We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is one of the best i've stayed in. Great value.

Bed was new and comfortable.
I travel alot for work and i will return to this hotel.
If you are looking for value, comfort and a clean place to stay this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuji1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you Fuji1 for your response.

We strive to provide our guests with clean, comfortable and safe accommodations.
I hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 444 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Took our kids hockey team to this hotel and it was just okay. I was not pleased with how our kids were threatened to have the police called on them when they are just 9 years old when all they were doing was playing mini sticks (inside) and man hunt outside. Not once did they come to talk with the parents. The Hotel needs to learn to step up and offer a hospitality room for these types of teams that travel. There were many options for the hotel to choose, and it appears not one was considered. Food in the hotel restaurant was very good, and the staff was excellent. They also need to learn to admit to their mistakes when dealing with families and offer quickly, steps to keep their customers happy. I will not get into details, but one of our families found items in a room (not for kids to see) that would cause anyone to expect a weekend to be accomodated for when found.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you again for your review.
We did not call the police for children but for the rampant drinking in the hall ways and public drunkenness. Reports of parents in hallways talking loudly and leaving alcoholic beverages in corridors and pool area was our concern.
We do have hospitality rooms of which you can enjoy at a nominal fee.
We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant and I will let the owners know.
And as you know, we gave the family with the surprise in their room a complimentary weekend stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The property is very run down and few of the front desk staff with experience to properly answer questions and follow-up on specific room charge issues. The floors in the suites were not level and in some were very difficult to navigate due to the changes in the elevation. The restaurant facilities attached had great staff, however, they never stayed open long enough to enjoy or relax. Most evenings we had to go to the nearest mall or tavern to get something to eat and a night cap beverage. Meeting rooms were average and extremely noisy when other events are located on the other side of the partition. Only recommended if the stay is 1 night. The front rooms are very noisy due to street traffic.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InternationBroomball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here while visiting friends in Ottawa. Being in Canada, no complimentary breakfast, and more expensive than similar hotels in the US. Good sized room and bathroom clean. Bed comfortable. Wifi good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two2bThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you found the hotel clean and comfortable.

We do consistently check the room rates in local hotels to ensure that we are competitive.

I hope that we will get you see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Deluxe accommodation was very spacious so it would be ideal for a family travelling with kids. Front Desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Our GPS could not find the address as the hotel's address was actually changed in the summer; not the location but just the address. The Front Desk gave us the old address which the GPS finally recognized.

Room Tip: there are no elevators on the property. Location was close to shopping and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChineseJamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We love having families come and enjoy our facilities

It is true the the city changed the name of the street in the spring. It is a good practice for travelers to update their GPS through their computers before every trip. this will help with detours, new highway builds and updated faster routes.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've traveled for couple of months to Ottawa for business trips, and stayed in a few other hotels.This place is not best place, but very ok. Nice and friendly staff, good service, and good price. Many restaurants are just close-by, but the inside Fritz is great. I like the rooms with balcony for fresh air. We've stayed at this place dozen times and like it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank NeverSaysNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your response.
As a Midscale Hotel, we do our best to satisfy our customers with the amenities that we have.
i am glad that you enjoyed our rooms and find the employees friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a perfect hotel we had a king suite compliments of Air Miles . The hotel policy is to disinfect the remote controls , what a great idea , also you can open a window in the bedroom to let some fresh air in .Everything was clean and the staff very nice . Ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant , they also were very accommodating and their prices more than reasonnable.ex:$1.50 for a special order of 1 scambled egg !!Nice stay at this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artistesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
As a smaller property we really appreciate each guest and relish in the opportunity to service you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Kanata
Holiday Inn & Suites Ottawa Kanata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#41 of 68 in Ottawa
518 reviews
Kanata
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#40 of 68 in Ottawa
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1876 Robertson Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K2H 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Kanata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#27 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $102 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Barons Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing