We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal - some concerns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The sauna is now closed and is a change room. The pool liner seemed crumpled and there was some gummy substance above the water line in certain areas. We did enjoy the pool and hot tub, but wondered about the cleanliness and maintenance of the facilities

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We try to keep out pool area to the best possible cleanliness, We ask that all patrons wash themselves in the shower area before entering the pool. But it is hard to police such a policy.
The pool liner is an odd phenomenon due to the salt water system. But it has not lost its integrity or developed a hole. It is like how your fingers wrinkling after being in the water too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 423 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Not sure how this hotel has a PLUS rating with Best Western. No breakfast served, tired run down hotel, not a property I'd be wanting to stay at for an extended length of time with the rock hard beds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Anson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

I am very sorry to hear about your stay not being satisfactory.
Normally our pillow top mattresses are well received. But everyone has their comfort level.
The restaurant attached to us is a separate company. As such we cannot offer a free complimentary breakfast. Best Western Does have a Bed and Breakfast rate that is use by all Best Westerns that do not have a continental buffet.
A a PLUS we do have a full service restaurant with room service, interactive tvs with movie and music selections, Very fast WiFi, large pool and spa area, large green space and ample parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel August 1st and 2nd 2014. Yes, the hotel is an older hotel, but in our experience, it was very clean. I didn't notice carpet stains like the others. It doesn't have an elevator, so lugging everything upstairs was an inconvenience but certainly not a huge one. If you are elderly etc, I would ask for the first floor.

We were worried when we arrived because the street out front was very busy. We thought we would hear traffic all night but we didn't hear anything from our room. In fact, we had the best sleep that we had in a long time! I would like to ask the manager what mattress they have because I would like one for home. We had a king bed in either room 402 or 405 I can't remember.

Breakfast wasn't included our first night but it was the second night. It's in the attached restaurant. It was the usual bacon and eggs etc.

We loved the pool and hot tub and used them both days. I loved that it was an actual full sized deep end pool. We didn't find it dirty. A man came in while we were swimming and inspected the whole area. I assume it was a cleanliness check as he was dressed as a maintenance man.

I have to admit that we were skeptical when we were outside that evening. There were some " ladies" around dressed like " women of ill repute" We got the distinct impression that they were being taken out on "calls". This is of course pure speculation on our part. We didn't actually ask them if that was what they were doing. :) it didn't bother us though, we just minded our own business and I in no means felt unsafe.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for this fine report.

The mattresses you asked about is the Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattress. They are great.
We have the largest pool and hot tub inn the Ottawa area and we maintain the salt water system the best we can.
The weekend that you stayed there was a large electronic music festival in the area. It did provide some lovely costumes that the party goers were wearing while they went to the various concerts in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent a couple nights here in August of 2014. Old hotel, definitely in need of some TLC to give it a bit of a facelift (it's looking a bit tired in the hallways). The advantage of older hotels - it was fairly quiet despite a relatively busy road out front. The biggest challenge we had was when we got to our room - we noticed there was no shower curtain? Mentioned this at the desk and totally confused the girl there. She wanted to know how many we wanted? Um, one would be fine! Misunderstanding I get, but total confusion is beyond me. Fortunately, someone else was there to help get us fixed up and on our way. Location is convenient - short drive to either Kanata or hop on the expressway and you are downtown in no time. Easy to access.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your response.
As an older hotel the structure is well built.
The front desk was confused for a bit as an Item like a shower curtain never disappears.
We have plenty of request for extra towels but a curtain is a whole different thing.
I glad my senior staff where able to fix the problem for you.
It is nice to be located right beside both major highways in Ottawa.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The staff were great and the pool and hot tub (salt water) were nicely maintained. The little patios were nice but need to be cleaned from time to time. Smoking should not be allowed near the building as it tends to permeate the rooms and leave a permanent smell!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank FriedaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your response.
We have tried many things to eliminate smoking near the building but out side of policing around the clock, people do not realize the impact they have. Especially if you are smoking in front of an ac unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We needed a pet-friendly hotel (cats) in the area while relocating... this one came with the grandiose title of "convention center" so we booked a few nights. The title makes you think that it's a good sized-hotel... one that at least has an elevator to access the second floor.

Nope. You need to lug everything up to your room.

First impression... dirty. The carpets at the side entrance were stained and worn, and the hallways were dark. The carpet and furniture in the room was worn. The bathroom seemed to have been recently remodeled but with a poor design since the toilet seat wouldn't stay up as it was blocked by the counter top.

We tried to relax in the pool but the dirt on the bottom was nasty. For some reason there are no towels in the pool room, you have to request them from the front desk.

If we hadn't already pulled all our stuff up the stairs before seeing the condition of the place we would have checked out and gone elsewhere.

There was no complimentary breakfast. The little restaurant downstairs had decent BBQ in the evening, with overworked waitresses who were understaffed to handle peak meal times. Lots of people were waiting forever for breakfast, many left before being served.

Luckily you had the option of either using the communal microwave in your hallway to warm something up, or walking to 2 Tim Hortons or a Starbucks if needed. There are several nice restaurants nearby, which was nice. And if you're tired, the "adult massage" parlour next door might be able to help.

We were actually shushed by an employee for having a conversation in the hallway as we returned to our room from the pool late on a Friday afternoon. Apparently "there was a big meeting in one of the conference rooms". Really? What company is doing critical business at 4:30pm on Friday at the Best Western?

I do not recommend this hotel, at all. There are much nicer places in the area to stay in.

Room Tip: There are none. It's a sprawling mess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ridiculous888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I am Very sorry about your stay. We are usually top notch in our service and care.

We do consider ourselves a conference center with over 5000 sq feet of meeting space with in our 7 rooms. Unfortunately the hotel was built in the early 70s and a provision was not made for any elevators at the time. Though we will gladly help you with your luggage at any time.

Our carpets are professionally shampooed on a monthly basis and we have ceiling and wall lighting in the hallways.

We do vacuum our pool on a daily basis but it is hard to control who was in there earlier and if they showered as required. When we had towels in the pool area we found a 50% increase of missing towels. People are more inclined to return a towel if they has asked a person first.

It is true that the restaurant on site is a separate business and smoke house BBQ is a new venture they are taking. I will address the staffing issue with the owners. I have, a times, helped out in the dinning room when it gets busy. I just don't recall a time in the last while that they needed it.

We do have have a lot of companies, unions and military operations holding meeting on a regular basis. Though usually if the company needs a quite period for testing or examination we have clearly marked signs.

I do apologize for the dissatisfaction that you had at the hotel. If we would have known at the time, we would have done whatever was in our power to fix the problem for you.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Kanata Best Western is conveniently located a short distance from Connaught Ranges, and across the street from a small Tim Hortons. The staff is friendly and they always try to accommodate your room choice. The restaurant is not what it used to be (fine dining) and is now more like pub food, but they do have some decent beers on tap.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I am very glad you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff. Location is very important and we are just 5 min away from both highways. In case you need that Tim Horton's fix but don't want to cross the street; the gas station next door also served Tim Horton's Coffee.
The Restaurant was a classic grill and is now moving into a smokehouse concept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#39 of 68 in Ottawa
500 reviews
Kanata
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#40 of 68 in Ottawa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1876 Robertson Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K2H 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#27 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $118 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Barons Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing