We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, close to Parliment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the hotel based on the good reviews we'd read on the internet... and we're glad we did. Not knowing the city, we wanted to be sure that our accomodation was at least perect.... and it pretty much was.
The staff were great throughout our stay and the room itself was huge. With a living / dining room containing a comfy suite & flat screen TV, fully setup kitchen, main bathroom, bedroom (again with flat screen TV) and en-suite, it was absolutely all we needed for our 3 night stay.
The room was always well cleaned and while not the last word in modern decor, it was still well presented, comfortably and relaxing.
Travelling with a baby, we made good use of the fridge, microwave & kettle in the kitchen. Coffee was topped up daily too.
The only downsides to the hotel are the location. The main roads (Albert / Bay) are busy and there's a bus stop outside the hotel which makes it a little noisy in the front facing rooms. Also, while only 10/15min from the Parliment buidlings, it takes a good 25/30mins to walk to Byward Market / Rideau St and the bulk of the shopping / nightlife / restaurants. That said, the restaurant attached to the hotel serves some brilliant food!
All things considered it's a great hotel as long as you don't mind a bit of a walk to anything past Parliment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 356speedster1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,681)
There are newer reviews for Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,241 - 2,247 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hotel has a good location, and the room I had was extremely spacious - actually a big apartment. Large bedroom with two large beds - great sleeping quality - huge tv in both the bedroom and the living room. Well equipped kitchen, living room with both sofa+table and dining table. Good bathroom, nice and clean, A/C that worked well. Reception staff friendly - check in and check out was rapid. Tried the call-a-taxi-phone in the reception, and was told that it would come in 5-10 minutes - after 30 minutes waiting we gave up. Gym on one of the top floors - small but adequat and wonderful view. Newspaper delivered every morning, Coffee and tea in-room. No breakfast, but a small and good restaurant next door (only tried it for dinner), and a small grocery store close by where you can buy food to eat in your room if you like. 10-15 minutes walk to Parliament hill. To be recommended for at stay in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel about seven years ago and it was looking a little rough at the time. I'm pleased to say that it is much improved now and is quite clean and modern. The rooms are just as large as they were in the past, but have been vastly improved in look and quality. The free WiFi was much appreciated and was quite quick.

The suite I stayed in was two bathrooms, one bedroom with a queen bed. As a solo traveler, I laughed at having two bathrooms, but the deal I got on the room was too good to pass up. I appreciated having a kettle and tea bags in the kitchen. They could do with some actual mugs as well as larger bowls for cereal.

The pub/bistro on the ground floor of the hotel was pleasant with a good selection of taps and scotches. The only real downside to the experience was the distinct lack of anything close to the hotel. I mean anything: grocery stores, other restaurants, anything. No, the "Quickie" next door doesn't count as a grocery store. I had to walk fairly far to find even a Shoppers to pick up a few items.

Finally, be aware of the price of the parking. At over $20 with taxes, it is kind of excessive.

Room Tip: Albert side of the hotel has noise from passing buses. If that is an issue, get a room near the top...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had 1000 sq feet apartment suite that included a fully equipped kitchen, one bedroom, two bathrooms (including one en suite), living room, dining room and a storage room. It was like having our own appartment in Ottawa. Indeed, I wish that our rented appartment in Montréal was that good. Since we were going to be in Ottawa for two weeks, it made sense for us to have a kitchen since eating out everyday can get a bit expensive. We have absolutely no regrets!!! In addition to the suite, I loved the gym - it was very spacious, with plentiful equipment. I particularly liked the person TVs. There is even a convenience store on premises. The cleaning staff was very nice. The hotel is also conveniently situated a short walk from downtown Ottawa. The only criticism that I can think of is that the food in the on site restaurant was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicalRhyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed 2 days Oct 5-6 ,2011 . We were 2 families and had 2 suites. Suites were very spacious .The kitchen was well equipped . The beds were some of the comfiest I have ever slept in,the linens very nice.The hotel is very clean.Staff at desk was very friendly and helpful in all our dealings .The location is fabulous with a short walk to Parliment Hill and so much more downtown.I would stay at this hotel again for sure .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Location was perfect. We had an extremely spacious 2-BR suite with all the amenities (kitchen, dining area, living room, three huge closets, a safe for your valuables). The beds/linens/pillows were unbelievably comfortable. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. I liked the added security of the hotel & parking garage. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I've been travelling to Ottawa occasionally for business for about 20 years. A colleague told me about Albert @ Bay and I've never looked back. Over the years the decor has sometimes been dated but recently it has had a major overhaul and updated and they now have large flat screen TV and WiFi but the friendly staff and space are still A+. Whenever I had any questions or needed something the staff was more than willing to oblige.

For my money, you can't get better value in downtown Ottawa.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter but tend to be dark as you are looking across an alley into another ho...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aveotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $138 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing