We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST value in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“BEST value in town!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed on a Fri, Sat, Sun night as a family of 4 in a 2 Queen bed, 1BR apartment.
Excellent value for the size and condition of rooms and the most comfortable beds I have EVER slept on!! Staff were lovely and extremely helpful; a smile, hello & friendly chatter will be met with the same! Ask for extra items and they will be whisked up to the room if needed (i.e patio furniture, broom, kitchen cloths). Wifi is free with a strong signal and multiple devices are allowed. Parking is extra at $20.95 per night, but good piece of mind having car secured on premises - we had no problems finding a park. Convenience store on premises for snacks, drinks, water, bread, papers, sundries etc. Pub onsite but we did not eat or drink here. Loblaws and LCBO within 15 mins walking distance for those wanting to make use of the kitchen. Sufficient items to cook basic meals but bring your own grater, corkscrew, can opener, paper towel. Gym on 11th floor has amazing new nautilus equipment, 3 treadmills, 3 cross trainers ... go outside after your workout to stretch on the rooftop whilst taking in the view. Close to tourist attractions, we will be back again and again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4_Aussies_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are very happy to hear that we have the most comfortable bed you have ever slept on and that you enjoyed the hotel, amenities and our lovely staff. We are all thankful that you took the time to share your glowing review with Trip Advisor.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,639
    631
    99
    35
    18
See reviews for
921
633
82
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved our king suite! It was really big, modern and clean. We could not believe that there were two bathrooms! Big living room, full kitchen with all kitchen essentials. 2 Flat screen tvs. Comfortable bed, comfortable pillows. Alarm clock with Iphone docking station. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ottawa. We also loved the Black Bear Pub connected to the Hotel. The food was amazing. If we come back to Ottawa we will be staying at Albert at Bay again. The price was comparable to our friends staying at a the Travel Lodge that weekend for a friends weeding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jengarrett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are so happy to see that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the King suite. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review online and for sharing some great tips with our future guests.

Most importantly, we are pleased to know that you will stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you then!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here as a group of 6. 4 adults and 2 teenaged kids. Was more than enough room. The room itself was perfect and the kids had no complaints as the Wifi had a very strong signal. Now the room itself was what made the stay enjoyable. The Front desk and the support staff need some major improvement. If one does not like their job then the Management needs to change the personnel or the management needs to be changed. When we checked in their was not a hello or a welcome. It was " Name and your credit card and ID" We stayed 3 nights 4 days and not once when we passed the front desk was there a hello. They looked up and then head back down. When we checked in we ask about the parking lot. Was told if you find parking its behind the Hotel. I asked what if its full? She said " There are pay lots around the downtown area" On several occasion our room card key did not work. We were issued 4 keys. 3 did not work. They said not to keep it by my phone, keys and wallet. I said how do you explain it on 3 different cards on 3 different people. Same response. Next visit I will look at different hotels only because of the service and really bad example of tourism from this hotel. The room was perfect but that is not all that makes up the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the room and amenities.

I am sorry to hear that you felt the service did not match up. This is not a commonplace concern for our guests and I would welcome an opportunity to further discuss your experience. At your convenience, please contact me at 613-940-2720 or amanda@albertatbay.com. Any guest's feedback is always appreciated as this helps to grow and change where needed.

Thank you again for staying and for taking the time to post your review online.

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nb
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago. As our room was not ready when we arrived we were given an upgrade to a larger suite. It was huge- two bathrooms (one with tub, one with shower), kitchen area equipped with all you need to prepare and serve a meal, large king bed, living area with fold-out sofa and dining area. I believe there were 2 tvs. This would be great for a family on vacation and the rate was very reasonable. Within walking distance of parliament and Byward market. As mentioned by a few others, parking can seem a little claustrophobic -however my husband did not seem to have any trouble manoeuvering in the garage. A good find in downtown Ottawa.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for posting some great details and tips for our future guests as well.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

stayed at albert suites for a weekend and found it to be very clean and spacious.
also close to tourist attractions and can walk to many popular spots in ottawa.
the hotel is quiet and has a restaurant and 24 hour store on the premises.

Room Tip: walk to the end of bay street and turn right and you will be at the parliament buildings in 5 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandrao22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be very clean and spacious and close to the tourist attractions. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share this review online.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Overall this hotel was a nice experience. There was a bedroom with two queen beds, a good sized living room, a kitchen, a dining area, and even a small terrace. It had plenty of space for four adults to spread out. The building itself shows its age inside with popcorn ceilings and older style stucco-like walls. But there is fresh paint, newer furniture, and it is clean. The beds were fine and comfortable to us but were not those overly-plush kind you find in some hotels (and which I really enjoy). There is a convenience store next door (similar to a 7-11), where you can get snacks to microwave and basics. But if you really want to have a selection you'll need to drive to a supermaket. I would have liked to have cooked some simple meals in the nice kitchen but found the hotel's kitchen supplies too lacking to do more than reheat. For example, there was no frying pan so we couldn't make eggs for breakfast. I was on a long trip so was very happy to have the laundry facilities in the building. There are about 5 washers and 5 dryers so they were readily available. You have to buy tokens at the front desk. It costs about $8 to wash and dry one load. We parked in the basement of the building. Parking was very oddly laid out and hard to maneuver. It was also hard to get into the garage from the main level because they let people visiting the attached restaurant leave their cars semi-blocking the entrance. The people at the front desk were nice. They lent us umbrellas when it rained. They did not always give accurate information, however. For example, they said that timed tickets to vistit Parliament weren't needed - just walk in - but that was not what I found when I got there. Unless you enjoy a healthy mile-plus workout, this location is not really within walking distance of attractions. In the morning we were able to get a cab to and from changing of the guard at a cost of about $8 there and $6 back (getting there is longer due to one-way streets).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeekyDCLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear GeekyDCLady,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are so pleased to see that you were satisfied with the hotel and amenities. I do apologize if you received some incorrect information about Parliament Hill from the front desk and if you found our location to be far from the attractions that brought you to Ottawa. We thank you though for bringing this to our attention as we were able to review this with the staff and make sure they double check all information.

In regards to the kitchen supplies, we are sorry that you needed a few more items than were found in the room. For future stays, please call us at the front desk and we will ensure that we provide more dishes or pots and pans as required, we do have extra available for you.

Thank you again for writing a review and sharing your experience online. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my fifth stay at this hotel and it's the only place I stay when I come to Ottawa. They really do have the biggest, most comfortable suites and they give you more of an apartment-type feel rather than a typical hotel room. And the CAA rate that includes free parking is definitely the best deal in town. P.S. Don't miss The Scone Witch just up the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelePClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear MichelePClarke,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel. We are so happy to see that we are your #1 choice in Ottawa.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review online and also for sharing some great tips with our future guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing