We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 12, 2013

booked best availible rate and didnt notice that it didnt include breakfast called and was advised it is actually cheaper to just eat breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel! very accomodating, nice staff will probably stay on our next trip up to winterlude! 2 adults 2 small children 2 queen beds, rooms were very clean carpet a bit dated as well as the bathroom but very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 629 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were at Macies for 1 night. The room was very nice. It was clean and comfortable. Good price and good location. The staff is very friendly and attentive to our needs. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mummalord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for five nights 1/21/13 .. This is Owner/Operator style so they are very conscientious about everything. They accommodated numerous requests including giving us a free private conference room for family meals so our family can eat cold meals (also has a bed in it) . We did a lot of research beforehand and we found this to be the best value for the money . .. Fridge in every room.. ect .. we rented 10-15 rooms for about 5 days .

Pros:
• Free internet connection is very good and hassle free.. hooked on right away .
• Most rooms pretty large .
• Big office chair in every room. Very work friendly.
• Rates were the best for what you are getting.
• The hotel tries hard to make things right.
• Walking distance to Food Basics.. (20-25 min walk to Walmart also)
• Linen seems pretty fresh ..
• You got the fridge . In the winter put your soda on the window-sill and open the window a crack .. you might want to do that anyway .. you get a nice exchange of air

Cons:
• Soft (but good quality) beds as opposed to firm or medium
• expect a hotel that was built 30-50 years ago ..
• Bathroom hardware and room hardware and decor is pretty dated (some rooms may be updated but very few)
• Owner operator hotel .. so everything is personal business as opposed to a chain… not the cool employee run type .
• I don’t know why .. NO EXHAUST FANs in any of the BATHROOMS .
• 3 stars out of 5 .. because of the décor and hardware .

Room Tip: Every da-n room is a little different .. Unless you ask to see the room first it's pot-luck. I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Samuel,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and we have passed them onto our staff. As a family owned and operated hotel, it was our pleasure to accommodate your family and make them as comfortable as possible.

We would like to address some comments that were listed. With respect to your feedback concerning exhaust fans in the bathrooms, we have an exhaust system that operates 24 hours a day for all bathrooms throughout the hotel. This system is environmentally friendly, provides better indoor air quality and is energy efficient. We are also in the midst of renovations of our rooms and are aware of the need to update the décor.

We hope that we may be of service to you and your family again in the future.

Yours truly,
Kimberley Macies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a short stay for two days a Macies, for me the location was very convenient since I was having a meeting at the Ottawa Hospital at Civic Campus which is a 5 min drive, also very close to the Little Italy where you can find good places to eat and have fun.
The room was very clean, comfortable beds and good speed wifi internet, also had breakfast in their cafe and it was very good.
The staff was very friendly and gave great tips for dinning
I would certainly come back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drblonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank kinzcan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank STANLEY R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I just returned from another great stay at Macies. There's new equipment in the gym - treadmill, elliptical, bike - each with a personal TV and iPod hookups. There's a bigger TV in the gym as well, if you prefer that.

I was doing a lot of driving all over Ottawa and the central location of Macies can't be beat. On/off the highway is really easy, downtown is less than 10 minutes away. The easy access and free parking are also big pluses.

I spend a lot of time in hotels and I find the beds at Macies really comfortable. I always sleep great.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OaklandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 68 in Ottawa
1,495 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $101 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing