We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bernard F Toronto”
Review of Albert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert House Inn
Ranked #5 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bernard F Toronto”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been travelling to Ottawa for the past 30 years and there is nowhere to match 'The Albert'. It has a mixture of homely elegance and a great ambience. The breakfasts are Ottawa's best kep secret, the staff are friendly and always helpful Its location, both for business and as a tourist is ideal. Looking forward to my next visit....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
69
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I choose the Albert House Inn for my 1 night in Ottawa during a 7 day driving tour of East Canada. Overall the facilities are adequate and the rooms very clean. The location is perfect and is only a 5-10min walk from the main historical buildings and museums. It seems to be a well run B&B. The cooked breakfast was great and various choices are available (my only small constructive criticism is that the breakfast room is downstairs in the basement and there does not seem to be adequate extractor fan.........so you may have a "frying pan" smell on your clothing for the rest of the day).
Only other small points of view............this B&B house is actually on a busy main road so it may be useful to book a room not facing the main road. Also, I was charged about 12 Dollars to park my car in their back yard which is just a bit frustrating.
Having said all this, the wife liked it so thats all that matters! :-)
If you are looking for an excellent restaurant in Ottawa, try the superb A'telier (see my review of that).

Room Tip: Book a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB_Cooper_inHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a 14 day stay in and around Ottawa commencing with downtown location convenient for sightseeing. The Albert House Inn was ideal for the first two days as it was within easy walking distance of Parliament Hill and the centre of Ottawa.
Our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable and spotlesly clean. We don't usually go in for watching TV in our room but this one had a really big (50") screen which was very impressive. The rate included a breakfast which was freshly cooked to order as well as cereals, fruit etc from a buffet area. Service was very pleasant and the food was good. Complimentary newspapers were also provided in the breakfast room.

The staff were always efficient and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We have already recommended this hotel to our relatives in Canada so that they and friends may consider using it whenever they are 'in town'.

We would give this a Highly Recommended rating and would certainly stay there again rather than go to one of the bigger hotel chains.

Room Tip: You cannot avoid steps as you have to walk up them to even enter the hotel. If you don't wish to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gribbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've stayed at the Albert House Inn this May for the second time. Previously I have stayed here for a whole week in February 2009.

I was looking forward to coming back to the Inn. One reason surely is the delicious breakfast :-) You may choose from a menu and it will be prepared freshly. I really love their pancakes. There's also a small buffet with cereals, croissants, fruits, etc. to choose from.

The first time I stayed at the single room on the 1st floor, which is, as on the website advertised, very tiny. This time, with my boyfriend, we stayed at a much more spacious room also on the first floor. I have to admit that the furniture is a little bit dated, but the room is always clean.

The Inn is about 10min walking distance to the downtown area.

I find this place very charming and I will come back here again on my next visit to Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've been coming to Ottawa quite frequently for the past 3 years and I always choose to stay with the great folks at the only "Downtown Inn". The owner & staff are great and the breakfast's are to die for (especially the omlettes!). It's a fantaistic location close to everything in the downtown core. Really is my home away from home...Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_P_Haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
334 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Albert House Inn is well located for walking the downtown area of Ottawa. It offers limited parking, for a fee, but we were able to walk extensively in the government area, the Byward Market area, the many restaurants in the downtown, even across the river to Gatineau, Quebec. We stayed for 4 nights and never used our car once.

The breakfast, included in the room rate, is wonderful. You may select many items from a menu that should please most travelers. The Inn is small, with several quirky little rooms, so ask some questions before booking. There is no elevator to the four floors and the breakfast room is in the basement. Service in the breakfast room and at the front desk is friendly and dependable.

This was our second stay at the Inn. Both visits were similar and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A great location and really helpful staff made our two nights in Ottawa a great get-away for a part business/pleasure trip. We had to move rooms as the first night's room was not available for the second night and both rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. The first night's room was small but had everything you needed and the staff handled the move so easily. The full breakfast was partly self-serve and a hot main course made to order. Everything was fresh and delicious, including home-made berry muffins. You could have as much or as little as you liked. When we returned in the evening, we were offered tea in the lounge and served on a tray. We were given great directions for getting to where we wanted and advice on places to eat in the Byward Market. The only drawback was a $12.00 charge per night for parking in their lot but the lot was monitored 24/7 for safety.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Albert House Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our staff do their very best to ensure guests have an enjoyable experience both at our Inn and when touring the city.

I would like to to take this opportunity to respond to your comment about our parking charge.

Our Inn is located in downtown Ottawa and parking is always difficult. We advise our guests about on street parking on the weekends and many take advantage of this free option.

Yes, parking in our lot is $12 per night and we believe this to be a fair charge. We know of no hotel in downtown Ottawa that offers free parking and to the best of our knowledge our rate is the lowest. Our lot has a limited capacity so we ask that guests leave their keys with us in order that we are able to move cars in and out to let guests come and go. We basically have valet parking. As stated, the lot is monitored 24/7. During the winter months we even clean the ice and snow off of our guests cars for them.

If we provided free parking, those guests who do not arrive by car would be subsidising those that do because of costs such as maintenance, snow removal, and insurance.

We welcome all comments and I thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House Inn

Property: Albert House Inn
Address: 478 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a designated heritage property in the heart of downtown Ottawa with comfortable guest rooms, modern amenities, outstanding personal service and fabulous cooked to order breakfasts. We are a short walk to business and government agencies, Parliament, the National Archives Library, War Museum, Museum of Civilization, the Rideau Canal and lots of shopping, dining and entertainment. On site paid parking is available, but public transit is only steps away. Welcoming guests for over twenty eight years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Albert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert House Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing