We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't return here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2006

We just got back from our trip to Ottawa ON and stayed at the Best Western Victoria Park Suites.

Good: Newly renovated and friendly front desk staff

Bad:
Where do I begin? Our stay was terrible
20 minute walk from major attractions which would be fine, but they advertise themselves as "downtown".

Terrible management. If you have a complaint or an issue don't expect to receive anything other than free parking or a movie. The front desk staff do their best to help you but when it boils down to it, the management are obviously not interested in guest happiness.

Also, when we arrived we had no room available for us on the first night of our stay, even though we had called earlier that day to confirm our room. What I didn't realize until recently is that they over book their hotel all of the time. So if you are the last one in that night you may be bumped to a different hotel like us (especially if you are booking through something like Expedia and are paying the lowest rate).

All in all not happy. I would never stay here again. I would recommend staying at the Cartier Place or Albert at Bay for a better more central downtown hotel. We've had good experiences there

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Notpicky06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights in February 2006 with my wife & Children and here are my overall impressions of this property.


Rooms:
-The Standard rooms with 2 double beds are smallish for more than 2 people thus we found it somewhat cramped. However,
the beds were quite comfortable and the room had a fridge/microwave & sink area which was convenient. There was also an in-room safe. If you are more than 2 people, I would suggest getting a larger room.
The room (and hotel) were clean.


Hotel Staff:
-Were pleasant for our entire stay.

Hotel Ammenities:
-Quite basic. There is no pool or restaurant on-site, thus no entertainment for the kids to keep them occupied. This may be good if you DONT have children, as the hotel is probably quiet most of the time (Didn't see any small children, other than our own).
The free continental breakfast was nicely done, with cereal/muffins/croissants/toast/juices/coffee/tea offered.

Location:
-It is approx a 20-25 minute walk to the Rideau Centre and the Byward Market area from the hotel. Although this hotel is technically in Downtown Ottawa, it is on the "Edge" of the downtown area thus a reasonable walk to the downtown attractions. Elgin St is recommended to get you there, with the myrad of shops & restaurants (and panhandlers!) to explore.
I would not suggest a person travelling alone use this hotel, as again there is no restaurant on-site. You would have to walk down Elgin St, and depending on the time of day this may not be the greatest idea given the neighbourhood the hotel is in. The neighbourhood is quiet, however.

Good luck!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank onemangang1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

Stayed at the Best Western for 5 nights and found it very comfortable and convenient. The location means a 10 minute walk into the downtown area but this means its quieter. We had a queen bed room which had good facilities like microwave and coffee maker.
Really recommend it for those wanting to stay in Ottawa.

5  Thank tim9hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2005

My husband and I stayed in the Best Western, Victoria Park suites, Ottawa, for two nights, in June 2005. We had a room with a queen size bed, small fridge and microwave. It also included dishes and cutlery. The room and bathroom were very clean. (I am quite particular about cleanliness.) It has to be the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!! You get a free continental breakfast and a newspaper delivered to your door in the morning. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful for directions. They have underground parking which was about $10 per day. It doesn't matter where you go in Ottawa, you have to pay around $13.00 for parking. Many of the streets are 'one way' which can be quite confusing at first, until you get to know your way around.

The only negative thing I could say about the Hotel, was that there were no resturaunts close to the Hotel. They were all about a 20 minute walk or a few minutes by car. The neighbourhood was very safe.

If you go to Ottawa, you have to eat at the Byward market. They have some of the best restaurants. The price for a meal was very reasonable.

We took the Grayline Coach tour of Ottawa. The price was about $30.00 per person for an all day pass, but it is a great way to see Ottawa. You can get off at any of the attractions and get back on again whenever you want and go on to the next stop. The buses pass by about every hour so you don't have to wait long.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank HelenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2004

We chose this hotel because of its location - in a quiet, residential neighbourhood. It was also within a ten minute walk to both the lovely Rideau Canal and Elgin Street, which has lots of cafes and restaurants. Our room was a suite which was spacious and very clean. The staff at the hotel were always helpful. A complimentary continental breakfast was a bonus.

15  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2004

Hotel was very clean. Rooms were large, at a great value. Good location; within about fifteen to twenty minutes walking distance to Parliament buildings and large shopping centre. We had some staff that were absolutely rude, however others went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Only "problem" may have been lack of a restaurant or swimming pool on-site. Good price for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HockeyChick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2003

It was supposed to be a jewel in the heart of Ottawa, but in fact is far from the city center and its major attractions (20 to 30 minute walking). All the rest can be considered reasonable, offering clean rooms and having nice staff.

9  Thank PT_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
0.8 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $109 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing