We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,217)
Filter reviews
3,217 results
Traveler rating
2,243
785
124
43
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,243
785
124
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenconvenience storepatio furniturepillow menuparliament hillbyward marketwar museumhome away from homerooms are hugewell equipped kitchenunderground parkingwithin walking distanceseparate bedroomdowntown ottawadining tableminute walkfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,300 - 2,305 of 3,217 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

In Ottawa for business 3 or 4 weeks a year. Large suites!. Can't say enough about the size. Kitchen, with dishwasher, refridgerator, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee machnie, etc.. Very clean, friendly atmosphere. Great staff, especially Bernadette!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to read that you have stayed with us so often. Thank you for making our hotel your "home away from home" while you stay in Ottawa. All of our staff follow Trip Advisor closely and will be happy to see your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you "home" again soon!

Warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few days recently. We used the CAA rate of $189 per night which included free parking. Considering that parking costs between $22-$28 per night in downtown Ottawa this was a good deal. The suite was very spacious and the kitchen included full-size fridge, microwave, dishwasher and toaster. We had 2 very good flat screen televisions-one in bedroom and one in living room. The beds were comfy and we had a pillow menu. The bathroom was fine and included Bath and Body Works soap products. It took a while for the hot water to start running (we were on the 10th floor). The hotel is conveniently located-it was an easy 10-15 minute walk to the Byward Market and very close to Parliament buildings, Rideau Canal, NAC, Rideau Center and Sparks Street Mall. Staff was friendly. We had a small problem with our toilet but is was fixed within 5 minutes of reporting the problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadiaRx57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your great experience with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for sharing some great tips with our future guests, such as booking the CAA/AAA rate to receive free parking.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Albert at Bay is a fantastic hotel. I had a long-term business stay and the hotel became my home away from home. It's close to everything downtown in Ottawa, and not too far from the highway... great location. I found the suites to be very large, and nicely appointed. Great pillows always makes for a comfy sleep. I absolutely love the full kitchen - restaurant food gets tired pretty quickly. That said - the pub downstairs is cozy and had good food, with live entertainment some evenings. The convenience store attached to the hotel has everything. The fitness centre is a good size, though some of the equipment requires maintenance, and the sauna is a decadent treat. The jewel of the hotel is the staff. They are professional, courteous, thoughtful and in every way exceptional. The staff made me feel like family during my many months - which is really nice when you're far from home. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there whenever I am in Ottawa.

Room Tip: Street side rooms offer a good view of what is going on in the city.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musk0ka_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are honored to read that there is nowhere you would rather stay in Ottawa. Thank you for sharing your great experience online and for the lovely comments about our staff. They truly are our most valuable asset and will be thrilled to see your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great room with separate bedroom, living room,, dining area and full kitchen. Two full bathrooms. Quiet, cozy and fully equipped. Updated room with easy to use hvac system. Nice walk in shower in one bathroom and full tub in other. Two flat screen tv's, free newspaper. Comfy king bed with both feather and regular pillows, and cozy duvet. Connected to a good Italian restaurant serving all meals and to a convenience store which also sells bus tickets to the handy service just outside the door. Balcony overlooking Queen street city view. Handy by bus or cab to all downtown and Gatineau sites like parliament, museums and Byward market. Friendly staff who gave us late checkout and upgraded room as well as early checkin. Meeting rooms were convenient and comfortable named for the four seasons. Elevators worked fast. Small lobby but comfortable couches and fireplace. Highly recommend this hotel on all counts!

Room Tip: Don't think there was a pool but believe there was a workout room. As I was attending a meeting not sure of room rate but believe it was about $140/night
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to read your detailed review and thank you for the kind words about our suites, amenities and our staff. You are correct that we do not have a pool and yes we have a fitness center complete with men's and ladies' saunas.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Nation's Capital.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked two suites for a stay here recently, mainly based on the TripAdvisor ratings. Was really amazed when we arrived though as it's no-where near as nice as we had hoped. It's not terrible, granted, however very old and dated rooms mean they don't look clean at all, even if they were cleaned well. Its the old grime that can't be removed with a quick wipe. Beds were very soft and uncomfortable (old mattresses I guess) and bathrooms just grubby.
Space wise, the suites are large, so if you need the room thats a plus. After setting eyes on the kitchen we ended up not using them and ate out. Again, not 'dirty' per se, but very dated and not a place where I'd want to prepare food.
The parking was fine for us so no issues there. Location was good, not great. It was -20 outside so we had to drive because most places are a long walk or short drive away.
One thing I noticed and was disappointing was that whenever we walked through the lobby to the elevator, no-one at the desk ever acknowledged us. A hello, even just once, would've been nice.
For the money, I would still say this place was decent value. However my recommendation is spend (only slightly) more and get a better hotel. We loved Ottawa and will be back, but not staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goonerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate your kind words in regards to the size of your suite and our underground parking. Though we are very sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations otherwise, we thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We take the utmost pride in our customer service skills and keeping a clean and well maintained hotel. We were surprised to hear that you found some discrepancies in your suite and I can assure you these are not commonplace experiences from our guests.

We would greatly appreciate an opportunity to investigate your stay more thoroughly to better understand your concerns. At your convenience, can you please contact me at 800-267-6644 or Amanda@albertatbay.com?

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews