts. We are a short walk to business and government agencies, Parliament, the National Archives Library, War Museum, Museum of Civilization, the Rideau Canal and lots of shopping, dining and entertainment. On site paid parking is available, but public transit is only steps away. Welcoming guests for over twenty eight years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Albert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert House Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing