We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We stay here often when we have to be in the area for early morning appointments. The staff is always friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Even though it's at a fairly busy intersection, you don't hear the traffic. The workout equipment is top notch too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JoWhee_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear JoWhee XX,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind positive review and we will pass them on.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    210
    87
    33
    15
See reviews for
196
102
34
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Have stayed here before at Macie's. The rooms are clean, staff attentive and helpful. Every time we have stayed at this Best Western there have been no problems. Great place to stay. Close to 417 and 416.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was a pit stop during a long, cross-country journey for us in December. The location was good, as there are several amenities around the area, yet you avoid the traffic of the downtown. Just off the highway. Free parking!
Room had been updated, it was clean, spacious, and quiet. Customer service representatives were very friendly and helpful, too.
We were late getting in, and very cold, so we opted to stay and eat the hotel restaurant on the lower level. Walking in, I had doubts. Mirrored walls, no windows, and a bit of a dingy feel is what we walked down the stairs to. The décor is very dated, and there were only a few other people there, all on the bar side. We considered leaving, when we were greeted by a pleasant server, so we opted to look over the menu. The simple, diner menu options with very reasonable prices, along with the pleasant server, led to us deciding to give it a try. I'm glad we did! We had beverages and warm bread served to us right away while we waited for our dinner. My boyfriend had a pasta and chicken dish, and I opted for a wrap and salad, both which were large servings. Our meals tasted like home cooking! Food was quick, hot, and delicious!
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for all the basics: clean, quiet, convenient, reasonable priced stay in Ottawa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Amanda D,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and will pass your compliments on to our Staff and the Café 1274’s owner. It is positive comments such as yours that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been staying weekly and then biweekly and now monthly since March 2013 at this BW property. This is a simple hotel, nothing fancy but has the best bed and linens as well as top notch customer service. Shelly and Wilson and the night staff are wonderful, always address me by name and always remember my room preference. its these small things that make you feel like you have a home away from home when you travel as much as I do. I am grateful for this.

Additionally, the café serves good home cooked meals and awesome salads and delivers with a smile and the gym facilities are always clean and in good working order.

thank you Macies BW for all you do for your customers. I am looking forward to all my 2014 visits.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear bergsmac,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and we will pass them on to our Staff and to Café 1274. After 75 years in business, it is positive comments such as yours that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel and we appreciate your loyalty.
Kind regards,
Kimberley Macies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed @ Macie's Best Western while in Ottawa for our son's hockey tournament and enjoyed every minute of our stay at this hotel; rooms, lobby, hallways and other amenities are absolutely spotless. Location of hotel is a short 8 minute drive to Parliament and downtown. Staff was helpful and courteous. Quiet, well-kept property. We would DEFINITELY stay at Macie's again.

Room Tip: 4th floor was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Julie S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind observations about our staff and property and we will pass them along.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

If staying in Ottawa the Macies is convenient and off the beaten path but still close to all that Ottawa offers. Clean, functional and courteous staff will keep me coming back. I appreciate the location and ease to get on to the downtown core and back to the highways.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GuyNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear GuyNotes,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind observations about our staff and property and we will pass them along.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I was working out of a city of Ottawa location on the west side of town for over a week, and this hotel was perfect. Great accommodations, staff, and food. Not fancy, or recently redone, but a top notch bed and linens, extremely clean room/lobby, and quiet. Add to that nice radiant heat (instead of the forced air type that always seems to get me sick) and a good price, this place was a great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Christopher S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind observations about our property and staff and we will definitely pass them on. It is through positive reviews such as yours that help motivate us to keep improving.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing