We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well placed to visit city of Ottawa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well placed to visit city of Ottawa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on two separate nights in July. Very close to downtown area and attractions. Easy access to excellent cycle routes. Stayed in a room with 2 double beds and small kitchenette. The room was small - a tight squeeze for a family of 4 but, nonetheless, manageable. Most important was the cleanliness of the room and all resources within it. An abundance of fresh towels in the bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful - both on the front desk and in the breakfast room. Breakfast itself was included inthe price of our room and offered a fairly good selection. Parking costs were about 18 CAD dollars per night, but we were able to leave our car for the duration on the day of checkout, which allowed us to make the most of the city without spending additional cash.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureVulture61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear CultureVulture61,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We very much appreciate it.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel, staff and amenties throughout your stay. Hopefully you will come back to visit us again soon!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    546
    107
    13
    10
See reviews for
465
403
67
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I booked through ottawa tourism for this hotel which gives you third night free also included price was underground parking and continental breakfast which was out standing more than just toast and a waffle iron .It had eggs bacon ,french toast , all kinds of breads for toast, juice .Our room was a suite very clean, seperate bedroom,plus queen sofa bed in living room ,microwave ,fridge which kept my beer ice cold.Great deal for ottawa minutes away from parliment hill and byward market .

Room Tip: Use Ottawa tourisum to book room look for pkg with free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear mark p,

It looks like your staty with us was just what you were looking for! I was so thrilled to read that you enjoyed our hotel, breakfast and all the other amenities that we have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thamesford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We decided at the last minute to book a hotel that had a package available to go to Calypso Theme park. We decided on Best Western. To find the hotel was tricky as it is surrounded with way streets and their was construction going on.
Once we arrived we were greeted by an awesome front counter greeter who was able to help us out with an upgrade and an extra cot.

The rooms are spacious and very well taken care of. The staff are friendly and ready to help. The hotel is near a section of Ottawa where their are lots of trendy restaurants. Really enjoyed walking down to that section. Lots of eating options within a 5 minute walk from the hotel (elgin str) (dont drive as you will pay again for parking).
Thank you for making our last minute trip to Ottawa a good one.
FYI we had a blast at Calypso.

Room Tip: Dont plan to go here if you have a camper or large vehicle. They only have underground parking (I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreme535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear doris w,

It was our pleasure to ensure that your time with us was the best that it could be! We were honored to have you as our guest! I was so happy to read that you were able to enjoy all that our hotel, city and more importantly what Calypso Water Park had to offer.
Hopefully you will return to us next summer when Calypso opens again if not before then!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our family would highly recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay here from June 27th to July 3rd. We were close enough to downtown to walk to and from Parliament Hill for Canada Day and related activities. The hotel included free secure underground parking and free breakfast with lots of hot & cold options -- something for everyone's taste. The suite we had was always clean and well-kept throughout our stay. Housekeeping did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one. The front desk staff were always helpful and friendly, suggesting things to do, best places to view fireworks, etc., and were very responsive to any concerns we had. There was some confusion on our part about breakfast hours one weekday morning, and the kitchen staff were so accommodating that they permitted us to have a hot breakfast in spite of the later hour. I liked the little "corner store" next to the front desk where we could pick up a snack. And I was so delighted that the washers & dryers in the laundry room worked perfectly. So many times, at hotels, I find the clothes come out of the dryer almost as wet as when they went in. Overall, good value for our money, and a most enjoyable stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash-Hillier_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Ash-HIllier_Family,

It was great to read your review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers! I was thrilled to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us this summer and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is located on the south end of the business district, about 3 blocks north of the 417 freeway and about a 20 minute walk from Parliament Hill. Thus, the hotel is easy to get to if you are arriving by car and a good base to explore much of Ottawa on foot. Elgin Street, with quite a few restaurants and bars, is 2 blocks to the east. The hotel appears to have been recently remodeled. Rooms and public areas were very tastefully decorated, well-maintained and clean. Amenities in the room included a large flat-screen TV with outstanding HD reception, a work space and a safe. My "suite" was a nice size room with a small cooking area (microwave, sink, dishes and glassware) near the entrance, which was more than sufficient. There was private underground parking beneath the building which was very easy to access and competitively priced. The breakfast area was pretty large and very pleasant and included outdoor seating when the weather was nice. My one disappointment was the quality of breakfast items served. I stayed for three nights and the only hot egg option was some sort of very artificial looking sunny-side up "egg" consisting of a white patty with a yellow dot in the center. The bacon tasted like it was from a microwave, as did the waffles. This was especially disappointing given that even budget motels provide do-it-yourself waffles and often real scrambled eggs and bacon. There was fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt and a variety of cereals, however.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear explorer630,

I would like to thank you for your extensive review of your recent stay with us. Your throrough description of our location and amenties will certainly help future guests! We very much appreciate it.
I was sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with some of the offerings at our breakfast. Hopefully with the other selections you were able to get a good start to your day.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

no complaints. There was construction on the roads right outside but did not affect sleep quality. Staff were friendly and attentive and hotel was very clean. The breakfast choices were good. The internet was very reliable. Only 2 blocks from restaurant row (Elgin St.) Very close to a museum as well - 1 block.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank khwUtopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear KhwUtopia,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. Your comments are very much appreciated.
I was thrilled to read that the staff were friendly and attentive and that you enjoyed our breakfast and wireless internet.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a night. It was a great room, clean, comfy and spacious. The breakfast had many choices and enjoyable. The staff is friendly. The parking was great. Was able to stay parked after check in as we went to the nature museum which was just around the corner. I loved the mini kitchen in the room even though we didn't get a chance to use it. This hotel is close to everything and walking distance to everything. Would recommend and stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jessipur,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your room and amenites that we have to offer.

We look forward to having you back in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing