We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a basic hotel with no surprises. The room was clean and quiet. The only complaint would be it was too warm even with trying to regulate the temperature! The location is great for highway access and it is not difficult to get into downtown.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear KarenM,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive comments and we will look into the issue of the room temperature.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    208
    86
    31
    14
See reviews for
192
101
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel since 1984 because of the consistency in cleanliness, comfort and service. I get an undisturbed night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and the room has excellent facilities to work in the evening. The restaurant is in the basement, but the food is delicious, well prepared and presented and very reasonable in cost. I just wish more restaurants would service the"Goldilox" omelette for breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear RichardH,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
Wow, what a wonderful review, we are very happy to know that you are pleased with the service we are providing and will definitely pass on your compliments to our Staff and to those of Café 1274.
We look forward to continuing to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was great to stay at this hotel, very clean and a good size room, the staff were friendly. We were seeing family so it was located in the half way point to their homes. The floor that we were staying on was quiet and non smoking which was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dianne&george O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Dianne&GeorgeO,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive comments and will definitely pass on your compliments to our Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was quite adequate but nothing special as we all know that the Best Western Plus hotels can be. If we were to pan a trip like this again, we make sure that we really checked the hotel out on the internet and go by type of hotel and not just location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear MichaelH,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We were disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction. As a family run hotel in business for over 70 years, we take pride in offering comfortable guest rooms at a great price. We take feedback such as yours very seriously in order to improve customer service and guest satisfaction.
Your business is very important to us and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Was pleased with how big the room was but it was quite old and smelled that way too. Chose to not take my wife here the next time we passed through but it was cheap and was just me this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EA-M-W29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear EA-M-W29,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We were disappointed to hear you had issues with your stay. It is through comments such as yours, that help us to make improvements to our hotel and our service.
Your business is important to us and we hope we have another opportunity to provide an improved experience.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Convenient parking within walking distance to a shopping mall and restaurants. Clean and well maintained with nice spa and workout/exercise facilities. Bar/Restaurant in the basement. Stayed here on business at the beginning of October 2013 and recommend this place for anyone looking to stay near downtown Ottawa for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Josef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear JosefG,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.
All the best,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very nice hotel. It is incredibly clean and well kept with a friendly staff. We found it very convenient to Carleton University and the many attractions of Ottawa and yes we will stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear GaryK,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and for your positive recommendation and comments about our staff; I will make sure they are passed on to them.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#13 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing