We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A menu for pillows, no warm water to shower, ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A menu for pillows, no warm water to shower, ...”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The rooms are reasonably large, well equipped, very traditional, not stylish in any way. So is the bathroom.
This hotel hits the demands of cost sensitive travelers. Nothing special, good mattresses and an arsenal of different types of pillows... really impressive.

Somewhat negative is the fact that you cannot open the window far enough to exchange the air in the room reasonable fast.
When I entered my room (5th floor) it had a bad smell and such an open window would have helped.
Once I wanted to take a shower around 8am but the water went cold very quickly and did not heat up - so - no shower in the rush hour. Did not happen at nights though.

Good hotel with a very very basic breakfast at a reasonable price in Ottawa, although quite remote from the market area with bars and restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonesomerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear lonesomerider,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feed back.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed our pillow menu; a little something different that many of our travellers have come to love.
I was sorry to read that you found a bad smell in your room. I have informed our housekeeping manager of this to look into it further. As well I was troubled to read that you were not provided with enough hot water to take a shower. If this does happen please do let us know right away so that we are able to rectify the issue immediately.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    584
    112
    14
    10
See reviews for
490
428
69
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located reasonable walking distance from the parliament buildings and Byward market, and is across from the newly renovated and revamped Museum of Natural History (which is free Thursday nights). It is also right near bike rentals, Rama Lotus yoga studio, and lots of great restaurants and shops. It has underground parking for an extra fee. The breakfast is ample with a variety of hot or cold options. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and our 5th floor room had a good view. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janadian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear janadian3,

It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will return to us again on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is situated nicely in Ottawa, just a couple of blocks away from a ton of restaurants. The front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. The free breakfast is a nice touch. The rooms were clean and perfect for a single business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adharris0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear adharris0915,

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel including our friendly staff! We appreciate your comments and hope that you will return to us again on your next visit to the Nation's Capital!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently completed our 5th stay at the hotel, and its pretty much the same but there are a few things that need improvement.
The policy is that towels on the floor need to be washed. I noticed that the mat that is placed in front of the shower was not replaced despite it being on the floor and having an obvious stain. The stain was cause by me so I expected since it was so noticeable e it would have been changed. Nope, it w as flipped over, not good. It mad me wonder about the towels, if they were just folded and put back.
While comfortable for some the beds were too short and too soft for me. I sat in the chair because my back ached. I am not sure if there are options regarding mattresses, but a firmer mattress would be nice.
The breakfast was fine and staff while not friendly did their best to keep up with people and the demand. It would be nice if guests did not crowd around the toaster area, but that is a reflection off guest rudeness and not staff.
Front desk staff were for the most part helpful. Parking is very tight, but we are used to it and luckily found a spot and parked the car for the weekend.
Would I stay here again, probably but I will be looking around for other options as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Vidaltravel,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very much appreciated.
I was troubled to read that you had issues with the replacements of our towels each day. I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping manager so he may follow up as to why this might have occured.
As well, i'm sorry to hear that you found our mattresses to be uncomfortable. Although we don't offer a selection of mattresses we can offer a bedboard to be put under the mattress which can make the mattress more firm. It can simply be requested at the time of reservation.
I'm sorry that you encountered unfriendly staff in our breakfast room. I have forwarded your comments to the Banquet Manager to follow up with his team.
We do hope that you will chose to join us again on your next visit to Ottawa and if I can be of further assistance personally please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I can be reached at 613.288.0986 or by email at andrew@victoriapark.com.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here from Aug 19-22, two adults and two teenagers. In Ottawa for some sightseeing and checking out universities for our daughter.
What we liked: The deluxe queen suite comfortably accommodated our 4 travellers and it was sparkling clean each day. Easy check in and staff were super friendly and accomodating (breakfast staff seemed a bit surlier than the front desk and cleaning staff but you don't really have to interact with them). We got a good room rate with the stay for 3 pay for 2 deal.
What we didn't like: I'd say the breakfast was middle of the pack for free continentals. The biggest issue for a multi-day stay is that it was exactly the same every day, right down to the muffins and yogurt varieties. However, the coffee was above average and although the hotel was full, there was always room to sit. Many other reviewers have mentioned the parking. The cost was included in our package but parking (we have a small SUV) required skills last used in our driver's licence test (8 point turns etc). Best to park your vehicle and leave it for the duration. Which brings me to the next point - location. Now, this is not the hotel's fault in any way since thanks to mapquest and GPS there is no reason not to be aware of distances but I think a 15 minute walk to Byward Market is a real exaggeration. Just want other travellers to be aware that it is at least 25-30 minutes to the Rideau/Byward areas unless you're racewalking. 15 minutes to Parliment Hill is about right. There is a bus that goes right by the hotel and will take you Rideau Centre directly. We used this option one day when it was hot and we were too tired to walk. Within 2 blocks however is Elgin Street which has a great variety of restaurants and pubs, so dining is accessible. We did have to get a second wifi code (5 devices - 4 iphones and an ipad and I think the limit is 3) but this was readily available. The wifi is spotty during peak times however I have noticed this at other hotels also. There was no pool in the hotel. Normally not something I would care about but it was REALLY hot the week were there.
Overall, for the price I believe this hotel was a good value and met our expectations. For future travel I would compare the Residence Inn for closer proximity to attractions, better breakfast and a pool - however for us the price was much better at the Best Western this time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2girls09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear mom2girls09<

I would like to take a moment to thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Your thoughts and comments allow us to continuously refine our service and product.
Firstly, I was thrilled to read that you and your kids enjoyed your sightseeing trip in Ottawa and that you enjoyed your suite and the staff.
Secondly, I was troubled to read that our breakfast room staff were not the same. All of our staff do their best on a daily basis to ensure that their service delivery and interactions with guest pair seamlessly together.I will review your comments with our Food and Beverage Manager.
Lastly, I'm sorry that you had challenges with navigating our underground garage. We hope that you will return to us when your next opportunity brings you to Ottawa.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good rooms, very clean with a safe provided, so no having to carry the valuables around.
Free WiFi, and secure car parking underground.
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The breakfast was buffet and the food was a pretty good selection.
Hotel was situated about ten minutes walk from the key areas of the city we wanted to see with many good places to choose from for food and drink.
Would choose this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spoons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Spoons123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feed back.
I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our facilities and that you were happy with our amenities as well.

We very much appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and hope to see you agan in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Although this hotel was pleasant and we were upgraded because we stayed 7 days, we booked it because it was described as having a kitchenette. This was extremely minimal with only a microwave and a few plates. No hot plate or cooking dishes for the microwave. As we were in Ottawa for a sporting event we did not want to be constantly eating out. Breakfast was complimentary, and while the staff tried hard to keep up, there were often long queues and the food was very mass produced. There was a coin operated laundry for guests. The location was rather isolated but there was a bus route to the Rideau Centre and Rideau market (beautiful fresh fruit and vegetables). It was about a 10min walk to a good selection of bars and restaurants. The Museum of Nature is across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear KiwiTwo,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and allows us the opportunity to continuously refine our service delivery.
I'm sorry to hear that our kitchenette facilities were not what you were expecting. Hopefully you were able to make the best use of the facilites none-the-less. I would be curious to know which channel you booked your room through so that I would be able to verify it to ensure accuracy. It sounds like you were able to visit the Market area and were able to enjoy some local produce. That is great to hear.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience by email andrew@victoriapark.com or by phone directly at 613.288.0986.
I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again on your next trip to Ottawa.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing