We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel is very clean and sophisticated looking. I searched every part of our 2 rooms and they were spotless. Everything appears to be relatively newly renovated. It is a great bonus to have a mini kitchenette (sink, microwave, fridge, glassware, and utensils) in the room. The beds are very comfortable and you a given a 'pillow menu' as to choose which ones you will find most comfortable. There is a large closet with a safe in it (big enough for a 13 inch laptop.

The bathrooms are very nice. The mirror and all of the stainless steel fixtures get covered in condensation when showering, except for a square of the mirror directly above the sink that you need. It seems that they treat that square of mirror with something different during cleaning, as to prevent it from fogging up. This small detail was great, both surprising and pleasing. However, some of the fixtures, such as the towel rack in the shower, have a little bit of rust on them. It is very minimal and almost unnoticeable.

The large window (it looks like it used to be an operational sliding door) was covered in condensation when I awoke this morning, and the tracks of the window/door were dirty. The radiator under the window/door can also make some noises occasionally. Once again, not a big deal. It took me some searching to find anything wrong with this room. The staff did an amazing job cleaning it.

The TV in the room is rather large (maybe 40 inches) and there is free WiFi for 4 devices per room. The sauna and work out area are very nice and clean, and the work out area gives a nice view of the city. The outdoor patio is nice, but closed during the winter, which is sad for us American's who want to enjoy our Cubans. Safe and private parking is provided under the hotel for $18 a night.

The location of the hotel is a plus. You are located walking distance to downtown and there are many restaurants surrounding the hotel. There are also bus stops located all over the city, which you can ride for 2 hours for $3.40 (but pay the exact amount because no change is given back).

This hotel was a great value, very clean, and looks very classy. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Adam N,

It was a pleasure reading your extensive review of your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travellers alike. It will definately assist them in making an educated decision on where to stay while in Ottawa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Nation's Capital on your next trip to Ottawa!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I went to Ottawa in February. The 19th actually.and stayed overnight until the 20th. The room that we were given was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was very clean and spotless. My husband and I were very impressed. The staff were very helpful and gave us some ideas about dining out and places to visit and see. The next day we went down for a complimentary breakfast which was very delicious. We actually had two helpings that day. When we were leaving the staff asked us how our stay was and if we were pleased with our room and the service. They wished us a nice day and a safe trip home and hoped to see us again soon. It sure was nice to receive such courteous and respectful service from a big hotel chain. Sometimes you feel like a nobody in a big conglomerate but here you felt like family. We will be visiting Ottawa again in the next couple of months and we will definately be visiting that hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karolyn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Karolyn1970,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for your thorough review of your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites. It was a pleasure to read your comments and we were thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our offices are not far away in the Glebe in Ottawa. We use this hotel for business visitors and for personal visits. Clean, functional, adequate conference facilities, responsive staff, close to restaurants, easy walk to downtown. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Grant T,

I would like to thank you for your recent review of your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites. We were thrilled to read that our hotel was a convenient location to your offices and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while on business in Ottawa. The room was a great size and the kitchenette was an added bonus. The breakfast was decent and included some hot options. The location was very good and I received excellent service from the staff at the front desk. They are going through some minor renovations now so there was a bit of mess and noise but they were very upfront about this and it barely affected me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Rachel E,

We would like to thank you for chosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites while on your business trip to Ottawa. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and our staff provided execellent service for you.
As you mentioned we are going through a refresh throught the public spaces of our hotel. We appreciated your patience while these updates are going on.

Hopefully you will be able to see the wonderful finished product on your next visit to Ottawa!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel and were very pleased. The room was quite large with a very comfortable bed and was very quiet. The room was very clean and even had a fridge and microwave. The free breakfast was a nice bonus although was nothing special. We arrived close to the end of breakfast and it looked like some of the food had been sitting around for a while. Overall a decent place to stay.

Pros:
- Free wifi
- Large, clean room
- Good location downtown and close to several bus routes

Cons:
- Expensive parking ($18 + tax per night for underground). We were told, however, that there was an above ground lot a few blocks away for $12/night but since we were only staying one night we didn't bother.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Philly1982,

Thank you very much for chosing to stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites. We were delighted to read that you found our accommodations very comfortable and enjoyed the amenities in our rooms.
In terms of our parking, please rest assured that our charges are inline with similar hotels in the downtown core that offer a comparable service often we are less.

We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We felt that the positives of this place were: great staff - absolutely outstanding service; room cleanliness; wi-fi was of good quality; beds comfortable, and ample space in the room. We had a king bed, suite and it was like an apartment. We did enjoy being able to spread out.

Downside - it is a little tatty. However, they are doing a renovation project, so we expect to see it in a different state the next time we visit.

The selections at breakfast were a bit weird. Canned tropical fruit. Green apples. That's it for fruit. Some type of egg things that looked similar to very well done poached eggs - kind of steamed, and some grayish sausage on one day; the other choice was hard boiled egg for the protein; They did have decent looking bagels, English muffins, and such, but we can't eat bread, so that wasn't very good for us. They have packets of instant oatmeal, and hot water, but this wasn't the best for us either. Cold cereals - about four varieties of the usual favorites were there. Coffee was pretty good - standard stuff. They had yoghurt and milk - those seemed okay. It just was not our favorite selection. I guess we are used to at least getting some bananas and citrus - and other items... But we understand, it is what it is. For grabbing a quick bite, I am sure it is okay.

This place is really good value, and as I said, the people there were so super duper that it makes this place shine like the sun!

We had a room on the corner, odd numbered side - low number - and it was a little noisy with rumbling truck traffic, during the day - but at night, it was quiet. The sleep quality was good. Environment was good - no heat/cold issues - loved the shower head (I want one like that at my house!) - and there was a jacuzzi tub. Neat. Very sufficient bathroom with marble floors and granite vanity top...

We would come back here.

Room Tip: I would ask for a park side room - at least you would get the view of the cool sculptures and nice p...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank West_Tx_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear, West_Tx_54,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites. We very much enjoyed having you as our guest and we apprieciate the through information that you shared about your stay so that other guests may have the opportunity to make an informed decision when considering where to stay in Ottawa.

We appreciate you returning to us when you are next in our neighborhood and appreicate your loyalty.

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recently spent 6 nights at the Victoria Park Best Western while I was studying for a course at Carleton University. The location in Centretown was perfect - only a 1 block walk to a bus stop which travelled directly to the university. Also, this part of town has been revitalized and there are handy conveniences within a short walk (grocery - 5 blocks; liquor store - 1 block; major drug store chain - 1 block). Ottawa is a fantastic city with a lot going on, and during my stay in February there was Winterlude, I particularly enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel - lots of choices and a wonderful fresh fruit salad that I enjoyed with an egg. I am not a big eater, but there was enough to satisfy the heartiest appetite, with hot and cold selections. My only complaint is that this hotel, and all hotels in Ottawa generally, do not have a very reasonable government rate. I guess they see government travel as a cash cow for Ottawa hotels, as I have seen better rates in other, bigger cities. The taxpayers are us, so its not worth it to rip off the taxpayers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickandDoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear RickandDoni,

I would like to thank you for your thorough review on Trip Advisor. Your comments will be very useful to future guests looking to make an informed decision on where to stay while in Ottawa. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed our location and that the bus provided easy, stress free access to Carleton for your studies.

Hopefully on your next visit to the Nation's Capital you will choose to stay with us again.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Address: 377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $119 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing