We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albert at Bay Hotel in Ottawa.. Worth the little extra $$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Albert at Bay Hotel in Ottawa.. Worth the little extra $$”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the Albert at Bay hotel last weekend it was great. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable.. They helped us find a restuarant and reccomended great activities for us and the kids.. The rooms are to die for.. Clean bright.. Balconies.. Big suites, with full kitchens and dinning table.. Very impressed. Even for 1 night made a huge difference while travelling with 2 kids.. Overnight parking is $21.. A little expensive... I was surprised by that. But the parking is very accesible by using your room key and has in and out privledges..

Over all great stay at this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingonadime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you especially for the kind words about our staff. We truly believe they are our greatest asset. They follow Trip Advisor closely and will be happy to read your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    635
    99
    35
    18
See reviews for
928
639
83
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Albert at Bay for our anniversary on the nights of December 20th and 21st. The rooms are big, well designed, and seemed to be very well maintained. We especially enjoyed having a full kitchen in the room. We found the room very quiet, and staff at the hotel to be extremely helpful and accommodating, especially Burnadette. The workout room is very nice, with a large array of machines and a great view (it's located at the very top).

If you are planning to explore some of the local attractions, the hotel is within walking distance of the major ones. Parliament Hill was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, and the market was 25 minutes away.

If you are looking for a place to stay that is outstanding value in Ottawa while having excellent amenities, look no further than the Albert at Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel. Your kind words are such a pleasure, thank you for taking the time to share this on Trip Advisor. We are truly proud of our staff and our property and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel so much.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were 4 adults and 2 teens. This hotel is perfectly located downtown and easy to access. Only a 5-10 minutes away from the main touristic places to see. The suites are big, modern, vey clean. We had 2 rooms with 2 times queen beds and bathroom for each bedroom. One central ''salon'' and a kitchenette. Parking is included which is appreciated. Good service, people were nice. Great fitness room at the 12th level. Only ''glass'' walls so you can practice while having a great view on downtown. I'm searching but absolutlly nothing negative to say. Even the price is competitive!! One of the best places I have ever been.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel for your recent visit to Ottawa.

Thank you as well for taking the time to share your experience online. Your positive and motivating comments have been shared with all of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was a getaway weekend for the kids with their grandmother, and a cousin. Great room, fabulous kitchenette, can't beat the value (less than 80 bucks a night on hotels.com). Mom and dad went to Montreal for a party weekend (and a rare break from parenting). Everyone came away happy. Grandmother said she couldn't have done it without the amenities of the room.
We still can't believe we got it as cheap as we did.
We'd highly recommend this for families visiting Ottawa, including our own.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am so pleased to hear that we had everything Grandmother needed and your family enjoyed our hotel and amenities.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our third stay at this hotel. Well situated in downtown Ottawa it would be hard to find a better bargain. One bedroom suite is very large with a full kitchen and eating area as well as a sitting/television area. Facility is well kept and service is excellent. We will definitely return again on our next trip to Ottawa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiskeylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We too think the service is excellent and it is hard to find a better bargain in Ottawa. Your kind words have been shared with all of our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

After my fourth stay feel compelled to write about this possibly little known gem. ts not just the size of the suites (HUMONGOUS), or the care of the furnishings, or the underground parking (included if you are a CAA member) or the competitive rates, or ts central location. It is that all of these are wrapped in kind, genuine, friendly, helpful service! For me it is THE place to stay in Ottawa.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have your CAA, CARP, or AAA card to show when you check n.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experiences with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. They are truly the hotel's greatest asset and they will be thrilled to read your review. We also thank you for sharing the message that booking our CAA rate and showing your membership card will give some added value with free parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We visit Ottawa 3-4 times a year but this is the first time we have stayed downtown and not out in the suburb of Kanata. Tried this based on Trip Advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. The staff is friendly and helpful. The suites are as advertised. We actually got the opportunity to view two suites. Our first one had a large dining room in addition to a breakfast area, living room, full kitchen and bedroom. The suite was huge but unfortunately some smokers preceded us in this non--smoking room so we asked to be switched to another room. The staff accommodated us immediately and our new suite was not as large but still larger than any suites we have stayed at in the Kanata area. The kitchen was a full kitchen with large refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, 2 coffee makers and all the necessary cutlery, glasses and coffee cups - although we never used anything but the refrigerator and glasses. The living room had a large flat panel television and there was a slightly smaller flat panel TV in the bedroom. In addition, the bedroom had an IPod player/alarm clock, a nice touch for a hotel in this price range. The bathroom had tile floors and granite counter top and provided all the necessary sundries (shampoo, soaps, etc) and a full size hair dryer (a necessity for my wife). The decor was modern and comfortable and the rooms were spotless and well maintained. The only meager complaints: the bathroom towels were extremely flimsy, something I unfortunately encounter in many of the hotels I use. The underground parking is not cheap (21cdn/day), extremely tight and I was thankful we had a smaller rental car instead of our large SUV. Not sure I could have made some of the turns, as evidence by the large numbers of scrapes and nicks in the garage walls and corners. Having grown up in Ottawa I knew this location was not as convenient as the Westin to the places we frequent when downtown (Byward Market area, Rideau Mall) but the hotel is certainly within walking distance of the Sparks Street mall (although it was 15 degrees the day we walked all the way to the end and not pleasant) and Parliament Hill and none of the locales we enjoy are farther than 10-15 blocks, which is certainly within our walking distance in the warmer months. At almost 2/3 less than the price of the Westin for this weekend stay, the location was a non-issue.There is a nice fitness center, which we did not use this trip, and the business center has two computers and a high speed printer. Great value, nice people...will be back in several months.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to share a detailed review online. Our guests' feedback is always welcome. I am sorry the towels did not meet our regular standard of quality. We take pride in having luxurious amenities at a reasonable price and we will ensure the towels meet that standard as well. I am very happy to see you otherwise enjoyed the hotel's amenities and our staff. Your kind words have been shared with all of our departments.

We look forward to seeing you again!!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
193 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing