We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice plain pleasant place to stay in Ottawa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Picton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice plain pleasant place to stay in Ottawa”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Macie's location is excellent: close to the centre of Ottawa, with buses to downtown at the door, across from a shopping centre, & near the Experimental Farm if you feel like some instant country. It isn't fancy (no pool or spa), but its prices are reasonable. The rooms are clean, quiet & comfortable & the decor is easy on the eye. The staff (especially Wilson on the front desk) are cheerful & eager to help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.

We really appreciate your positive remarks and will pass your compliments on to our Staff and Wilson. It is genuine comments from guests such as you that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to Ottawa.

Kind regards,

Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    224
    92
    35
    16
See reviews for
210
107
38
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

No complaints whatsoever about this very clean, modern hotel. Room immaculate, bed comfortable. Ten minutes to downtown Ottawa. Ate at the diner across the street in the mall for the most part. The restaurant located in the hotel basement did not appeal to me at all but that's my own opinion. Found the prices for dinner a little high. Restaurant not affiliated with Best Western btw.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DaisyMaeWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Macies Best Western is convehiently located on Carling near the 417. I find the price reasonable. The restaurant does a fairly good job and that is a good thing as there are very few restaurants nearby. The staff at Macies are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean. Ottawa is not a cheap city to stay overnight. I find Macies reasonable and a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The tap in our room was broken (broken cartridge?) and the scalding water burnt my 5 year old daughter's hand. After that, we made the tap off limits and reported it to the front desk (but we left the next day, we only reported it so someone else would not get injured.) Was not impressed that I was overcharged for my room stay (and didn't realize this until a few days later when I was adding up the cost in my head and wondered why it was $50 more than I was told it would be.) I phoned to inquire about this, and was told that this was common practice for "most hotels" as I might make long distance or room service charges and not to worry as I dd not rack up any extra charges. I thought that was dumb, as they had my credit card number, and that in my experience, it is not "common" practice. Anyways, despite this, the room was large and fairly clean. The location was okay, as it was near restaurants and Bayshore mall and parliment was a short drive.The elevator was slow. Breakfast was not free. The front desk staff seemed really busy and the hotel was packed. Only stayed here as all the hotels in the city that I called were booked. I am not sure if I would recommend this or stay here again, as I didn't like how they reacted to me reporting the taps or calling about the strange overcharges. Found parking free and easy in the parking lot. Did not use the pool or gym. The room was larger than most hotel rooms with easy access to ice machine. Liked that our room had a fridge. There was a 24 hour Shoppers Drug Mart across the street and it was fairly close to a hospital.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiatrip2007Winnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great place to stay while visiting Ottawa. Comfortable, great food, close to all amenities, easy to get to and to get downtown. Highly recommend! Staff was excellent, so was the food. Lots of parking, a new place we will go to over and over again each time we visit Ottawa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Batesy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location from HWY 417 since I am not from the Capital. Only thing is that breakfast not included. The staff are better than the other (Robertson Rd) location. Room is cleaner than other location as well and did not see any big bugs in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rezwanul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Valley, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Elevator slow as hell, air condition sucked, like living in a tin shack for noise levels, staff did the best they could for what they had to work with, not much help around when your that busy, there was something going on in the lounge, but not enough staff to serve guests who were not part of that group. No security cameras for outside protection of property or self. Would go to Ottawa again, but for our nations capital, Best Western should up their game, this Hotel did not meet the standards that should be associated with our Capital.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa West - Nepean
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
559 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing