We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, parking an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Baden, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good stay, parking an issue”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed over the Family Day weekend, and we pleased with our room - spacious, well appointed and well worth the money. The only frustration was obtaining parking. After contacting the manager, we were compensated and Amanda handled the issue very professionally. The second night parking remained an issue, but the staff was much more ready to deal with problem compared to the night before. We visit Ottawa often and will stay here again, thanks to Amanda.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BP12568978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We completely understand that the issue you experienced with our parking was frustrating and thank you for your patience and understanding. I am humbled by your kind words and thrilled that you will be back on a future trip to Ottawa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We look forward to welcoming you again!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    662
    102
    36
    18
See reviews for
1,017
677
87
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Last weekend we went back to Albert at Bay after a positive experience in April 2013. It was a full house and very busy with Family Day weekend and the winter festival (though not our reason for being there). Check-in was bustling, but efficient, friendly and courteous and helpful with suggestions for ordering in. The suite was very comfortable, large, with a FULL kitchen, large fridge, oven, stove top, M/W, dishwasher, dishes, basic cooking utensils, etc. and a large bathroom. Last visit, our suite had two full bathrooms. Suite was very clean, bed and bedding very nice, with terry robes. Wireless worked perfectly. Cordless phones, big flat screen TV's in the living area and bedroom. We tend not to use the other hotel amenities, so cannot comment on that. If you are looking for a full-service luxury hotel, you will need to look elsewhere and pay the price. This suite hotel provides GREAT value for the price if you want a comfortable, ROOMY suite to relax in, cook a simple meal or have take-out. It is located very close to Parliament Hill and other attractions. If you are a member of CAA/AAA you can get parking included. This is a real plus. Mind you, in their underground parking space and turns are tight, so if you have a large vehicle, it can be tricky--they have a few above-ground spots for trucks and large mini vans. Also, on the busy weekend, the parking was almost all full by the time we got in that evening, but they will work with you to help find a spot. It is self-serve, underground parking with an elevator up to the rooms. Many rooms have balconies and I always appreciate being able to open the windows for fresh air.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found great value. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and some great tips with our future travelers. The CAA rate is a fabulous deal that includes the free parking when you book the CAA rate only. It is one of our most popular rates.

We hope to see you again soon in the Nation's Capital!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were pleased with our stay in the Albert at Bay Hotel. We were able to check in early and leave the car in the carpark and walk into Ottawa to explore. Our 1 queen bedroom suite was very large indeed, with full kitchen (with fridge, dishwasher and cooker), 2 bathrooms, large sofa, plus dining table and chairs. A small grocery store is attached to the hotel on the ground floor which was convenient. We would certainly stay here again - it was a great advantage being within walking distance of the main attractions in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TicketyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate your early check in. Any time we are unable to provide an early check in, we can certainly allow guests to park their car and store their luggage if the room is not ready itself. Thank you for providing a detailed review on Trip Advisor with some great tips about our location.

We look forward to your next visit!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were in town for Winterlude and we were very pleased with our 3 night stay. It was walking distance to the Rideau Canal and there were coffee shops along the way. Our one bedroom suite was perfect for the 3 of us. The suite was clean, warm and comfortable. Housekeeping did a great job preparing our room each day. The room could use some small updating but overall is very nice compared to some others in the United States we have stayed in. Our room was on the 7th floor and we had a great view of Ottawa. The staff was very friendly and had no problems converting U.S. currency to Canadien currency, giving us directions, or recommending restaurants. There was always a taxi out front which we found useful at times. The value was very good for the price we paid and we even received free parking in their underground garage. The neighborhood is very safe and very close to Sparks Street Mall where we dined on a couple of occasions. There is a never ending supply of hot chocolate and marshmellows when you walk in which we took advantage of. When we are in town again, we will stay here. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear you love our hotel and were pleased with your 3 night stay. Thank you for sharing some great tips with our future guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

this is our 4th stay at albert at bay--just excellent large suites-- but most of all are the staff--especially those at the front desk--they do everything to make your stay more enjoyable---thank you so much --a special thanks to Bernadette.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that this was your fourth stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor review and a special thank you for commending our staff.

We look forward to your fifth stay and many more after!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel did impressme at first from the front side: dark brown brick building with the view either on a road or an inner yard. But then I changed my mind after seeing a suit, which was HUGE and very cosy! There were a living room, a bedroom, two (!) toillets inside and a kitchenette.
One thing you have to consider: to bring dishwasher tablettes and good detergent for dishes. There is no washing machine in a suite.
We stayed on the 7th floor, in a room with a view on a road. Noise did not disturb us a night and a bed/lines were new. Wi-fi internet was fast and free of charge, TV was set for Canada chsnnels and there was also a choice for supplementary (new) movies for a reasonable price.
Location was great-only 15 minutes from a Parliament Hill.
Some staff was friendly, but some did not really smile or say hi.This hotel did impressme at first from the front side: dark brown brick building with the view either on a road or an in8ner yard. But then I changed my mind after seeing a suit, which was HUGE and very cosy! There were a living room, a bedroom, two (!) toillets inside and a kitchenette.
One thing you have to consider: to bring dishwasher tablettes and good detergent for dishes. There is no washing machine in a suite.
We stayed on the 7th floor, in a room with a view on a road. Noise did not disturb us a night and a bed/lines were new. Wi-fi internet was fast and free of charge, TV was set for Canada chsnnels and there was also a choice for supplementary (new) movies for a reasonable price.
Location was great-only 15 minutes from a Parliament Hill.
Some staff was friendly, but some did not really smile or say hi.This hotel did impressme at first from the front side: dark brown brick building with the view either on a road or an in8ner yard. But then I changed my mind after seeing a suit, which was HUGE and very cosy! There were a living room, a bedroom, two (!) toillets inside and a kitchenette.
One thing you have to consider: to bring dishwasher tablettes and good detergent for dishes. There is no washing machine in a suite.
We stayed on the 7th floor, in a room with a view on a road. Noise did not disturb us a night and a bed/lines were new. Wi-fi internet was fast and free of charge, TV was set for Canada chsnnels and there was also a choice for supplementary (new) movies for a reasonable price.
Location was great-only 15 minutes from a Parliament Hill.
Some staff was friendly, but some did not really smile or say hi.This hotel did impressme at first from the front side: dark brown brick building with the view either on a road or an in8ner yard. But then I changed my mind after seeing a suit, which was HUGE and very cosy! There were a living room, a bedroom, two (!) toillets inside and a kitchenette.
One thing you have to consider: to bring dishwasher tablettes and good detergent for dishes. There is no washing machine in a suite.
We stayed on the 7th floor, in a room with a view on a road. Noise did not disturb us a night and a bed/lines were new. Wi-fi internet was fast and free of charge, TV was set for Canada chsnnels and there was also a choice for supplementary (new) movies for a reasonable price.
Location was great-only 15 minutes from a Parliament Hill.
Some staff was friendly, but some did not really smile or say hi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whtver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take the utmost pride in our clean hotel, spacious suites and friendly staff. We are sorry to hear that you did not encounter a smile and hello from all employees and we will be revisiting this with the team.

Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spacious suites, clean and very functional.
The service was great... every person I interacted with was very friendly.
I was upgraded to a king bed at check-in. :)
I was in Ottawa with a few friends and took the opportunity to propose to my girlfriend. In conversation with the desk personnel, I mentioned that I had proposed. A few minutes later I recieved a very friendly and suprising visit from the desk-person with a bottle of champagne and glasses... definitely a nice a surprise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

Congratulations on your recent engagement! We are proud to have been able to add a little gift for such a special occasion.

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with the Trip Advisor community. We hope to host you and your fiance again on your next visit to Ottawa.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
284 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing