We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for my business trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greater Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel for my business trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

I've stayed at this Best Western a number of times when in Ottawa on business. I've tried a few different suite hotels in Ottawa, but I've found this one to be the best value. Rooms are nicely furnished with a comfortable chair and desk. Wireless internet is easy to use and very reliable. Staff are generally good, and there's usually a taxi waiting at the hotel front door in the mornings. Free breakfast is nothing spectacular, but its adequate. There have been a couple times when there was no hot water in the shower in the morning, but otherwise my experience has been good.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    560
    107
    14
    10
See reviews for
473
409
68
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2007

This hotel is exceptionally clean and very tastefully decorated! I am a fanatic about cleanliness and this place is very clean. The rooms are little small but functional with a separate sleeping area. The bathroom is quite spacious and has a large granite countertop. The bed is extremely comfortable. When we return to Ottawa we will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Overly crowded breakfast area
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ExPat_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

My wife, daughter and I had a purpose: to skate on the Rideau Canal and to explore the winter attractions of Ottawa during the Winterlude festival in February 2007.

The location of this hotel is perfect: near the middle of the canal, the drive to either end was a few minutes; we could have walked to the middle of the canal, but chose to drive to the end.

We booked through Expedia and were checked in within seconds upon arrival (as long as it took me to pull out a Visa). This was a weekend stay, Friday to Sunday. We were immediately given a code for wireless Internet access, which we used to narrow down the list of attractions to check out. Connection was stable, not blazing fast, but reasonable (much better than dial-up, in any case).

Underground parking with unlimited in/out privileges came in very handy. The parking garage was smallish, but once I got used to the size, it was just fine.

Our room was on the second floor. It was extremely clean (my wife is very picky about these things, this time she couldn't stop admiring the cleanliness). The small kitchenette was equipped with a microwave, a sink, a coffe maker and a bar fridge, as well as dishes, glasses and cutlery. Dishwashing liquid was also provided.

The bathroom deserves a separate praise. The only thing I would add there would be a heating lamp in the ceiling, like they have in some hotels. Otherwise, it was great. The shower curtain rod was arched outward, thus creating additional shoulder space. One rectangular part of the large mirror never fogged over; not sure if by coincidence or by design. Very handy, when you jump out of the shower and try to comb your hair.

We used the in-room safe to guard valuables (our daughter's Nintendo DS and such).

I had to fumble a bit with the in-room heating system, but once that was figured out, the system worked very well, maintaining a stable and comfortable temperature.

Globe and Mail was delivered to the door in the morning. The continental breakfast was served in two rooms downstairs, with a variety of cereals, muffins, bagels, croissants (very well baked, although evidently not baked in-house) and the usual fare. Nice and clean breakfast area.

The hotel has a nice list of extras that they can do for their guests, including shopping for groceries. We didn't have to use any of the extras.

The 8th floor hosts a fitness centre. The room was not very large at all, and I don't know what it would be like if all the machines were occupied at the same time. The machinery looked new and fully functional, including the electronic bells and whistles that come with the modern equipment (we tried them all). I believe they had five or six machines in total. The fitness room seemed to be well supplied with fresh air. We did not check out the sauna, but noted that it existed next to the fitness room.

The windows in our room faced Gladstone Ave. It is a four-lane street, but I can't remember hearing the sound of a car (there were plenty driving by).

The hotel lacks a restaurant. Meanwhile, it was a non-issue for us, because we planned it that way. We brought our own groceries (veggies, sandwiches) and used the kitchenette to fix light supper. We were outdoor most of the time anyway and ate out elsewhere.

We left the hotel with great impressions. The checkout was quick. As soon as a lineup started forming, a second clerk came to the desk, and again, it took us no time to check out. All in all, we were very pleased with Best Western Victoria Park Suites in Ottawa, the weekend of February 10th, 2007. We would gladly go back to that hotel.

  • Liked — Easy access from highway 417, close to Rideau Canal; excellent room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank e_marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

We just got back from our trip to Ottawa ON and stayed at the Best Western Victoria Park Suites.

Good: Newly renovated and friendly front desk staff

Bad:
Where do I begin? Our stay was terrible
20 minute walk from major attractions which would be fine, but they advertise themselves as "downtown".

Terrible management. If you have a complaint or an issue don't expect to receive anything other than free parking or a movie. The front desk staff do their best to help you but when it boils down to it, the management are obviously not interested in guest happiness.

Also, when we arrived we had no room available for us on the first night of our stay, even though we had called earlier that day to confirm our room. What I didn't realize until recently is that they over book their hotel all of the time. So if you are the last one in that night you may be bumped to a different hotel like us (especially if you are booking through something like Expedia and are paying the lowest rate).

All in all not happy. I would never stay here again. I would recommend staying at the Cartier Place or Albert at Bay for a better more central downtown hotel. We've had good experiences there

  • Liked — Newly renovated
  • Disliked — The poor treatment from upper management
  • Tips/Secrets — Just because you call to confirm your reservation DOES NOT mean you will get a room here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Notpicky06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights in February 2006 with my wife & Children and here are my overall impressions of this property.


Rooms:
-The Standard rooms with 2 double beds are smallish for more than 2 people thus we found it somewhat cramped. However,
the beds were quite comfortable and the room had a fridge/microwave & sink area which was convenient. There was also an in-room safe. If you are more than 2 people, I would suggest getting a larger room.
The room (and hotel) were clean.


Hotel Staff:
-Were pleasant for our entire stay.

Hotel Ammenities:
-Quite basic. There is no pool or restaurant on-site, thus no entertainment for the kids to keep them occupied. This may be good if you DONT have children, as the hotel is probably quiet most of the time (Didn't see any small children, other than our own).
The free continental breakfast was nicely done, with cereal/muffins/croissants/toast/juices/coffee/tea offered.

Location:
-It is approx a 20-25 minute walk to the Rideau Centre and the Byward Market area from the hotel. Although this hotel is technically in Downtown Ottawa, it is on the "Edge" of the downtown area thus a reasonable walk to the downtown attractions. Elgin St is recommended to get you there, with the myrad of shops & restaurants (and panhandlers!) to explore.
I would not suggest a person travelling alone use this hotel, as again there is no restaurant on-site. You would have to walk down Elgin St, and depending on the time of day this may not be the greatest idea given the neighbourhood the hotel is in. The neighbourhood is quiet, however.

Good luck!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank onemangang1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2005

Stayed at the Best Western for 5 nights and found it very comfortable and convenient. The location means a 10 minute walk into the downtown area but this means its quieter. We had a queen bed room which had good facilities like microwave and coffee maker.
Really recommend it for those wanting to stay in Ottawa.

Helpful?
5 Thank tim9hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2005

My husband and I stayed in the Best Western, Victoria Park suites, Ottawa, for two nights, in June 2005. We had a room with a queen size bed, small fridge and microwave. It also included dishes and cutlery. The room and bathroom were very clean. (I am quite particular about cleanliness.) It has to be the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!! You get a free continental breakfast and a newspaper delivered to your door in the morning. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful for directions. They have underground parking which was about $10 per day. It doesn't matter where you go in Ottawa, you have to pay around $13.00 for parking. Many of the streets are 'one way' which can be quite confusing at first, until you get to know your way around.

The only negative thing I could say about the Hotel, was that there were no resturaunts close to the Hotel. They were all about a 20 minute walk or a few minutes by car. The neighbourhood was very safe.

If you go to Ottawa, you have to eat at the Byward market. They have some of the best restaurants. The price for a meal was very reasonable.

We took the Grayline Coach tour of Ottawa. The price was about $30.00 per person for an all day pass, but it is a great way to see Ottawa. You can get off at any of the attractions and get back on again whenever you want and go on to the next stop. The buses pass by about every hour so you don't have to wait long.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank HelenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing