We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$117
$104
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ByWard Blue Inn(Ottawa)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$121
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
$165
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$330
$290
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,152)
Filter reviews
3,152 results
Traveler rating
2,196
775
119
41
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,196
775
119
41
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenconvenience storepatio furniturepillow menubyward marketparliament hillwar museumhome away from homewell equipped kitchenrooms are hugeunderground parkingseparate bedroomwithin walking distancedowntown ottawalots of spacefront desk staffdining table
Filter
Updating list...
2,250 - 2,255 of 3,152 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time in mid-November 2013 so that we could be close to the Canada War Museum and other central attractions. The entrance is tricky with so much street construction going on in downtown Ottawa and you will possibly have to approach from around the block to gain access via the one-way street. The actual entrance to underground parking is tricky too since there is nowhere really to leave your car while checking in and getting the pass that you will need to swipe to open up the underground garage. Since people are allowed to "park" down one side of the steep ramp, entering the parking area as cars are leaving it can be daunting, but we did it -- and with a standard too! The hotel lobby is pretty UN-prepossessing but the staff are great and who wants money poured into the lobby at the expense of the rooms! Note the presence of a convenience store that can be accessed right from the lobby. There are lots of elevators so there is no wait time. Normally the hotel is pretty pricey but we found a great special and as a result our stay went from potentially pricey to cheap by any standard and incredible for the room(s). My husband and I discovered we had a full kitchen, a dining room, living room with comfortable furniture, well-appointed bathroom and huge bedroom. With televisions in both living room and bedroom we could have (but who would in Ottawa) just curled up and relaxed. Instead we walked up to the Rideau Centre, passed the Parliament Buildings, the Chateau, the National Art Gallery, the Rideau Canal -- you now have the picture of just how handy this hotel can be: we were walking at 7:00 p.m. in rainy weather and it took us only 15 minutes to reach the Rideau Centre. But our actual reason for staying there took us in the opposite direction the next morning -- the War Museum is just about an easy 10-minute walk away. And even closer is the Library and Archives Canada site (LAC) right at the bottom of the street on which you have entered the hotel -- about three or four minutes brisk walk away. What could be better. We stayed for two nights, brought our own food so that we could relax and not pay exorbitant meal prices for a trip that was mainly driven by our visit to the War Museum. Parking was free with AAA/CAA card so for a downtown stay in pricey Ottawa we were extremely happy with the hotel and all that it offered and made possible. BUT anticipate gridlock on the highways coming into the city as construction abounds!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuskokaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We were delighted to read your very detailed review of the hotel and our location. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and also to let our future guests know that we offer great value in the Nation's Capital.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were a family of four ejoyiong the spacious suite. It was clean and well furnished and the hotel was in a convenient location. Atogether this was a very comfortable stay and we would like to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

Thank you as well for taking the time to share your comments online. We are pleased that you enjoyed the clean and spacious suites.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great room with so much space. Separate Bedroom. A kitchen with a full size stove, a full size fridge and a dishwasher. Room was very clean. Hotel staff were very helpful and polite. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not use the pool or room service.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mek310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you thought we were a clean hotel with helpful staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community.

We hope to welcome you back to Ottawa again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our room was just as we were told it would be. Very pleasant surprise. Size was amazing and extremely comfortable. It was nice to have the little kitchen as we were there for a few nights and I do like my coffee and breakfast. We brought supplies and were able to make our own just like at home. The hotel and our room was very clean and bright. Lots of natural light. Will definitely stay for our next visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandy_cdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you that you found the hotel to be very clean, bright and comfortable. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience online with our future guests.

We look forward to your next visit to Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great stay, excellent location. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Having the full kitchen and the layout of the suites was a great added amenity as we were traveling with an infant. There was a pub and a separate restaurant attached to the hotel; the restaurant was horrible and I would not suggest it. We did however stop by the pub for a drink and it was good. I wish there was a pool but not a big deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

Though we are happy to hear you had a great stay, we are very sorry to hear that you had a different experience in our restaurant. The hotel does not own the restaurant however we do have a good relationship with their owner and manager. I would appreciate an opportunity to better understand your experience so I may forward this to them. If you are available to do so, can you please contact me at 1-800-267-6644 or Amanda@albertatbay.com?

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews