We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spacious room with great amenities for a reasonable price. The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable, the pillow menu was a nice added touch. We enjoyed having a balcony although there wasn't much in the ways of a view and the noise of the buses was a little loud. The hotel is in walking distance to most attractions, which is a bonus since we found Ottawa to be very difficult to navigate in our car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcakesncoupons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you found the suite clean and the bed comfortable. The pillow menu is appreciated by many and we are proud to have them available.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Ottawa!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,591
    620
    97
    35
    17
See reviews for
899
618
82
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have nothing but only nice things to say about this hotel. The stuff is super nice, location is great. Our room was huge, very clean and it smelled nice. It was our first time in Ottawa, we celebrated our anniversary. But after first night in this hotel we didn't want to leave the room. It felt like home. I am recommending this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Prontenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are so happy to hear that you have only nice things to say about our hotel. We are honored that you are recommending us to your family and friends, thank you very much.

We hope that you enjoyed a lovely anniversary and we hope to host you again next year or sooner!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsborough, nh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Comfortable beds, clean, spacious. Great set up for our visit with the living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We made our healthy breakfast and tea each morning. Home away from home. The staff were super friendly and very helpful and accommodating. Quiet too. There were several good restaurants within close walking distance and it was a short drive to the marketplace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonebridgefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience online.

We look forward to hosing you again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We used to stay at the regular chain hotels in the area until discovering this gem on a business trip. With everything else sold out, 5 of us piled into a suite. To our surprise, we had plenty of personal space and even a kitchenette. Considering what we'd have paid for standard rooms down the road, we got a steal. The kitchen was just gravy on top of everything else.

Everything is clean, elegant and comfortable. It's nice while travelling to feel at home, and the suites do not disappoint. I recommend this hotel for all types of travel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We thank you as well for taking the time to share your kind words here on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you and the others had plenty of personal space and found everything to be clean, elegant and comfortable.

If you travel to Ottawa often for business, please consider contacting our Sales Team to talk about a negotiated corporate rate. They can be reached at sales@albertatbay.com or 613-238-8858.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Nation's Capital.

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the Albert at Bay for two and a half while visiting Ottawa for work. It had everything I needed and the staff were brilliant, so helpful and genuinely friendly. The gym was pretty much the best I've seen in a hotel gym. The location was great for me as I had to get to Tunneys Pasture most days. But I could walk to the Rideau part of town (where most shops, tourist sights, the Byward markets, etc are) in less than 20 mins. Really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazzleDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities. A special thank you for commending our hardworking staff at the hotel. The staff follow Trip Advisor closely and they were thrilled to read your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is awesome! The rooms are actual suites - like having your own apartment! We have stayed in Ottawa many times and I regret not finding this hotel earlier. It is the best value that I have seen so far! It is in walking distance to PArliament buildings, Bytown, walking and biking paths, Rideau center, Rideau canal, museums. We were able to get parking included in our rate due to a AAA special listed on the hotel's website. Parking has in/out privileges which I understand not all places have. Our room was very clean and updated. It had a full sized fridge and stove, had a microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, kettle, toaster, dishes, pots, pans, cutlery, bowls and everything that we needed. We invited friends up for a drink and asked for additional wineglasses, which were brought immediately. In room wifi was ok at times and at other times, it was slow. We did get booted out a few times and had to re log in. Our room had two bathrooms - 1 with a shower and the other with a tub/shower. Bed was comfortable. There were 2 flatscreen tvs - one in the bedroom and 1 in the living area. Lots of storage space, even a storage room with an iron board - the storage room was large enough to do your ironing and leave the iron board up. There is a very nice exercise room (relatively large with decent varied equipment), which we would have used and enjoyed but we did not have enough time. We ate at the attached restaurant and quite enjoyed the food and the variety of choices on the menu. Checking into the hotel was one of the most efficient check ins that we have been through. All staff that we encountered were very friendly, cheerful, and provided great service. I requested late check out as my husband was attending a daytime seminar that went past the regular checkout time of noon. Was given 2 extra hours no charge, then comfortably sat in the lobby for the remaining hour. The small supermarket next door was convenient for purchasing some additional breakfast items. This will be our go-to hotel whenever we return to Ottawa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia12015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We were thrilled to read your comments here on Trip Advisor. Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience online. We are honored to be your new "go-to" hotel when you return to Ottawa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked into Albert at Bay for 2 nights. We were in Ottawa to visit family. We have stayed in other hotels in the downtown area of Ottawa but this was a very pleasant surprise. Our room was a King suite and it was so much more than we could have ever expected. It was very clean and bright. I couldn't find one thing to complain about even if I tried. From the time Janel checked us in late on the Friday night to our checkout on Sunday am, again with Janel, the whole experience was very nice and welcoming. There is even a little variety store just off the lobby, which we found very convenient. The bed was very comfortable and there was even a choice of 2 styles of pillows. Very nice touch. We also had a balcony.
We did make our reservations over the phone directly with the hotel, which guaranteed us our specific room type. This, I have learned makes for a much less stressful check in. No surprises upon arrival.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Make reservations directly with the hotel. You are never guaranteed any specific room when you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay from check in to check out. Thank you for sharing some great tips for our future guests as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing