We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent friendly excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I've been staying at Albert at Bay for many years and have recommended it to many friends and colleagues over the years who have always been as impressed as I am. Bernadette and the rest of the staff are truly exceptional!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel as your "home" in Ottawa.

We appreciate the kind words about our team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,681)
There are newer reviews for Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,797 - 1,803 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here on multiple occasions and have always loved it (read my previous reviews on this hotel). Whenever an error occurs it is handled in a quick and professional manner where the guest is put first. Well, except recently...

Cons: Last two stays at the property I upgraded to a luxury suite, however I find the luxury suites have been not cleaned thoroughly as opposed to the normal suites. maybe it is because there is more space or items of decoration? Last two occasions had cleanliness issues: one found women's used hair ties and clips in the bathroom cupboards and orange peel in the top drawer. The other occasion found lots of long hair on the bed, pillowcases and night tables. As a person who stays quite frequently and enjoys both its reputation and service I have found that the cleanliness has been going down hill where I haven't been as loyal of guest as a result. Front desk staff are pretty friendly but not helpful when it comes to cleanliness concerns, and make it seem like you're bothering them.

Kitchen: Some rooms have Chef Knives missing, cutting boards and pots and pans. Make sure you look ahead of time at what you have to utilize before making the big grocery trip. Hartman's is closest big grocery store on bank St., there is a more expensive 24 hour close by but nothing really fresh there. Mostly frozen, canned, etc.

The room service food is extremely terrible. No exaggeration there! Tried it time and time again because of the convenience of it and give it another try thinking "Why not, things happen" and its always a regret. There is either hair or plastic in food, raw or over cooked food, sauteed mushrooms are deep fried with the lettuce, or food products that you don't order in it. Avoid, avoid at all costs, there's some places up the street to eat a block or two.

Some pro's: There is a 24 hour gym on the roof, nice, clean and has great natural lighting. The Sauna is 24 hour as well were told. There is a quickie convenience store located below that one can access through the banquet room corridor. The bus station is directly out front. The suites are generally clean, as I mentioned, and they always have balconies. Décor is nice. The television channel selection is the normal hotel menu, movies are high (13-15$) There is the park of the provinces near by, churches, parking and the supreme Court.

This hotel is great for short or long-term stays. Just make sure your room is clean and sanitary before the manager leaves for the day otherwise, you're stuck with what you get.

Room Tip: Try to book an inside court room / on back of building. Less noise for light sleepers.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

Firstly, we thank you for the kind words in regards to our amenities, location and our staff. We are very disappointed though to hear of the discrepancies you have experienced in our hotel. I would appreciate an opportunity to further discuss your past service failures and investigate the situations. At your convenience, I can be reached at 613-940-2720 or amanda@albertatbay.com.

We hope to host you again on your next visit to Ottawa.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

In Ottawa for business 3 or 4 weeks a year. Large suites!. Can't say enough about the size. Kitchen, with dishwasher, refridgerator, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee machnie, etc.. Very clean, friendly atmosphere. Great staff, especially Bernadette!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to read that you have stayed with us so often. Thank you for making our hotel your "home away from home" while you stay in Ottawa. All of our staff follow Trip Advisor closely and will be happy to see your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you "home" again soon!

Warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few days recently. We used the CAA rate of $189 per night which included free parking. Considering that parking costs between $22-$28 per night in downtown Ottawa this was a good deal. The suite was very spacious and the kitchen included full-size fridge, microwave, dishwasher and toaster. We had 2 very good flat screen televisions-one in bedroom and one in living room. The beds were comfy and we had a pillow menu. The bathroom was fine and included Bath and Body Works soap products. It took a while for the hot water to start running (we were on the 10th floor). The hotel is conveniently located-it was an easy 10-15 minute walk to the Byward Market and very close to Parliament buildings, Rideau Canal, NAC, Rideau Center and Sparks Street Mall. Staff was friendly. We had a small problem with our toilet but is was fixed within 5 minutes of reporting the problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadiaRx57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your great experience with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for sharing some great tips with our future guests, such as booking the CAA/AAA rate to receive free parking.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Albert at Bay is a fantastic hotel. I had a long-term business stay and the hotel became my home away from home. It's close to everything downtown in Ottawa, and not too far from the highway... great location. I found the suites to be very large, and nicely appointed. Great pillows always makes for a comfy sleep. I absolutely love the full kitchen - restaurant food gets tired pretty quickly. That said - the pub downstairs is cozy and had good food, with live entertainment some evenings. The convenience store attached to the hotel has everything. The fitness centre is a good size, though some of the equipment requires maintenance, and the sauna is a decadent treat. The jewel of the hotel is the staff. They are professional, courteous, thoughtful and in every way exceptional. The staff made me feel like family during my many months - which is really nice when you're far from home. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there whenever I am in Ottawa.

Room Tip: Street side rooms offer a good view of what is going on in the city.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musk0ka_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are honored to read that there is nowhere you would rather stay in Ottawa. Thank you for sharing your great experience online and for the lovely comments about our staff. They truly are our most valuable asset and will be thrilled to see your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great room with separate bedroom, living room,, dining area and full kitchen. Two full bathrooms. Quiet, cozy and fully equipped. Updated room with easy to use hvac system. Nice walk in shower in one bathroom and full tub in other. Two flat screen tv's, free newspaper. Comfy king bed with both feather and regular pillows, and cozy duvet. Connected to a good Italian restaurant serving all meals and to a convenience store which also sells bus tickets to the handy service just outside the door. Balcony overlooking Queen street city view. Handy by bus or cab to all downtown and Gatineau sites like parliament, museums and Byward market. Friendly staff who gave us late checkout and upgraded room as well as early checkin. Meeting rooms were convenient and comfortable named for the four seasons. Elevators worked fast. Small lobby but comfortable couches and fireplace. Highly recommend this hotel on all counts!

Room Tip: Don't think there was a pool but believe there was a workout room. As I was attending a meeting...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to read your detailed review and thank you for the kind words about our suites, amenities and our staff. You are correct that we do not have a pool and yes we have a fitness center complete with men's and ladies' saunas.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Nation's Capital.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked two suites for a stay here recently, mainly based on the TripAdvisor ratings. Was really amazed when we arrived though as it's no-where near as nice as we had hoped. It's not terrible, granted, however very old and dated rooms mean they don't look clean at all, even if they were cleaned well. Its the old grime that can't be removed with a quick wipe. Beds were very soft and uncomfortable (old mattresses I guess) and bathrooms just grubby.
Space wise, the suites are large, so if you need the room thats a plus. After setting eyes on the kitchen we ended up not using them and ate out. Again, not 'dirty' per se, but very dated and not a place where I'd want to prepare food.
The parking was fine for us so no issues there. Location was good, not great. It was -20 outside so we had to drive because most places are a long walk or short drive away.
One thing I noticed and was disappointing was that whenever we walked through the lobby to the elevator, no-one at the desk ever acknowledged us. A hello, even just once, would've been nice.
For the money, I would still say this place was decent value. However my recommendation is spend (only slightly) more and get a better hotel. We loved Ottawa and will be back, but not staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goonerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate your kind words in regards to the size of your suite and our underground parking. Though we are very sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations otherwise, we thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We take the utmost pride in our customer service skills and keeping a clean and well maintained hotel. We were surprised to hear that you found some discrepancies in your suite and I can assure you these are not commonplace experiences from our guests.

We would greatly appreciate an opportunity to investigate your stay more thoroughly to better understand your concerns. At your convenience, can you please contact me at 800-267-6644 or Amanda@albertatbay.com?

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $137 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing