We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine location; finer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert House Inn
Ranked #4 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, Sd
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine location; finer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is right within the triangle of most intersting sights/activities in this fine city of Ottawa, so getting to everything that we could cram into three days of our primary interests was very doable. The desk staff was willing to find answers to any questions that we could pose and had the patience to answer all of them, of which I seem to think of many, some good and some not so much. Very nicely done on the breakfast (included) prepared to order, again, by a staff that was on task to please and eager to succeed. To say that this B&B was relaxing and exceeded expectations would be an understatement. The off street parking also was a plus for us since we drove the entire trip by auto from South Dakota, USA. If we get back to Ottawa any time soon, the hotel selection will sure be easier . . . Albert House Inn.

Room Tip: Often times we go for a room toward the back of a hotel to avoid street noise, but preferred to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
69
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a nice 2 nights at this downtown B&B. Comfortable rooms, good service, good breakfast. A short walk to Parlaiment Hill, and a $15 cab ride from the train station. Reservations and everything handled very professionally.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been travelling to Ottawa for the past 30 years and there is nowhere to match 'The Albert'. It has a mixture of homely elegance and a great ambience. The breakfasts are Ottawa's best kep secret, the staff are friendly and always helpful Its location, both for business and as a tourist is ideal. Looking forward to my next visit....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I choose the Albert House Inn for my 1 night in Ottawa during a 7 day driving tour of East Canada. Overall the facilities are adequate and the rooms very clean. The location is perfect and is only a 5-10min walk from the main historical buildings and museums. It seems to be a well run B&B. The cooked breakfast was great and various choices are available (my only small constructive criticism is that the breakfast room is downstairs in the basement and there does not seem to be adequate extractor fan.........so you may have a "frying pan" smell on your clothing for the rest of the day).
Only other small points of view............this B&B house is actually on a busy main road so it may be useful to book a room not facing the main road. Also, I was charged about 12 Dollars to park my car in their back yard which is just a bit frustrating.
Having said all this, the wife liked it so thats all that matters! :-)
If you are looking for an excellent restaurant in Ottawa, try the superb A'telier (see my review of that).

Room Tip: Book a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DB_Cooper_inHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a 14 day stay in and around Ottawa commencing with downtown location convenient for sightseeing. The Albert House Inn was ideal for the first two days as it was within easy walking distance of Parliament Hill and the centre of Ottawa.
Our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable and spotlesly clean. We don't usually go in for watching TV in our room but this one had a really big (50") screen which was very impressive. The rate included a breakfast which was freshly cooked to order as well as cereals, fruit etc from a buffet area. Service was very pleasant and the food was good. Complimentary newspapers were also provided in the breakfast room.

The staff were always efficient and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We have already recommended this hotel to our relatives in Canada so that they and friends may consider using it whenever they are 'in town'.

We would give this a Highly Recommended rating and would certainly stay there again rather than go to one of the bigger hotel chains.

Room Tip: You cannot avoid steps as you have to walk up them to even enter the hotel. If you don't wish to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gribbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've stayed at the Albert House Inn this May for the second time. Previously I have stayed here for a whole week in February 2009.

I was looking forward to coming back to the Inn. One reason surely is the delicious breakfast :-) You may choose from a menu and it will be prepared freshly. I really love their pancakes. There's also a small buffet with cereals, croissants, fruits, etc. to choose from.

The first time I stayed at the single room on the 1st floor, which is, as on the website advertised, very tiny. This time, with my boyfriend, we stayed at a much more spacious room also on the first floor. I have to admit that the furniture is a little bit dated, but the room is always clean.

The Inn is about 10min walking distance to the downtown area.

I find this place very charming and I will come back here again on my next visit to Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've been coming to Ottawa quite frequently for the past 3 years and I always choose to stay with the great folks at the only "Downtown Inn". The owner & staff are great and the breakfast's are to die for (especially the omlettes!). It's a fantaistic location close to everything in the downtown core. Really is my home away from home...Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_P_Haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House Inn

Property: Albert House Inn
Address: 478 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a designated heritage property in the heart of downtown Ottawa with comfortable guest rooms, modern amenities, outstanding personal service and fabulous cooked to order breakfasts. We are a short walk to business and government agencies, Parliament, the National Archives Library, War Museum, Museum of Civilization, the Rideau Canal and lots of shopping, dining and entertainment. On site paid parking is available, but public transit is only steps away. Welcoming guests for over twenty eight years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albert House Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing