We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful hotel staff ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank noideaman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 629 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while in Ottawa to attend a wedding and used this facility as it was close to the Wedding Venue. The staff were very friendly, the room very clean,(believe me my wife checks), and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had been updated in the not too distant past and we were pleased with everything although the room air conditioner was a bit noisy, but most of these units are.
We used the restaurant only for Breakfast, and we thought it was good value for a hotel restaurant and the food was good. They could improve their coffee though.
Access to downtown is adequate as a city bus stops virtually outside the door with no transfers to go downtown. It's route goes through Little Italy where there are lots of cafes and restaurants.
If you want to drive to downtown, it is a bit out of the way.
Overall, a very pleasant stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator. Higher floors better (fourth floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Veedee,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your kind comments are very much appreciated. Regarding your concerns about the noise level of the air conditioning, we are sorry it impeded on your stay and are currently looking into it. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberley Macies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had to be at the hospital super early and decided to stay here the night before. Sherry at the front desk was very nice and welcoming. She made sure we knew about all the things the hotel had to offer. The bed was super comfortable and the room was clean and quiet.... a few things that are very important to us since we wanted to be sure to get a good nights sleep.
We have been to 3 out of the 4 Best Western's in the Ottawa/Hull area and so far this one wins on all counts.
The only thing that surprised me was there was no complementary breakfast, but that seems to be more of a US BW thing.
The A/C in the room was a window unit, a little noisy but effective.
Overall a great place for what we needed.
Thanks again Sherry!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in a business room. This may have helped in having a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katzmeow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Katzmeow13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you think so highly of our hotel and staff. We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Sherry. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Kimberley Macies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here while visting Ottawa. Is about 7km from city centre. The surrounding area is a bit grim with few shops/restaurants. Our room was a bit dark and the air con machine broken but overall was clean/comfortable. The restaurant was in the basement and a bit cramped with limited choice but the restaurant staff were very friendly and provided very good service and the food was good. Large car park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Sadie64,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. Your comments are appreciated and we will be taking them into consideration. We were sorry to read that your air conditioner wasn’t functioning properly, and we have addressed the issue. We hope to see you on your next visit to Ottawa.

Sincerely,

Kimberley Macies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank potts_sl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Traveling on business often means arriving at a hotel only to find "surprises" - often not nice surprises. No so at the Best Western Plus Macies Hotel. Front desk was solicitous, friendly, and professional. While it is obviously not a brand new hotel, decor was hotel-standard-tasteful and in very good repair. My room was spacious with a full-size desk, another table, and a comfortable wing chair - all very welcome when one has to spread out work materials, computer, etc., or take a break. Free wi-fi was fine with no connection hassles. The bathroom was of average size with all the standard amenities. All in all comfortable and highly functional, if not the last word in luxury. I'm usually wary of small hotel restaurants but Cafe 1274 in the hotel's basement was a pleasant surprise. I needed to dine with a colleague and we decided that Cafe 1274 was the best option. Food and drinks were reasonably priced, service fine, and the meal very good indeed.

One further tip: the room service menu prices are a steal, given that most hotels really mark these up. If you're in Ottawa on business, look up Best Western and Macies. It'll be just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mark,

It was a pleasure reading such a positive review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberley Macies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we stayed here because we were going to the hockey game..
great location, a small mall right across the street, very convenient to the arena, highway and downtown ottawa.

was worth the price for the quality, staff at the front desk were very friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Hm86,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We will pass on your positive comments to the front desk staff.

Sincerely,

Kimberley Macies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,496 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $101 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing